Rambling Alongside Fall Creek State Park

 

Come, ramble with me and Lucy alongside beautiful Fall Creek State Park!

I only say “anyway” fifty-six times in this clip, down from eighty times in my previous vlog. The loud sniffles you hear that could wake the dead are caused by my allergies that always flare up after a heavy rain. (Note to self, next time take a pocket pack of Puffs tissues!)

Because the past week has been far more hectic than usual, I’ll catch up with your blogs this weekend. I promise to comment, “like”, tweet, and Facebook- share your latest posts until the cows banana slugs come home.

images(Leave it to me to choose a college with a banana slug mascot.)

unknown

See you next week,

XoXo — Dyane

p.s. During my walk I mention my writing mentor Wendy K. Williamson’s books; she wrote the awesome memoir 

I’m Not Crazy Just Bipolar

41pw6guimel

and co-wrote Two Bipolar Chicks Guide to Survival: Tips for Living With Bipolar Disorder with Honora Rose

511zxasoel

 

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Carol Henshaw (co-author of The Modern Management of Perinatal Psychiatry) will be published by Post Hill Press in October 2017.

unknown

28 thoughts on “Rambling Alongside Fall Creek State Park

  1. Sorry it has been so long since I checked out your blog. I must say, when I saw the title of your Vlog I had to do a couple take. We have a False Creek in our famous Stanley Park along the ocean in Vancouver’s West End. You and I are always having double takes with names and spelling LOL!! I enjoyed all of this post very much.
    Lydia!

    1. You are so sweet – no need to apologize! I’m honored you read any of my chicken scratches here! 😜
      Thanks a million for checking out this post.
      That’s too funny about “False” Creek, and what a name…
      I hope you’re hanging in there with all the recent events this week.
      Sending big hugs from one Lydia to another! 💗

      1. It is funny that even though I am Canadian, the events of the week did affect us as a country and individuals. I watched the news right up to where Hilary conceded. I wasn’t sure, if I were voting who I would have picked so it is good that I was not voting. Sending prayers to you and your country. Oh, and I did get to honour my friend Dyane at the reunion. While talking, I thought of you, Dyane Lydia! ❤

      2. In Safari (I use Safari instead of Chrome but can’t tell you why, LOL – it’s just a habit) I select”Edit” at the top of the screen, and scroll all the way down to Emojis & Symbols- I love emojis!!! Hope it works for you!

  2. Gah, cheatin’ nothing. It’s just good to hear you, and good to see you out among such vibrant life–you little cheater with your dog! Naughty! 🙂 God knows I don’t write all the time, either. I’m supposed to get this fiction on Wattpad now; thank God I’ve got a buffer of stuff already done because otherwise I’d be screwed.

    Deal at your own pace. Know you’ve got my arm about your shoulder while we split a pocket of Rocket Fuel.

    DO take care of yourself. Hug Lucy, hug your family. Sit in the quiet and feel the ebb and flow of autumn’s wind. Darkness passes over us just like light. So all this, the darkness we face, WILL pass. xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    PS: I laughed when you said, “Wait until you see it! Not the dead body, the hobbit hole.” There are SO many places around where we live that would be perfect for dead bodies. … maybe not the thing to talk about…
    I had to see my dad’s body.
    I’m so glad you didn’t have to go through that.

    1. What a beautiful comment, J!
      I’m SO, so glad I made you laugh!

      I’m sorry you had to see your father’s body….words can’t express how sorry I am when it comes to something like *that*. A big part of me wishes I could have seen my dad’s body, for closure, but I couldn’t do it.I became suicidal and had to be hospitalized; I missed his memorial, which I’ll always regret. It was a TFN. (total f*cking nightmare) Thank goodness that’s a relatively distant memory, but it remains in my brain; ECT did not erase it.

      I will do as you wisely suggest and take care of myself. This morning I was grateful I had some Rocket Fuel on hand, especially because of the time change. Thought of you, of course! 🙂 I blew it when prepping the coffee maker the night before, and when I reached the bottom of my cup there were grounds a plenty, and I swallowed them. Yuck! I don’t recommend that!

      Rilla is sick today with a common cold, so it’s nothing scary, but she was sick Friday too.
      She’s getting better, but it’s going to be a loooong day at Casa de Harwood. Wish us luck!

      Sending you love across the miles….
      XoXo
      The Cheater! ✏️✏️✏️
      📹📹📹

      p.s. Hope the Wattpad project is going as smoothly as possible!

      1. Oh, SpyDy, believe you me…I hate thinking of my father like that. His heart gave out while he was driving. We had to see his body after the EMT did their damndest to revive him. You don’t want to see what that does to a face, to skin, to a jaw. Very…no. You’re right about the closure, of being among others swollen with love and memory with you. But I look back, and wish I had NOT seen him like that. But I am sad you missed your father’s memorial. Would it be strange to hold something new? A celebration of your father, for instance, on his birthday. Maybe that’s too much, and God knows it probably would be for me right now, and yet there are so many years of his life that I will no longer know without the help of others. Since the relationship with my mom is strained (to say the least), I would need others like his classmates and relations. Would you want to do something like that?
        Ugh, what a bummer about poor Rilla. We’re back in trench warfare over the potty here…honestly, it’s like just when we think we’re FINALLY going over and doing the Big Push, the boys just wear us all down with their machine gun tantrums…Thank God for good friends and Rocket Fuel.  Cheers, Java Queen!

