Afterlifethoughts & Angels: Part Two

2528715602_5563b7a9de_bWe need our angels now more than ever before…

 

Thanksgiving Edition: I’m posting a few days early since I thought you might want to try this idea tomorrow, probably not at the dinner table, but in private! 😉 

Dear Friends,

First of all, Happy almost-Thanksgiving to those of you who celebrate it!

Recently I read Medical Medium: Secrets Behind Chronic and Mystery Illness and How to Finally Heal by Anthony William. Although I’ve established I’m a bit of a “woo woo” gal, I initially didn’t feel drawn to reading it because I was turned off by the Panglossian title. But thanks to my mercurial mind, I eventually read a sample on my Kindle and gave it a chance. 

In the first section, Anthony William depicts his extraordinary life. Critics can pan the book all they like, but the book has been a New York Times bestseller, and it has been endorsed by numerous celebrities and physicians.

I found William’s bizarre gift and upbringing fascinating, but I won’t give away any spoilers, so I’ll leave it at that. 

51odgbctm5l

However, I won’t be spoiling anything by discussing one of William’s self-help chapters about angels. 

I haven’t blogged much about religion, and don’t worry, I’m not about to start doing it now, but I think it’s helpful if I share a few facts. I was born Jewish, but I’m not religious and I didn’t attend Hebrew school. I believe there is a higher power, which technically makes me agnostic, a word that sounds as cool as “moist” or “constipated.”

I’ve never been into angels unless they were attached to “food cakes,” but after reading William’s information about praying to obscure angels, I was intrigued. His instructions were easy, free and seemed harmless. I decided to try out his suggestions, but I was skeptical.

unknown

In chapter twenty-three, Essential Angels, William writes about different angels including a group he calls the Unknown Angels. These are not the “superstar” angels like Archangel Gabriel and Archangel Michael that even this agnostic knows about. The Unknown Angels are the unsung angels that don’t have specific names, and there are many of them – we’re talking thousands.

Williams asserts that the Unknown Angels are some of the most powerful angels around, but they are the least in demand, and they are “eager for the chance to work on us.”  

The catch to this exercise is that if you decide to appeal to these angels, you need to ask for their help out loud. I keep it super-simple, i.e. “Hi Unknown Angels, can you please help me with  XYZ – thank you!” If you’re deaf, have a speech impairment, or are too weak to speak, William suggests using sign language or your thoughts to ask the Angel of Deliverance, who will “express your soul’s wishes to the other angels.” (To those muttering non-angelic words right now, I beseech you to roll with this!)

Also, I encourage you to read this chapter in its entirety, as I’m leaving out 95%, but I’m sharing the bare minimum that has helped me.

This information might sound hippie-dippie or not jibe with your religious beliefs. But after I self-consciously uttered a prayer about a problem that was promptly and unexpectedly solved, I wasn’t so cynical. At the very least, talking to the Unknown Angels has gotten me out of my usual loop of negative thoughts, and I like how that feels.

images

My prayers to the Unknown Angels aren’t always answered or answered exactly the way I want them. Still, I’m getting results that convince me to appeal to these mysterious Unknown Angels, especially when I pray during moments when I’m totally stressing out.

images

Sometimes this lovely meme’s concept simply isn’t possible, i.e. Thanksgiving dinner. I’m a sucker for a cute animal meme, so I’m using it anyway!

The placebo effect could definitely play a part in some of my prayer successes – I don’t know, and frankly it doesn’t matter. I’m just grateful to have this option because the act of doing it seems to reduce my anxiety. I don’t feel so alone with my problem, be it great (worry about the health of a loved one) or small. (I’m too embarrassed to admit my small prayers, but they might be about things such as finding a parking spot or landing a hard-to-find child’s Halloween costume. Maybe.)

While writing this post, I visited Anthony William’s blog and found a post about Life-Changing Angels, the twelve female angels (go Girl Power!) discussed in his second book Life-Changing Foods: Save Yourself And The Ones You Love With The Hidden Healing Powers Of Fruits And Vegetables. I don’t want to overwhelm you, but you might want to take a peek at that post.

If this topic sounds remotely interesting, please check out William’s book at your library, or splurge – it’s not cheap (even for the Kindle version) hovering around $15.00, so the library might be your best bet.

I’d love to know if you try reaching out to the Unknown Angels and what happens…

Until next week, please take good care of yourselves. I send you lots of love and strength to get through these challenging holidays!

