Blurbs & A New Section: “You’re Rejecting Me? Prepare to Learn Some Cat Facts!”

 

Aimee Mann has been one of my favorite musicians ever since her ‘Til Tuesday “Voices Carry” days in the 1980s. She has a new CD coming out called Mental Illness, and this brief interview explains why she gave her CD this title.

 

Hi there, my friends!

I hope you had a good week and HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!

I was too lazy to dress up Lucy, so I’m using this photo instead: 

In other scintillating news…

I’ve continued putting out the feelers for book endorsements. 

Some fantastic authors and advocates have agreed to endorse the book -hurrah!

I had another rejection, but thank God it didn’t sting very much. I had emailed Andrew Solomon, the author of the bestseller The Noonday Demon, on a whim. I thought it was a longshot, but it was worth a couple minutes of my time to contact him. That same day, I received such a gracious response. Andrew explained he was overextended with his new book’s release, but he wished me the best of luck. 

My pet peeve is when I contact someone and I don’t receive a reply.

In a time when it’s so easy to send a brief email brush-off, there’s no excuse for rudeness. 

I know what you’re thinking….you’re thinking that when I don’t get a response, my email could’ve gone into the spam folder. You’re right! That’s always a possibility, and it happened with one person. And I’m not such a narcissist that I assume it’s all about me – the person could be sick or going through a crisis, for all I know. But something tells me that hasn’t been the case with a couple other folks. 

What can be done? 

Well…I could call and leave a voicemail message as a follow-up. BUT I will only call once because I don’t want to be a phone stalker.

And then there’s always the Cat Facts option, which I’ll explain later on.

 

Using Twitter to Make Connections – Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Twitter has been very kind to me…

and Twitter has been a bit of a bummer!  

Through Twitter, I was able to thank the multi-talented comedian/actor/bestselling author/mental health advocate & Mohr Stories podcast host Jay Mohr for his re-tweet.  He shared my Huffington Post Postpartum Bipolar article with his followers, and after that happened, I informed him about my book, but didn’t ask for anything. He surprised me by endorsing my book on Twitter! (I’m sorry the tweet is so tiny and blurry!)

My tweeting experience with Minnie Driver didn’t have such a happy ending, but I’m okay with it now. I’ve admired Minnie Driver’s acting, singing, and songwriting for a long time. I thought she might be receptive to endorsing my book because last year she starred in the film Return to Zero. The film is about a married couple who loses a child through stillbirth.

Plus she’s a mom.

Minnie Driver and Paul “He Rocked Private Practice” Adelstein in the heartrending film Return to Zero

In my 1st tweet to Minnie, I complimented her Academy Awards dress and she “liked” it! Oohhh! I was jolly because many famous people don’t look at their fans’ tweets.  

My tweet #2 was about Minnie’s song “Down” from the Everything I’ve Got In My Pocket albumI love that song & I tweeted her about how much I’ve enjoyed it, and guess what – she “liked” that tweet too!

High on the success of my two tweets, I tweeted my book cover to her. I asked if I could send it to her for her consideration, but there were crickets.

I guess I should have gone through her publicist or manager, but I took a foolhardy chance. Sometimes you need to do that, right? 

And now, drum roll please….and a big, throaty MEOW because you’re about to read my new section.

 “You’re Rejecting Me? Prepare to Learn Some Cat Facts!”

I’ll begin by stating for the record that this is an immature activity, but hey – at least it’s not malicious or illegal. I’m referring to PrankDial – The Original Internet Prank Call Website. This company gives you three free calls. You enter the number to be dialed on the site, and they take it from there. (PrankDial claims your number and personal information won’t appear to anyone else, but don’t take my word for that!)

I decided to give PrankDial a try. There was only one choice that appealed to me and that was Cat Facts!

I knew just who needed to learn about Cat Facts. I can’t name him here, of course, but take my word for it – this guy is LAME and he needed to learn about cats! (He had nothing to do with my book…)

When PrankDial called him, it recorded his replies. After the Cat Facts call ended, the website played that recording back to me. Hee hee hee! The Lame One didn’t sound angry; in fact, I was amazed he listened to the entire recording. Perhaps he’ll show greater respect for cats, if not humans! 

Please prank call responsibly…or at least try to, anyway!

In the future, if someone rejects my lovely email or voicemail, I might need to share Cat Facts with such a cold hearted snake! 

I hope you got something out of this post.

It’s not touching on bipolar disorder (there are plenty other posts that do!) and it’s not deep, but that’s how I roll sometimes.

