Thank You Dr. Jamison & The Unknown Angels

 

Dear Friends, 

Last year, I wrote about Anthony William’s book Medical Medium

William explained how praying to a group called the “Unknown Angels” helped him a great deal. At first, I was quite skeptical. However, the thought of asking those mysterious-sounding Unknown Angels appealed to me so I went for it and I started talking to them.

Every day for the past six months I asked the Unknown Angels out loud (per Mr. Williams’ instructions) to help me in specific ways.

I spoke to them at least once a day, preferably where no one could see me! 

My requests were pragmatic and focused on safety and happiness for my kids and my husband. I prayed before walking my dog Lucy in the forest and asked that we wouldn’t encounter mountain lions. (So far, so good.)

At some point during each prayer, I asked that my “dream author” (clinical psychologist/bestselling author Kay Redfield Jamison) endorse my book. 

 

I knew Dr. Jamison’s endorsement wasn’t likely to happen, but I sent a letter to her staff anyway. If I didn’t take a chance, the phrase “nothing ventured, nothing gained” would haunt me forever.

Dr. Jamison wasn’t known to endorse books very often; in fact, I hadn’t seen any book endorsed by her except for the outstanding The Midnight Disease written by her friend Dr. Alice W. Flaherty.

Why would Dr. Jamison endorse a first-time author like me? (Well, I had some good reasons, but I was doubtful she’d agree with them!)

On Monday around 7:30 a.m., I found out that Dr. Jamison will supply my book’s cover blurb. My neighbors found out too — I screamed and sang obnoxiously loud for five minutes. Lucy, alarmed to see me act like such a freak, chimed in with her cacophonous howls.

Now, I don’t have Dr. Jamison’s exact words yet.

She could change her mind. 

Maybe I should’ve waited to share my happy news with you until I had her endorsement in hand, but I can’t help it.

I only wish I could tell my father about this wonderful honor.

In any case, I want you to remember my story when you’re on the fence about pursuing something you consider a major longshot.

I want you to go for it.

And even if you’re a skeptical agnostic like I am, take a look at my blog post about the Unknown Angels, or if you believe in something else, focus on connecting more with it.

If you talk to the Unknown Angels, you might get flak from family & friends. I sure did! At least it’s a positive focus, right?

You might even be happily surprised with what comes your way….

Have a good weekend, and thanks so much for reading & commenting!

Love,

Dyane

 

p.s. Remember the interview I was fretting about? It went absolutely ***fine**** & it was 100% drama free. When the link is up, I’ll share it with you here.

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Carol Henshaw (co-author of The Modern Management of Perinatal Psychiatry) will be published by Post Hill Press on October 10th, 2017. It’s available on Amazon for paperback pre-sales; Kindle pre-sales will be available this summer.

 

37 thoughts on “Thank You Dr. Jamison & The Unknown Angels

  1. Congratulations, Dyane!

    It’s been great following your posts.
    My website has moved and I’d love to keep in contact.
    Could you subscribe to my new mailing list at the following link:

    http://eepurl.com/cNIEP5

    Hope to stay in touch,
    Anne Skyvington

  2. Just back from Dublin and caught up with your post, Dyane. Wow – such great news about your book endorsement! As you show, dreams can come true and prayers (to whoever the prefered target is!) get answered too. 🙂

    I know exactly how it feels when you have to approach someone to endorse your book, but as you say: nothing ventured, nothing gained. Dr Jamison must have been very impressed with your book because it’s so easy for someone you don’t know personally to simply say they don’t have the time for endorsements. And if she does very few, the endorsement she’s given you is worth even more. Congratulations! All the best for your book when it comes out – I’m sure it’ll be a great success.

    Glad to hear your interview went well too.

    Sara xx
    (I’m off now to say a big prayer of my own to the Unknown Angels re. my book launch in a week and a bit – I hope they’re listening!)