Love,

Dyane

 

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Carol Henshaw (co-author of The Modern Management of Perinatal Psychiatry) will be published by Post Hill Press in October 2017.

post-hill

35 thoughts on “Afterlifethoughts & Angels: Part Two

  1. For a little over two-and-a-half years, I was suffering from post-concussive symptoms resulting from a concussion that I sustained; these symptoms affected my ability to visually process information, making it extraordinarily difficult to read, look at screens, go outside, etc. I stumbled across the ‘Unknown Angels’ as I was labouring through Williams’ book, looking for answers to my suffering. Immediately, something about the name of the Unknown Angels, as well as the description detailing who they are, resonated with me. I burst into tears, and cried heavily for a substantive amount of time. Once I had sufficiently recovered my bearings to speak, I prayed to them in extraordinary, emotional earnest ,humbly beseeching them for help, and expressing gratitude for their own humble yet powerful existences.

    In the immediately succeeding days, ideas and realizations of profundity, thereinregards to my healing, entered my head; people of profundity, thereinregards to my healing, entered my life. I continued praying earnestly and humbly to the Unknown Angels each night – I did not rush my prayers; rather, I was open and honest with the Unknown Angels, almost as if I was having a conversation with a group of people who could hear me.

    Within a few months, I was completely healed – within about five months, I was able to get off of the medication that a conventional, Western medicine doctor (a neurologist, who I have tremendous respect for) had prescribed me (the medication did indeed offer me some assistance at various adjuncts in my healing process, but it had simultaneously been inducing me to suffer harmful physiological and cognitive side effects).

    Thank you, Unknown Angels

  2. For a little over two-and-a-half years, I was suffering from post-concussive symptoms resulting from a concussion that I sustained; these symptoms affected my ability to visually process information, making it extraordinarily difficult to read, look at screens, go outside, etc. I stumbled across the ‘Unknown Angels’ as I was labouring through Williams’ book, looking for answers to my suffering. Immediately, something about the name of the Unknown Angels, as well as the description detailing who they are, resonated with me. I burst into tears, and cried heavily for a substantive amount of time. Once I had sufficiently recovered my bearings to speak, I prayed to them in extraordinary, emotional earnest ,humbly beseeching them for help, and expressing gratitude for their own humble yet powerful existences.

    In the immediately succeeding days, ideas and realizations of profundity, thereinregards to my healing, entered my head; people of profundity, thereinregards to my healing, entered my life. I continued praying earnestly and humbly to the Unknown Angels each night – I did not rush my prayers; rather, I was open and honest with the Unknown Angels, almost as if I was having a conversation with a group of people who could hear me.

    Within a few months, I was completely healed – within about five months, I was able to get off of the medication that a conventional, Western medicine doctor (a neurologist, who I have tremendous respect for) had prescribed me (the medication did indeed offer me some assistance at various adjuncts in my healing process, but it had simultaneously been inducing me to suffer harmful physiological and cognitive side effects).

    Thank you, Unknown Angels

  3. I’m gonna write about the closest thing to a miracle I’ve ever witnessed.
    You talk of angels.
    In email, Gonna forward you a non-drainer re foods that heal and sustain. My Mom had rheumatoid arthritis so bad when I was a kid. She was all crippled up at 28. They even put her in experimental LSD groups to see if it would help the pain. This was in the 60’s.

    She got ahold of the Edgar Cayce (talk about ‘woo woo’) health, diet and prayer readings. Cayce gave a lot of health readings to people who had gone to every doc in town but could not heal. Difficult conditions like autoimmune stuff.

    Anyway this cat was a Baptist Minister who didn’t even graduate fifth grade but when he’d go half asleep in a trance, he could rattle off needed ‘Osteopathic’ (what they called chiro back then) adjustments at C-3, C4, T5, or he’d know, unconsciously, to have people drink Saffron Tea or get Almond Oil massage or high colonics. I think he even discussed angels.

    He was an out and out psychic, considered ‘Wacko’ by most. Every year he’s on the cover of National Enquirer, sensationalized for his readings on the lost country of ‘Atlantis,’ which I’m not sure I buy into. I’m having enough trouble with Time Travel and ‘Backstory Loops’ in “Westworld”

    Just like you founding and leading a DBSA group, Mom founded an Edgar Cayce A.R.E. (Association for Research and Enlightenment) study and prayer group. Dream study was big. Mom got better. She also grew apart from my father, who was more materialistic, into the Racetrack at Hollywood Park and Santa Anita and social climbing at country clubs, all of which Mom found very boring. When I* got to be 15, she up and left him. She wanted to STAY WELL.

