Caffeinated Podcast Adventures & Lessons Learned


TGIF, my friends!

I hope that you’re doing well!

As some of you may know, I was super-anxious to record my 1st episode with “Dr. Kat” of the program Mom & Mind. Fortunately, she was so awesome & encouraging that I was able to calm down.

Then last Monday I joined the hosts of Podcast One’s Mind Full program to talk about postpartum bipolar disorder. Mind Full’s Alicia Perkins and Colleen Lindstrom were great and they set me at ease from the get-go.

However, I made a royal brainfart (lovely word, I know!) when I scheduled our talk. I thought our appointment was 4:45 p.m. Pacific Time. I deliberately chose that slot because it’s when I usually get a second wind and take Lucy out for her walk. At the very last minute (i.e. the morning of the recording day) I realized the schedule said Central Time, not Pacific.

Arrgh! Our time wasn’t 4:45 p.m. but at 2:45 p.m. when I was still totally dragging energy-wise. I worried I’d sound like a zombie.

So I broke my “no coffee in the afternoon” rule. I glugged a gallon big cup of Peet’s organic shortly before our recording time.

The lessons I learned were:

1) Be far more careful when scheduling anything!

2) Do not drink coffee before recording a podcast!!!

I’m happy to say that it all worked out despite my jitters. One of my gracious hosts admitted that she had just downed some coffee herself at 5:00 p.m.!

When I find out the air date, I’ll let you know!

 

Meanwhile, I’m always on the lookout for intriguing mental health-themed podcasts, especially ones that have a bipolar focus. Last week I found one called Bipolar Style.

Here’s the promo blurb:

“Bipolar Style™ is a new podcast, hosted by , about life from a manic-depressive perspective!”

I encourage you to check out host @JohnEmotions’ heartfelt and entertaining observations from the perspective of one who works a “regular job” with his bipolar on the “DL”/down low – I guarantee you’ll relate to many of the topics he discusses, whether or not you’re working!

He’s seeking podcast guests so if that interests you, give him a shout! I really love the short format of 15 minutes, too.

To listen to the Bipolar Style podcasts go to this link.  Visit BipolarStyle.com for more info. & you can find John Emotions (who loves to network & help promote fellow bp tribe members) on Twitter at @BipolarStyle

Dr. Kat

Also, if you didn’t have a chance to hear my first podcast with “Dr. Kat” you can still do it! Go to this link

To check out Dr. Kat’s 69 other Mom & Mind podcasts please visit here.


That’s all the news that’s fit to blog, but in the next few weeks, I’ll have other things to write about, such as what it feels like to finally have my book published, and what it feels like to receive good reviews…..and not-so-good reviews!!!!

I appreciate your support so much! Thanks for reading this blog and for spreading the word about these worthy podcasts.

Have a good weekend!

Love,

Dyane 

 

Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder, with a foreword by Dr. Carol Henshaw, will be published by Post Hill Press on October 10th, 2017. Birth of a New Brain is available on Amazon for Kindle and paperback pre-sales.

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Caffeinated Podcast Adventures & Lessons Learned

  1. I’m so glad I don’t have to contend with different time zones – I’d be forever getting it wrong! Nice save, Dyane, and just as well you found out in plenty of time. Judging by your last one, I bet you were brilliant – with or without the caffeine! xxx

  2. “I encourage you to check out host @JohnEmotions’ heartfelt and entertaining observations from the perspective of one who works a “regular job” with his bipolar on the “DL”/down low” and I took this literally and did check him out and feel in love – and 15 mins is how am gonna do mine too when I start. U rock lady, waiting for today’s link

  3. Hey Dyane–I finally got a chance to listen to your podcast with Dr. Kat. You did great! You sounded relaxed, poised, articulate, and knowledgeable. I love that you are honestly sharing your story, which will help to inform people as well as decrease the stigma. Congrats on this! I would have left a comment on the website, but they couldn’t have possibly made it more difficult for non tech savvy people! I’m planning to order your book today. Can’t wait to read it, finally!

    1. You have made my Sunday a whole lot better!, Sharon I was tempted to print out your comment and tape it on my wall (I need to buy a bulletin board, come to think of it!) The psat couple days have been rough (nothing terrible, but I had a writing rejection that I allowed to throw me off-kilter, and surprise, surprise, I wrote a post about this latest rejection and I’ll publish on Friday, complete with my rejected essay.)

      On a happier note, to read that you thought I was “relaxed, poised, articulate, and knowledgeable “during the podcast was such a treat. I’m sorry the section to comment was difficult to do, and I want to take a look at the set-up. Maybe Dr. Kat can improve it; know she’d want to give it a try.

      And thank you a million times over for ordering the book!!!!!!!!

  4. I really enjoyed your podcast with Dr. Kat. You sound so knowledgeable (of course) and in control. It seems like a natural medium for you. I will tune in next week as well! In the meantime, have a great weekend!

      1. You’d be a natural for podcasts, Marie. You have a beautiful voice and you could be yourself in every way – talk, sing, recite your magnificent poems. Let yourself go! Give it a try – I think it’s fairly easy to do. You could always ask “John Emotions” of @BipolarStyle – he’s wonderful at wanting to help others….he’s a true kind & generous soul, just like you.

    1. Oh Martha, I loved this comment so much. It really bolstered my spirits!

      I was in a foul mood last night. I got a writing rejection of all things—for a small potatoes, unpaid project—but it was rejection all the same, and you know how I feel about *that*! 😉 So I was really blue. And then I read your comment and I forgot about the rejection & felt so good!!!!!! You totally made my evening.

      The next podcast on “Mind Full” will be different because I was so caffeinated & I kind of let go of my filter a little more than I meant to do – I think it made the talk more interesting. Well, I hope and pray the “unfiltered” version made the talk more interesting!!!!!! I’d love your take on how it compares with the first one.

      I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! I’m going to work on my talk, take Lucy for her walks, and hopefully buy a nice dress for the talk that’s on sale.

      I’m so looking forward to seeing you “IRL” – what a treat that wll be.

      Much love & a hug too, Dyane

      p.s. I wish you could sign your book on my Kindle, ha ha! They need to invent that option!

      1. I’m so glad I was able to lift your spirits Dyane! God knows we all need a little lift here and there 🙂 Now I am eager to hear the caffeinated podcast and I’ll let you know how it compares. Looking forward to seeing you IRL soon too! I wish Lucy could be there LOL…take care friend.

    1. I’d take podcasting over YouTubing any day of the week! It’s so great not to stress about appearances. I encourage you to give it a try! I don’t know about a go-to guide for start-up podcasters, but I’m sure they exist. Good luck & let me know if you do it. 🙂

  5. I haven’t gotten into podcasts yet, but I’m curious about the Bipolar Style podcast since I also work and haven’t told the staff about my bipolar. I can definitely spare fifteen minutes to give it a listen. Thanks for the referral!

    1. I’m so glad you’re willing to give podcasts a try! Let JohnEmotions know what you think of his podcast – you can comment on his site and/or tweet & he’s very responsive.

  6. Thanks, lovely one. I’m truly honored you listened to the Dr. Kat episode. I let myself a little loose on the 2nd one for “Mind Full” & I added some colorful stories I didn’t include in my book. I’m still finding my way when it comes to sharing my story verbally when I’m given the opportunity to speak for more than an “elevator pitch” amount of time. Xo

I'd love to hear from you!