  3. Oh how amazing! Waiting schmaiting. She could have said no outright. She could have said nothing at all. But she agreed to do it. I can’t imagine that she’d change her mind–then why say yes at all? so you have EVERY right to celebrate. Dance away, O Splendiferous SpyDy! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  4. And oh yeah, do I believe in angels, always have. You have your dad surrounding you at all times, on your journey with you. Angels listen. He knows your every step and is (no doubt) proud of his girl. I’m sure he is bragging to all the other angels as we speak! He is as proud of you as you were and are of him. The mutual admiration society! 🙂 🙂

  5. OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM DOING A DANCE FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM SOOOOOO SOOOO PROUD OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SHE NEVER DOES THIS. NEVER. AND I TRIED TOO! WOW Dyane I couldn’t be more proud. She obviously supports your work, your WRITING and YOU! If you didn’t have the winning combination of all three, you would be another piece of paper that went in the trash. INSTEAD, you will sell millions of copies! I feel it, oh I do! I couldn’t be happier for you. YOU my dear, deserve all the positive energy and joy and success that is already on its way to you as evidenced by your killer endorsement by only the finest author and doctor in our field. A huge congrats. I am not surprised at all. Only you could do this.

    1. I totally will respond to this comment the way it deserves but I’m walking Lucy in Mountain Lion Country and just need to let you know that 24 hours after I found this out I found out that David light got a blurb from her too maybe she’s relaxing her policy it’s spelled his last name wrong but he is the one who wrote about bananas and manic depression I love you

  6. What an honor! Your book must be really something special (well, I always knew it would be!) “An Unquiet Mind” was the very first bipolar themed book I read just before being diagnosed years ago. I couldn’t believe how much I identified with it and related to it. So yeah, getting that endorsement IS a big deal and I’m so proud of you for reaching out to get it. That’s so great.

    And agnostic as you may be, I pray you’ve got God on your side and Angels looking out for you, providing a path to both sanity and prosperity and of course… salvation.

    ♡ u Dyane!

    1. Btw, I think your father knows. Hebrews 12:1 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us,” I believe our earthly fathers are among those in the great cloud of witnesses – looking down at you with pride!

      1. What a stunning image: “I believe our earthly fathers are among those in the great cloud of witnesses – looking down at you with pride!” I ***love*** that, my friend. Thank you so much!!!! ❤️💖😇💙💚

    2. Thanks SO much, Michelle, and I welcome your prayers with all my heart!!!!

      I feel blessed we made our connection years ago! (It has been years, now, right? )

      Thank you for your faith in me, and for always understanding where I’ve been coming from due to our fathers’ struggles, our own mental challenges and so much more.

      Much love to YOU and your beautiful, beautiful family!!!

    1. Thanks so much, my lovely friend!
      Did you see Kay Redfield Jamison’s new blurb for David Leite’s book?

      “A terrifc contribution to understanding not only the experience of bipolar illness but the experience of lifef: warm funny, poignant, and human.”

      I won’t be getting a blurb like that – I mean, my book isn’t funny per se, although it has its moments, BUT who cares, right? 😆

      David Leite is a cool cat. 😻We exchanged a couple emails & I sent him the ARC file of my book. He’s going to write a blurb this summer when his hectic schedule permits – I’ll keep you posted… he’ll probably write “The section about Kitt O’Malley and her blog was my favorite!!! 😜”

      Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend, Kitt, and thanks for your encouragement, support and true friendship! 💖

      1. Wow! That’s incredible, Dyane! I’m impressed how you’ve succeeded in reaching out and getting blurbs and endorsements. Can’t wait to read your book!

  7. Whoop Whoop Whoop… ain’t you a bigger, better & bright inspiration there captain? I only dream and you pitch… And oh my your dad was so hnadsome . he is smiling and so are all those unknown angels you talk to… keep it going lady, we all have to indeed… thanks so much for believing in your own story enough to share it with the world. Love from Ella and the crew out here

    1. Thanks, beautiful Marie!!!!!
      You don’t “only dream” – far from it – you’re up to all kinds of goodness!!!
      You’re full of inspiration! You’re helping others!
      Clearly, the Unknown Angels 😇😇😇
      are already on your side! 🙏
      Love you, Ella & the crew!💖💕❤️
      The Captain!

