Blogging in Sickness and in Health

I love this song “Hope Fell Down” from the album Difford & Tilbrook sung by Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook, the British duo from Squeeze. The phrase “Hope fell down” describes my past few days perfectly…and I’m not alluding to politics. Just my out-of-whack digestive system.

 

Hi everyone,

I’ll post Part Two of Afterlifethoughts and Angels next week; I’m not in the most angelic of moods today and the topic deserves to be written when I’m in a better state of mind & body. I got sidetracked this week by a stomach bug that struck Tuesday night and it made me feel inhuman, devoid of hope, and a big bitch to anyone crossing my path.

unknown

I made the big mistake of not immediately getting ahold of my glorious liquid salvation (a.k.a. Pepto Bismol) which I can safely take with my meds. I have two bottles now and those puppies are worth their weight in gold.

The bug was weird because it would come and go unlike any other variety of ick I’ve had. I thought I was doing better yesterday, enough so that I took Lucy out for her late afternoon walk. While I seemed okay physically, I wasn’t thinking clearly, because I took her at the absolutely wrong time of day in the redwoods: dusk. 

Why is that wrong?

One word: mountainlions.

(Okay, okay, that’s two words, but you know what I mean!)

img_9912_compressed_38fcub-228x280

A three-week-old puma cub – awwww! Like human babies, they’re so dang cute when they’re little, but when they grow up they say “I hate you!” or they eat you!

I know what to do if I see a mountain lion: I make myself appear bigger in size, i.e. raise my arms high, yell, throw rocks, and DON’T RUN! (That awesome info. is courtesy of the local Santa Cruz Puma Project.)  I should’ve known better! At least I got so freaked out and mad at myself for my stupidity that chances are high I won’t ever make the same mistake.

When I got home, I ate dinner on auto pilot – I wasn’t hungry. Big mistake. Then I was sick again, and I felt less than human into the wee hours of the morning.

Today I have the huge luxury of being able to stay home and take it easy. My husband dropped off the kids at school and he can pick them up too. This kind of help is something single parents often don’t have. I don’t forget how fortunate I am to have a partner to turn to for support when I’m sick.

Black Mirror’s Season Three, Episode One, Nosedive

Black Mirror

Being bedridden has been the perfect opportunity to binge watch a riveting, disturbing series called Black MirrorMake that Disturbing with a capital D, but it’s fascinating all the same. The British series has been compared to the Twilight Zone, but I think it’s a totally separate animal.

I’m up to Season Three’s first episode called Nosedive and it’s one of my favorites; I’d suggest watching this one first instead of Season One’s first episode about the Prime Minister. Trust me. (Each episode is a contained story so you don’t need to watch them in order.)

middlerspride-banner10

Lastly, I want to share with you about my friends Jean Lee (Jean Lee’s World, author of Middler’s Pride on Wattpad) and Ann Preston Roselle’s (Bipolar & Me) inspiring, extraordinary blog posts.

Jean, one of the best writers I know, reveals facing “The Monster” who sexually abused her in “These Worlds Are Knives and Bridges.” She is coming to terms with being a victim of sexual abuse at the hands of a family member. I can’t tell you how amazed I was at this woman’s strength after I read it. Even though she wrote about dealing with a horrific kind of abuse, her post brought me up, not down, because of her bravery. She has taken a road so high it’s touching the clouds. 

Ann’s post “Maintaining a Little Hope” beautifully, poignantly expresses how  she has gone through the sheer hell of depression, but she didn’t let bipolar disorder steal her goals or her hope. She’s a tremendous role model and power-house advocate. I can’t wait to call her Dr. Ann! 😉 

I’ll see you after Thanksgiving – in the meantime, I send you lots of love and strength as the holidaze begin. Be good to yourselves!

Love,

Dyane

 

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Carol Henshaw (co-author of The Modern Management of Perinatal Psychiatry) will be published by Post Hill Press in October 2017.

post-hill

19 thoughts on “Blogging in Sickness and in Health

  1. I wish I would have read this before I watched that S1E1 of Black Mirror.. it definitely was Disturbing with a capital D, and entirely turned me off of the series! We’ll see if I give it another go, ha. Hope you’re feeling better and I look forward to following your blog!

    1. OMG – can you believe how freaky and revolting that first episode was? (Duh, evidently you can, LOL!!!) I don’t blame you for being turned off the series – I came close to that. But for some reason I watched the next one and got hooked….the rest of the episodes (so far) aren’t the same level of ugh, but they’re still bizarre & unnerving, so there’s no pressure to watch!

      Thanks so much for following my blog – I’ll be writing about much less disturbing topics next week, i.e. angels! 😇

  2. I’m sorry you’ve been so sick. Yuck. Like you, I’m always glad to have a supportive husband to step in when my system (mental or physical) is out of whack. I hope you feel better soon!!

