A Mellow Walk With Lucy, My Furry Antidepressant

Dear Friends,

When I referred to the tennis court I called it “chalk,” but I meant clay, LOL! (Sorry about the shaky camerawork!) 

Have a great weekend & 4th of July.

See you next Friday!

Love,

Dyane

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder,  foreword by Dr. Carol Henshaw, will be published by Post Hill Press on October 10th, 2017. Birth of a New Brain is now available on Amazon for paperback pre-sales. Kindle pre-sales will be available later this summer.

20 thoughts on “A Mellow Walk With Lucy, My Furry Antidepressant

  1. DISC GOLF STRIKES AGAIN!!!!! 😛 LOL!

    What beautiful forest bathing you get to do–a perfect place with just the right mix of structure and wilderness. I’d love even just a half hour in the woods alone, but we’re bombarded once again by social engagements. Blech. So, I will wish you a blessed 4th, and some more calming, relaxing days with your furry companion. Hugs and love from Wisconsin to you, O Lady of the Bean! xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    1. I wish I could send you an entire 60 minutes in the woods alone!!!
      Someday it shall be, I promise you!

      We have no social engagements this afternoon or evening, which suits this socially anxious pal of yours. I’m not saying it’s healthy….just fine! 👀 I’m psyching myself up to take Lucy to the redwoods and I’m sure quite a few disc golfers are there. On days like this, some of them bring cases of beer so it will be noisy, They’re living the dream!

      Speaking of dreams…I’d love to play a prank on those golfers, especially if they’re rather inebriated. I’d find a very realistic Bigfoot outfit & rent it or borrow it – what have you.

      (Of course, those costumes are in abundance, right? Hmmmmm – I know one local author named Dan White. Dan’s new camping history book “Under the Stars” has been a big hit. He made a Bigfoot outfit for Halloween and went to quite a bit of trouble – he might be able to guide me.)

      Back to my Plan:

      After putting the Bigfoot outfit, on, I’d embark upon this adventure at dusk.
      I’d wander over the the disc golf course, which I believe is named “Little Brown Mouse Disc Golf Course” or something like that. I’d make sure those disc golfers caught a glimpse of me in my furry finery.
      That would be SO fun! (Can I blame this reverie on the fancy iced coffee “snack” I had not long ago?)

      1. AAAAAAAAAAAAAH that would be AWESOME! You could never swing that in Wisconsin–someone would put a bear trap on you! 😛 But I love love LOVE the idea of this prank, especially when you’re dealing with a bunch of dizzy-blitzed frisbee-flailers. Perfect, SpyDy! xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Looks like such a lovely daily walk, Dyane. We have a pine forest nearby that backs onto the beach and many years ago now, when our rescue dog Bess was alive, we loved walking her there. The first part of your video reminded me of that so much.
    Enjoy your Sunday xx

    1. Thanks so much, Ms. Famous Author! 😉
      I can’t tell you how much it means to me that you stopped by this blog with all that’s going on for you right now….I wish I could attend your book talks (and get coaching from you on how to give a great book talk – I’d bribe you with cakes galore!) but you know I’m there in spirit.

      Thank goodness for Twitter!

      Love the photos of your book’s travels – please keep them coming. 😉
      Xo

    1. I know how lucky I am to enjoy these magnificent trees – someday I’ll take you hiking here and we can fend off whoever comes our way, be it a giant banana slug, a mountain lion, or a Bigfoot or two! 😉

  3. So glad to hear from you; I haven’t responded in a while but you’re looking well and that’s good. I hope you are doing as well as you sound. My life’s a bit more chaos than I like, but I’m trying to sort through. 🙂 ~DM

    1. Hola Pen Name! 😉

      Thanks so much for saying hello! It’s always great hearing from you. I’m glad you’re sorting through the chaos; that’s no easy feat!

      My days have their good & bad moments, but I’m doing better than I have in a while. 🙂 Soon I’ll surprise you with a video where I pop up in front of the camera. (Boo!) Take care & thanks again for the kind words.

      Vaya con los perros, los angeles y el chocolate….
      Dyane La Chica Loca y Buena

      1. Oooh, talk to me in Spanish, how caliente is that…………….?! Tengo solamente un perrito que es un poquito malo, pero el perro se comporta (mas o menos) igual que su maestro!! Un buen amigo. And yeah can those angels please whisper the lottery numbers in my ear and quit telling those other people?! Chocolate, there’s a good idea.

        And be careful! Estoy encantando con todas las mujeres locas, incluyenda a mi esposa. 🙂 Porque “‘puppy love’ is the beginning of a dogs life.”

      2. That was seriously one of the wittiest comments I’ve ever received – you made me laugh! I also felt proud of myself for being able to understand it! Hope you and la esposa mas bonita are having wicked good 4th!

  4. Looks like a happy -workout- routine. I hate the word “workout,” though. Exercise should be fun (and it looks like yours is)! So I call it a playout. So, looks like you have a happy -playout- routine!

    Say hi to Lucy for me!

    1. Ha ha ha!
      Playout! There you go!
      I don’t like the word “workout” or “exercise” all that much, but playout works for us!
      I told Lucy you said hello and she snorted back hi.

      Hope you get a post out to us soon – I miss hearing about you and your beautiful family, not to mention any pictures you care to share!
      Thanks so much for writing, Ms. SuperMommy – the ORIGINAL superhero!!! (Or superheroine?) 😉
      XoXoXo
      Much love,
      Dy

    1. I’ll let her know you said that! 😉
      She inspires me to walk on the days where I’m lazy and/or overwhelmed and/or exhausted and want to blow off our walk.
      Once I haul my derriere to the redwoods and take a few steps, I never regret it.

      She’s definitely my emotional support animal even though it’s not official. I guess she can’t truly be one since we can’t go around other dogs.
      Well, she’s an ESA in my heart! 😉

  5. Your walk reminds me of the walk I take with Henry every day on the campus of Occidental College here in Los Angeles. It’s so green and tranquil, and I call it my place of peace. I often stop in a grassy area near their amphitheater, to do gentle hatha yoga. Henry usually snuggles near my head if I’m on my back. Like you, I know every nook and cranny of the campus. The college kids probably think I’m a kook, but I’m okay with that. They aren’t there year round, and they only stay 4 years. I get to go anytime, for as many years as I want. It always lifts my spirits and helps me shift my perspective back to normal.

    1. I’ve never been the the Occidental Campus, but I studied Robinson Jeffers’ poetry in college and I believe he went there! 🙂
      I’m so glad you have your place of peace, and that’s great you do yoga right out there in the open – I’m sure the college students get a kick out of that and who knows, maybe you’re inspiring them to take up yoga. Also, I hope that Henry is okay too! Lots of love, Dyane

I'd love to hear from you!