  8. THAT’S FANTATSTIC! You are doing great building such support for your book! BTW can you give the link to your post about the Unknown Angels or send me a link? So Happy for you!

      1. Thanks, Dyane. I will remember to try this during my next despairing moment! Soooo, if you go up to Loch Lomond, here’s a tip: it’s free everyday after 4 and they stay open till about 7! (Otherwise it’s $6 to park.) This is a great time to take a hike around the lake’s perimeter. You and Lucy will love it! Or maybe a suppertime picnic with the family…the only drawback is the winding curvy road up through Lompico yet well worth it for the reward at the end. Best wishes for lots of fun and continued success!

    1. How funny, Cass – I’m literally on your blog page and was going to read/comment, and then I saw you had just commented. OOOoooooooooooh! 😉

  9. Oh dear Dyane! This. Is. Absolutely. Fantastic. News!

    I’m sure Ulla would be so happy for you.

    I am.

    You deserve this- you deserve to feel great. You’re going to change so many people’s lives ❤️

    1. Beautiful Yve, 🌺

      Thank you so much. I still talk to Ulla in the redwoods every now and then. I know she’d be happy for me, and she’d write something hysterical to bring me down a peg or two – don’t you think?

      Both of your names are in the acknowledgements section…I thin I told you that. I’ll get a book out to you when I finally have them onhand!

      Hope you and your family are doing well, you brilliant gal.💓🌸💖 Lots of love always,

      Dy

    1. Sharon, I love your comments so.

      This latest comment of yours was sorely needed on this dreary afternoon. I giggled with delight about your steadfast prediction of my impending “stardom!” 🌟

      You’ve always, always been there for me, and it’s a true gift! I’m wishing you and your family a beautiful weekend! 💓

    1. Thanks so much, Renee!
      I must say you have great literary taste! 📖

      Regarding Dr. Jamison’s endorsement, what matters to me more than anything else is the credibility and respect her association with the book’s topic will bring.

      This is the first mainstream book to be published about bipolar, peripartum onset.

      Over the nine years I’ve worked on “Birth of a Ne Brain,” I’ve had people in the medical field and others argue with me about the veracity of this diagnosis, or debate the semantics of its definition, or ignore my request to include it on bipolar and postpartum -themed websites (one major bipolar nonprofit keeps ignoring me, while another postpartum nonprofit kept stalling when I asked them to include it on their list of perinatal mood and anxiety disorders – after 18 mos. of my periodically nagging them, it’s finally there.)

      I won’t drag you down with further tedious stories because I’m sure you get the idea. What drives me is for people to know about this specific diagnosis, and read about my experience.

      Thanks again, & I’ll step off my soapbox now.😜

      Take care & I wish you a wonderful weekend!

      1. I had never heard that Bipolar had a peripartum onset, so I was very interested in reading through your website. I’m really glad that you’ll be able to get the message out there and hopefully save some new mothers some grief! 🙂

    1. Thanks, lovely friend!

      I also forgot to add that I pray fervently (*very* fervently) to the Unknown Angels when I’m driving; especially when I drop off and pick up the girls @ school. Many of the other parent drivers are such aggro drivers 😫😱 during those frantic times of the day. (Of course I’m 100% virtuous when I drive, LOL!)

      Sending you lots & lots of 💜& many thanks for your good wishes! 💕

  10. Thank you for sharing this story. I’m in the process of getting endorsements for my upcoming book as well. Like you, I’m taking chances and asking people I don’t expect to hear from. So far two have said yes. I like to think of it as blind faith. Thanks again and I wish you the best success with your book.

    1. It’s great to hear from you, Martha, and I applaud you for putting your book out there!

      That’s ***awesome*** that two said yes! I had a couple gracious no’s; it’s when people don’t reply or when they get flaky that “get my goat.” (What a phrase!) I wish you wonderful success; it sounds like you’re most definitely on your way! 👍😊

I'd love to hear from you!

