On the Homestretch of Editing “Birth of a New Brain”

unknown

I look a lot like her, complete with frizzy hair and her expression! (But she’s dressed way better than I am.)

Hello, hello!

You might have noticed I’ve been taking a hiatus from reading your blogs. Believe me, I miss them! Hopefully you haven’t been making voodoo dolls in my image for neglecting your posts.

I swear on a tower of glorious Halo Top Ice Cream pints I shall return to your blogs come February!

To add insult to injury, I still owe replies to comments some of you made on my last post – that one about the awful email I wanted to send my writing teacher. While I plan on responding, I must say that each of you who gave me advice was 100% right!;)

De to my Jan. 31 deadline, every spare moment I have is allocated to editing 300 pages of….well, now I can state for the record that my manuscript (ms) no longer resembles Bandini Mountain.

However, sh*t describes exactly how I’ve felt about my ms ever since I got it back from my editor last month, and heck, long before that.

After making the editor’s suggested changes, I realized that my book was NOT ready to be perused by anyone, especially a famous author who agreed to consider contributing a cover blurb. 

unknown-1

Even after following my editor’s suggestions, the ms still needed a TON of work, and I made up my mind that I was going to give it one last shot before turning it in. I’ve been “killing my darlings” and last night I deleted an entire chapter that didn’t further the story. Sorry to sound like a drama queen, but deleting those pages almost killed me.

With the exception of giving birth, I’ve never worked so hard in my life. I’ve been sleeping, but I’ve had vivid nightmares such as the one where alien-human hybrids were eating people around me, and it was clear I was next in line. I woke up just in time.

There was another nightmare that was even worse: I was editing my ms and found an error, and I fixed it, only to discover it had reappeared. That happened with the same error over and over again, a la maddening Groundhog Day fashion. 

Yuck!

At least Lucy has been by my side; her loving energy has been an enormous boost. (That’s her hedgehog “baby” next to her paw.)

wp-1484873507461.jpg

So that’s what has been going on in my life, and things will continue to be that way until January 31st. Every second I’m not taking care of the girls or doing the neverending chores, I’m in my office (i.e. on my bed) editing until I can’t take it anymore, and I guiltily close the ms Word file to play hooky on the wicked internet.

images

How are you?

Sending you my love, as always,

Dyane

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Carol Henshaw (co-author of The Modern Management of Perinatal Psychiatry) will be published by Post Hill Press in October 2017.

post-hill

20 thoughts on “On the Homestretch of Editing “Birth of a New Brain”

  1. Hang in there….one more week… you can do it and you’ll have a MS you’ll be so proud of all your hard work. Your book will be a ton better too. Kill your darlings, yes it’s hard but a necessary evil. If it makes you feel any better, I took out an entire chapter of my memoir and it made for a better book. Keep going! And if you eat two pints a day, oh well, whatever gets you through! 🙂

  2. I think this is something we were expecting (at least I was). You’re super-busy doing wonderful writing that’s about to be published as a best seller!!! Of course you have to take some time away from the blogosphere to do that. We know how loyal you are and trust me, there are no voodoo dolls in the making!

    As your deadline quickly approaches, I pray you have the strength and endurance to finish with ease. I also pray you’ll have more peaceful dreams! With love and care, Michelle

  3. So proud of you! I can’t even imagine how much work writing and editing a book manuscript must be. Like you, I’ve been remiss in reading blogs, as I’ve been remiss in writing.

    Lucy is adorable cuddling with her hedgehog. We are experiencing torrential downpour right now! Yikes.

  4. Oh ugh, that sounds HORRIBLE. I hate killing my darlings, too. There’s something tragic in bringing life to the words and then saying, “Sorry, you don’t fit here. AXE.” But you’re doing what’s best for your story and helping others. I’m SOOOOOOOOO proud of you! Just keep the Rocket Fuel going and you’ll see your way through this.
    (Side note: I actually had a weird nightmare last night about a house where everything was fine except the bathrooms. All the bathrooms were haunted, and I really needed to pee! It was HORRIBLE!)
    Cheers and applause and kerchiefs are waving from the stands as you return to the Duel of the Words. I know you’ll come out victorious!

    Love from the Midwest–Java Jean xxxxx

    1. Martha, your comment was such a boost to read last night – you truly get it, and your encouragement is so wonderful & timely. I’ll never forget it. Thank you, thank you!!!!!!! love, Dyane

  5. It’s great to read your comment,
    Bradley! I’m sitting in the carpool line, it’s storming like crazy up here and I’m making sure my laptop is fully charged because it’s just a matter of time before the power goes out. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be to get rid of the chapter because I knew all along it was a “fish out of water chapter” and didn’t belong there. I’ve made peace with it, and now I’m trying to find anything else that I can delete because the chapters are a lot like my blog posts in that they ramble too much, and are in need of serious pruning! There is something wonderful going on that I didn’t blog about today, and that is for some reason, I’m seeing things in a whole different way. I can really tell where I’m making improvements, and I honestly feel like I have some kind of Angel helping me! I don’t feel like I can take credit for it! Finally, your day will come!!!And you’re making it possible… you’re already writing consistently and you write with a lot of thought, care and passion, (!) I know you will achieve your dreams!!!

  6. I miss you and can’t wait until the 31st gets here. I can only imagine what it felt like to take an entire chapter, that I know you worked hard on, and throw it down the toilet. My day will come.

    That being said, I’m so excited for you.

    1. You are absolutely right, Susan, and I’m going to keep that in my foggy mind! You have spot-on timing, because I really needed to read that today! Xoxo xoxoxo

    1. Hey there Vic!!!Your comment went into the spam folder again!! how weird is that??? You might want to mention it on a post and let people know to check their Spam folders because I never marked any of your comments as spam. Sorry for the rambling and the typos because I’m just speaking into my phone. Thanks for your wonderful support as always.It’s great to know you’re in my corner! I hope you have a wonderful weekend! I miss your blog and I’ll return to it when I’m less overwhelmed……. I know you understand. Xoxo

  7. I wanted to leave a different comment, but reading over again… May I suggest you watch the inauguration for a break? Can’t wait for Feb, love Lou for being there for us all… We love you captain

    1. Girl, you know I love you, & *I* know you’re always looking out for me, my sweet friend…..but watching it will cause me nightmares far worse than what I described in this post. 😦 XoXoXo YOU! Once again, happy birthday! Is it really 38? You’re just a (very accomplished) baby!!!!!!

I'd love to hear from you!