    Anyway, lettuce, he says, is a must. It creates this stuff called ‘allfluvium.’ that purifies the blood. The greener the better.

    I have found it I eat greens, my antipsychotic starch and sugar cravings disappear. Like magic. Spiderbelly go away type thing.

    Allison

    1. Oh one more thing…he was really into Reincarnation. ‘Woo Woo.’ Angels, in his mind, were dead people who had unresolved issues they were sorry about, and had trouble ‘crossing over’ and wanted to make things right.

    2. Sorry for the delay in writing back, Allison!
      This was a totally fascinating post to read.
      I’ve heard of Edgar Cayce and his work/reputation, but I never took a close look at his philosophy/books etc. In any case, I’m so glad your Mom got better! And good for her for forming a group that supported her beliefs!

      I eat lots of lettuce every night (something called Supergreens or organic baby spinach!), so I was happy to see that’s an approved food! 😜 That’s cool that when you eat greens, those cravings go away. You’ve helped firm up my resolve to continue to eat them! Many thanks! 💗 Dy

  4. Yeah, Gabriel and Michael get a LOT of spotlight, don’t they? And this is the perfect time of year to think about the heavenly hosts, those Unknown Angels filing the skies on Christmas Eve. Day. Whatever, you get my point. 🙂
    Oh, and My Dear Java Queen, you MUST be in a groove, because this line: “I believe there is a higher power, which technically makes me agnostic, a word that sounds as cool as “moist” or “constipated.”
    You nearly made me spit my coffee all over the screen. I bow to thy wit, Your Majesty! 🙂
    Now that Thanksgiving has passed, I’m chomping at the bit to decorate for Christmas. I must remind myself not to tear up the decorations the kids made in the haste to make room for MORE decorations I’ll have the kids make because, um, it gives them something to do. Yeah. Um. ANYway. Polishing off my last portion of Rocket Fuel for the day while catching up on the late work from students. They basically have five days before the term ends, so of COURSE this is when the students who’ve been sluffing off all term show up. “What? I need to do work to pass? crap, can you accept stuff from week 2 yet?” “Um, we’re in week 10.” “TAKE MY STUFF!!!!!” Sigh….
    Love to you and yours, my Dearest. 🙂 xxxxx

    1. I can’t tell you how honored I felt when I read that I almost made you spit out your (precious) coffee!!! ☕️

      There were a few other words I wanted to use to describe “agnostic” but they were a tad too unsavory for a post about angels! 😱

      I hope you were able to catch up on that last-minute work turned in by your procrastinating students! How frustrating, to say the least….I’d want to belt out all of my unsavory words TO them in protest, so I’d probably not make it in your profession.😫

      You continue to amaze me with juggling work, family, writing, etc., and I will do my best in my future posts to make you spit out your coffee for good reasons, not bad! 😜

      From one Rocket Fueled-java sister to another, lots of love to you, my awesome friend! Have blast with your Christmas decorating – for all I know you’ve already finished putting everything up, ha ha! Enjoy, enjoy…it’s your special time of the year, and you deserve to savor every bit of it! 🎄

      ❤️ always, SpyDy 🔭

      1. Alas, the desperate students work continues to come in, but Christmas decorating is at least underway. I’m also so relieved and happy you are totally Rocket Fueled again. I double-dog-dare you to get me coffee-spittin’! 😛

      2. I’m glad the decorating has begun, although I’m not so joyous about the last-minute deluge from those $&^%& students!

        On a brighter note: I love nothing better than a double-dog dare, my sweet! I’m looking forward to being most triumphant with this challenge, heh heh heh!

  5. Thanks for reaching out and sharing this post with me Dyane! It was a great read and I’m thinking maybe I should give this a try…couldn’t hurt right? Glad we have crossed paths 🙂 Cheers!

    1. Please forgive my belated thanks to you for your very kind comment! I’m so glad you enjoyed this post!

      Please let me know if you give it a try; I hope that if you do, it turns out wonderfully…take good care & have a great day. 😊😇

  6. As a fellow “woo woo” person, I love this. I believe angels (although I don’t really call them that…I think of them more like Universal guidance) are always around us. I will have to check out Anthony William’s book…thanks for the recommendation! And, have a great Thanksgiving Dyane!