After so many years of living in my internal Nightmare On Elm Street film, it’s nice to focus on other things, even if they’re silly.

I wish you a great weekend!

Next week I’ll let you know if I contact anyone about Cat Facts! 

Love,

Dyane

 

Dyane Harwood’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Carol Henshaw (co-author of The Modern Management of Perinatal Psychiatry) will be published by Post Hill Press in October.

It’s available for paperback pre-sales on Amazon at this link – Kindle pre-sales coming this summer!

21 thoughts on “Blurbs & A New Section: “You’re Rejecting Me? Prepare to Learn Some Cat Facts!”

  1. It’s so Great that you’re getting some endorsements! And what a way to get back -a cat message? I’ve never heard of such, bit it sounds hilarious. Perhaps I’ll have to try that sometime, particularly when I’m angry or upset, but my social anxiety prevents me from trying something myself! What a comical solution you have found.

  2. Naughty SpyDy! Still hilarious. 😉

    I’m so excited for you, and how cool you got a thumbs up out of the blue from Mohr like that! Focus on those kickin’ victories, especially today. Meanwhile, I’m dueling with Bash on everything from breakfast to books. Bo reminded me that he’s probably being so ornery due to strep recovery (he got his penicillin shot on Thursday). I get that…but he’s still being a little turd. He’s *my* turd, and I love him, but still. Biff has finally FINALLY started wearing underwear, and I’d love to do a victory dance, but now he’s basically stopped pooping. I had to give him a laxative yesterday just to make him DO something.
    …not that you needed to know all that, buuuut, um, yeah, that’s my life right now. 🙂 So YOU have an awesome day, because that’ll make me feel better. I demand it, darnit! 🙂 xxxxxxxxx

    1. My friend, I’m sorry you’re dealing with Biff’s constipation blues, despite the awesome news that he’s wearing underwear!!! I hope that laxative worked – and I hope that he no longer needs to resort to that ASAP! In the spirit of the topic, I discovered a marvelous tea by Traditional Medicinals called “Smooth Move” but I’m not sure if it’s safe for young’uns. You might want to check it out!

      Poor Bo and the shot and the strep. What a tough week – it MUST get better!!!!! Keep me posted, pretty please!

      And while today didn’t start out well, complete with tantrums and tears, it’s improving, slowly-but-surely. I bought a fancy cold-brew coffee at the health food store to jumpstart my afternoon. I’ve been dealing with the 2PM fatigue crap again – I ***hate*** that!

      I’m off to check Freakbook to see what messages have come in. Stupid me accidentally made the setting so that no one could post to my timeline, but a friend messaged me and told me about that.

      Sending you lots of love and strength to get through this time when the merde is hitting the fan, or actually NOT hitting the fan. 😦 “This too shall pass” through the digestive system, fingers crossed.

      XOXXOOX
      SpyDy

      1. Oh thank you, SpyDy, thank you! Yes, we seem to be moving up and onward. While the strep seems to be out of the house–SEEMS to be–and Biff at last did poop, Bash has been a total bastard the past few days. Like, he threw an hour-long fit over the color of oreos.
        But, we are getting better. Fewer tantrums today, we saw relations (including my mother’s boyfriend, who is such a patient sweetheart with the kids, bless him), and ate some great food. One day at a time these days, and we’ll see more good than bad, right?
        And you! Good wishes and prayers and finger crossings and knock-on-woodings for you as you continue endorsement stuff and celebrating and more list items and random words and okay time to stop! 😛 xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. I would love to do this to someone. But I think that I usually become obsessed about this particular no-one when I am manic. Like I stalk this b and suss out how shit her life is. I wrote about her a while ago because she came up as a possible contact when I created my Twitter profile. Peace, love and prank away xx

    1. Hey there Raegina! Good for you for recognizing that you’re more likely to act when you’re manic…so many people are clueless when it comes to that.

      Now I want to read what you wrote about that woman – gotta go check out your blog!!!!! I totally understand that feeling and I’ve felt the same way. I appreciate your honesty!!! You and I are good people, though, so we need to give ourselves a break! We can flub up every now and then, or, if you’re like me, every day, LOL! 😜

      I wish you peace and love in huge amounts! Thanks for reading, and take good care of yourself! Have a good weekend too! 💗😻 Dy

      1. Hi Dy thanks for the reply. The post is here https://becomemum.com/2015/12/27/old-friend-heartbreak-cycle/ I still stalk her from time to time. I did not even want to friendship to end this way but it seems so traumatic and tragic that it had to after so long. I look out for her around town and everything. Paranoid that I will have to face her and her anger towards me. But man, the temptation to sign her up to that service is strong – to repay some of the pain and anxiety she has caused!