    1. Thanks so much, Laura. This bug is still bugging me – I’m about to look at my doctor’s schedule online to see if she’s even working next week. If not, off to Urgent Care I shall go.

      I hope you & your family have a good Thanksgiving, and thanks for the well wishes!

  3. I know you said on Twitter that this bug’s still got you down on the mat for the count, but I do hope the next day or two provide a happy tummy at last so you can imbibe some Rocket Fuel! LOTS of love and prayers and virtual hugs your way.
    And thank you, always thank you, for the wealth of support and friendship. (And Rocket Fuel, of course! 🙂

    1. Hey friendly friend!

      Dang – I STIll have the evil bug, to a lesser degree, but it’s still definitely present. Despite that, I’m having my first few sips of watered-down coffee since Tuesday which you know is an eternity……I’m drinking it as a “chaser” to 30 ml of glow-in-the dark pink Pepto Bismol – that’s gross, I know. 😜

      I really hope today is going well for you so far – you’ve had a momentous week, and it’s time for some relaxation, I’d say, although as a mom of twins + 1 I think that word gets wiped out of one’s vocabulary for the next decade.

      Ah well…..I’m sending you lots of love this moment. You’re in my thoughts often, and I’ll “see” you later on, I hope, via Twitter!

      XoXoXo Sicky SpyDy

      1. I was so happy when I saw your tweet that you got to drink coffee today! Ugh, we’re dealing with a floating cold virus here. So what better time to finally buckle down and get the boys on the potty? It was a nasty battle of wills today, but I think we’ve got the higher ground right now. Relaxation is, um, not really on the horizon, but we DID get the kids’ Christmas trees up! (I get reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeally excited to decorate for Christmas 😛 )
        Love and hugs and happiness to you, O Java Queen SpyDy–maybe you’ll even get to drink TWO cups of Rocket Fuel tomorrow! xxxxxxx

      2. That *sucks* about the colds, but I’m happy to hear that the potty journey has some light glimmering at the end of the tunnel!!!! I’m also very happy to hear you got the trees up and that you love decorating for X-Mas! I love the way the trees smell and the beautiful, tiny lights most of all! 🎄

        I was able to drink some regular java ☕️ today, but nothing exciting – Rocket Fuel still seems too strong to my fragile stomach, which grieves me, but I’ll get back there, oh yes, I’ll return to my wild, high caffeine, rocket ways as soon as I can, uh – stomach them! 😜

        Hope you have a grand day, my dear! 💗

      3. Blondie’s annoyed that we can’t get ALL the Xmas decorations out before Thanksgiving; it doesn’t help that my Snoopy ornament collection which traditionally adorns Blondie’s tree has been scattered through all the XMas boxes. We only found a few, and she is MIFFED she can’t completely decorate her tree.
        In other news, Biff and Bash have been running around pantsless for the past couple of days. Not sure what they’ll make of having to wear pants for school tomorrow…
        Here’s hugs and hopes for a Rocket-Fueled Monday! xxxxxxxxx

    1. Poor thing! A cold simply sucks!
      I’m glad you have medicine on hand, and you’re staying cozy. Sending you plenty of healing vibes, my friend – lots of hugs and I hope you feel 100% better ASAP! XoXo

  4. Hail my Captain, glad to read a blog from you mindful of that belly bug … Just dive with your feet in the sofa and Lucy can do whatever there’s to do at home 🙂
    You are such a lucky Lady and you have a darling dear husband …
    Nice weekend and happy is it haloywun or givingthings? Thankskiv… Whichever, one of those, enjoy 🙂

    1. Thanks so much, Martha!
      You’re a sweetie. This thing is still haunting me – it’s a super-strong bug, but I hope it goes away over the weekend. At any rate, I don’t think I’ll be pigging out this year at Thanksgiving! 😉 Speaking of T-Day:

      Have a Happy & healthy (!) Thanksgiving!

      love, Dyane

  5. I know what you’re going through with that ebbing and waning, coming and going viral gastroenteritis. Yuck! Bummer when you feel better, step out, then regret that you did. Glad you and Lucy didn’t become snacks for local mountain lions. 😀💕

  6. Must admit that I am not family with your music groups or films but I did enjoy reading your blog….. well not really. As your mother I did become unsettled about baby lions and stomach flu,
    Just happy that you can rest up a bit. Feel better. ❤️🎼

  7. I wondered what was going on with you. I just felt like something was wrong. Glad it turned out to be just a stomach flu (not like the stomach view is not a big deal) Good to see you’re on the mend, Captain.

I'd love to hear from you!