    1. From one “woo woo” to another “woo woo,” ***thank you Sharon***! I’m thrilled you enjoyed the post!

      I like your own way of describing angels. Universal Guidance is creative & awesome. I hope you had a good Thanksgiving, & I look forward to reading the latest news over at “Despair to Deliverance” when you get a chance to write us an update!

      take care & lots of ❤️,
      Dyane 😊

  7. Though I don’t pray to angels (as it doesn’t fit with my Christian beliefs), Jess’s comment about the angels does remind me of something. In Romans 8:26, there’s a passage where the writer says that the Holy Spirit (the third part of the Trinity) intercedes for us when we don’t know how to pray:

    “And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words.” (http://biblehub.com/romans/8-26.htm New Living Translation)

    I take great comfort in that. Sometimes pain is too great for my human words to express them to God; typically, a horrible depression will make it difficult for me to even speak or find words for anything, as if the pain has obliterated language. But the Holy Spirit takes my feeble offerings–even the non-linguistic ones!–and helps me pray. And the Spirit helps my “small” requests, too: the lost keys, the decent parking spot, the ones that we’re too embarrassed to admit but that God knows!

    Take care of yourself during Thanksgiving, Dyane. I hope that it’s a happy, non-triggering one. (Loved the meme about the best vs the stress.) Hugs!

    1. Dear Laura, you know sometimes I’m late with my replies (and lazy! 😜) but I want to thank you for taking time to write such an insightful & beautifully written comment. I do love the thought of the Holy Spirit helping us when we’re in the depths of despair, especially when we are wordless and shut down from depression.

      Thanks for the Thanksgiving wishes (how many “thanks” can I cram into a sentence? LOL!) I hope yours was a good one!

      Sending hugs right back to you, Laura, and thanks again for sharing your faith in an accessible, interesting, and compassionate way.

      Much 💗,
      Dyane

      1. Well, I try to share my faith in a good way, but sometimes it’s hard to know how my words come across; living in the “Bible Belt” region for my whole life may have something to do with that! Anyway, I appreciate how you share your views, too. BTW, I have an L.M. Montgomery quote in my upcoming blog on Wednesday. Anne Shirley had a great way of sharing HER views, too. 🙂

    1. I’m happy you gave it a try, Kitt!

      I know it’s a bittersweet Thanksgiving. Right this very minute I’m sending you a big hug, and lots of love, and I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow too. XoXo ❤️ Dy

    2. Hey Kitt. I pray but not to angels. Higher power within me. Going to elaborate in my comments. I need to find your wp blog. I sign up to ‘follow’ people like you but don’t get the notifications.

  8. Oh wow. You completely reminded me of what my mom used to always say about angels. It’s a concept in the Bible in Psalm 91 I think where there are angels constantly all around us. They are always willing to help us with our day to day lives and they protect us from demons. That has always stuck with me even though I’m an agnostic right now. I used to be 110% Christian until recently. Thanks for the cool post. And have a happy Thanksgiving!!! XOXOXO

    1. Your comments totally lift me up – I think I’ve written that before, but it never hurts to write it again.😻

      I like the idea that the angels are around us and protect us…As far as agnostic goes, well…that’s good with me, girl, since I’m one too. 👍But I hate the sound of it – it’s so ick. It’s also up there with “stigma” and even “smegma” – ha ha!

      I’m not the biggest fan of labels!😜

      Here’s wishing you a happy T-day too, sweet Jess. I’m sending you lots of love and more awesome success to you in the coming year! 💕

    2. Hi Jess. How are you?

      About religion. I was raised in the ‘nonchurch’ of “Centers for Spiritual Living” where people of all faiths go. It’s more of an ‘add on’ an ‘app’ to a religion. Lots of affirmations and believing we design our own lives by the thoughts we think.

      Now, given that I have bipolar disorder and am often unsure of myself, and have been taught to believe in Science (brain chemistry and seen antidepressants lift me out of the murk)…and seen how religion has been at odds with Science, I’m not a big organized religion person. This is unfortunate because there is a big barn door wide open at the Washington Post Newsletters “Acts of Faith” and “Inspired Life.” You can even get the editor to respond. Unfortunately, I don’t have any appropriate fare but if anyone else does, go right ahead. It’s a big ‘Help Wanted Ad.”

      Haven’t seen you lately on bphope.com. I will have to look you up. Allison

I'd love to hear from you!