      2. Oh yay, awesome – thanks for the link!!!! I bet I’ll relate to your post based on what you wrote here – I’ll let you know. I’m so sorry you’ve been through hell with it. :((((

  4. Happy day Lucy and happy birthday to you two gorgeous ones. This post is just the right tempo to usher in your special day you two. Loads of love all the way from here… Ella has a boyfriend if that could be great news to share on this day now 🙂

    1. Loved this comment and please, please, please forgive me for missing your call – you are the most thoughtful and awesome Fairy Godmother on the planet!!!!!!!! I’m glad you liked the tone of this post! I like being goofy, and it’s a positive sign that I’m not too far down in the dumps, eh?

      Now, as far as Miss Ella goes, she is too young!!!!! But I hope you approve of her suitor! XOXOXOXOOXOOXOXOXO to you and yours!

      1. Hahaha captain. Oh my I could understand you’ll miss calls on your special day noe. No u ain’t near any dump or t-ump 🙂 Ella’s suitor I only saw through the window at 1 am when I got up to check out a noise. So, no official presentation yet lol

    1. Thanks so much, Cass! Jay has tweeted my article and my book’s Amazon link several times and the first time I noticed he retweeted the article, I literally screamed at 6:00 a.m. I got in trouble with the rest of my family because of that. It was a joyous scream, but we live in a small house, and poor, alarmed Lucy started barking (she has a LOUD bark!) and you can imagine no one else was as thrilled as I was, ha ha!

      Anyway, I still like Minnie Driver and I knew it was unlikely she respond, but it felt proactive to put it out there. I guess I need to improve my attitude when I don’t get what I want. Hmm, that makes me think of the Rolling Stones line: “You can’t always get what you want, but you get what you need!”
      I really don’t like that lyric one bit! 😉 And what were they even singing about, anyway – didn’t they pretty much get everything they wanted?

      1. Haha, your family can’t fault you for being excited! I would have screamed, too. 🙂 And yes, the Rolling Stones got pretty much everything they wanted, or so it seems from the outside. I’m sure it’s a different story otherwise!

  5. As a Shellie of Scottish ancestry, Lucy no doubt knows that St. Patrick was born in Kilpatrick, Scotland. She has twice the reason to celebrate.

    Congrats on your endorsements, especially Jay Mohr’s wonderful retweet of the “brilliant” Dyane Harwood. Don’t take those that don’t respond personally, I bet they get asked to endorse a lot of stuff. Getting a tweet endorsement from a celebrity mental health advocate means more.

    1. While Lucy knows so much more than I do, she keeps it on the down low! I had no idea St. Patrick was born in Kilpatrick, Scotland, but I bet she did!!!! And yes, she has twice the reason to celebrate.

      Recently I was curious if there was a word to describe someone who liked all things Scottish – I figured there must be one since “Anglophile” exists for a person who likes all things British – it’s only fair there’s a Scottish version.

      Courtesy of Wikipedia: “A Scotophile is a person who is fond of Scottish culture and Scotland in general. Its antonym is Scotophobe. In some cases, scotophilia represents an individual’s preference for Scottish culture over their own; the belief that Scottish culture is superior; or an appreciation of Scottish history.”

      Gotta love it! I dare you to use “scotophilia” in a sentence, Special K!

      Thanks for the congrats about Jay Mohr’s unexpected and very gracious tweet. I had no idea he was such an active mental health advocate. He has taped quite a few radio spots promoting Oregon’s mental health campaign,and his support means a great deal.

      I’m trying my best not to flip out about those who don’t reply. Like you wrote, they do get asked to endorse all kinds of things. Fair weather friends hit them up for money, and long lost relatives suddenly appear out of the woodwork. I read that Brooke Shields had a terrifying stalker and had to go to court because of it…I don’t know the details. Despite all the fame and glory, being famous sounds like a truly difficult existence.

      On a brighter note, THANK YOU for your comment and I loved your St. Patrick’s Day tweets today! 🙂
      XOXO

      1. Up for the challenge: Why would I ever have scotophilia when I’m clearly a Hibernophile?
        “A Hibernophile is a person who is fond of Irish culture, Irish language and Ireland in general.” (Wikipedia)

      2. LOVE this, Kitt! You met your challenge – you get an A+++

        I thought it would be “Irishophile” – Hibernophile sounds like me on a cold day wanting to hide under the covers!!!!! XoXo 😉

I'd love to hear from you!