  3. Awww I liked the idea of this post. Video humanizes the author to the reader so much more than words can sometimes, especially to a new reader of your posts like myself. I enjoyed this. Thank you for sharing! I hope you’ll find time to check out my blog as well… thank you! (And I thoroughly enjoyed the “anyways” and dead body references too, lol). Nicely done!

    1. Thanks, Eric – I try not to vlog too much; I feel like it’s cheating somehow and I should be writing, even if the post is brief! 😜 But I guess once in a while it isn’t bad to vlog, and your comment is true – these video snippets humanize the reader in a unique way, and your remark made me feel good about my choice!

      I’ll check out your blog. 👀Hope you’re doing well, and thanks for stopping by and taking time to comment. 👍

      take care, Dyane

      p.s. I’m particuarly glad you liked the “anyways” and dead body 😳 discussion, LOL!

    1. It occurred to me that it might not be so fun for others to watch that shaky footage! 😜
      I should have warned folks, eh? Or you could listen to it and not watch it – I’ll remember to give a heads-up in writing — i.e. I’ll write “SHAKY FOOTAGE WARNING”– if I do that again!

      I hope you have a great weekend, Vic and I’m looking forward to catching up with your blog. I’m so behind with my WordPress reader and I hate 😁 when that happens – I feel like I’m missing out on my friend’s lives, you know what I mean?

      1. Hey “life happens” so it is all good! If I don’t chat with you before, have a great weekend!

  4. Lady, remember the line in prayer on’ Praying for Grace to hold myself in balance…’, yes I have felt such moments too more often in life than I would appreciate.

    Anyway, I am looking for Ella’s carier because Lucy likes it or not, she and I will be coming next summer 🙂

    1. Next summer???? Whaaaaaaaatttt? That would be 💗amazing 💗!!!!!!!!
      p.s. I will remember the line – I do what my Fairy Godmother tells me to do! 👑
      Love to Ella!!! and you! 😻

      1. Hmm Lady am just seeing your reply to my comment; oh sad now that I may not be up to visiting your country again as long as you have that weird president. I made that comment before he was elected you know 🙂

    1. It’s so peaceful and beautiful in those woods, isn’t it? 🌳☮
      The trail is directly behind the SLV High School track. You’ll pass the Ludlow preschool building on your left, and the aquaponic area will be on your right. Go straight, and when you reach the first fork, you’ll veer right instead of left (if you go left you’ll head down a short hill, across the bridge and into Fall Creek State Park.) It’s only a 5-10 minute walk up to the Hobbit Hole – let me know when you get a chance to check it out.😊

      Great to see you here, and I hope you have a relaxing weekend, Martha! 💜

  5. Wonderful to join you and Lucy on your hike beside beautiful Fall Creek State Park redwoods.

    I fully understand not having it in you to write. This quote I read last night came to mind as you mentioned a horrible family incident feeling like a death, while at the same time experiencing something amazing.

    “The interplay of hope and grief is the current of our human sea. Each ebbs and flows, forming locked waves whose faces meet, one’s apex to the other’s valley, so that a whole is made and it is life.”
    ― Kevin Brennan, Town Father: Or, Where Graceful Girls Abound

    May we both take care of ourselves.

    Love,
    Kitt

    1. I love that beautiful quote, Kitt. Thank you for taking the time to share Brennan’s extraordinary, profound words.

      I’m soooo tired and drained and worried. Avonlea reminded me to redirect my focus on the incredible things happening, and I try to do that, but my mind constantly forgets to switch gears, and I ruminate on what is wrong. I know you understand…

      Yes, let’s take care of ourselves – we’ve learned how important that is, and while we may not do the greatest job of self-care, what counts is our awareness and making an effort, and–I can’t help but add this- taking a bit of time to smell a beautiful rose or whatever other flowers are in bloom, and perhaps even take a picture of one! 😜

      Love you!🌹🌷 🌹Dy

    2. Hope you are okay, Dy. I agree with the quote that Kitt included…the good and the bad always arrive together in some way to complete the balance. Your wooded walk…lovely. And I only heard a few “anyways”. ☺

      1. As always, Van 🚐 your comment made me feel good.
        I’m doing better today and things are calming down. Your remark about my “anyways” made me laugh – I could say worse words, right? 😊
        I hope you have a 🌟great 🌟weekend & thanks again for your sweet words! 💖

  6. Awwwww…Lucy looks like she is having a blast “hiking” with you. So glad you didn’t find a dead body😨. That’s weird they don’t allow dogs on the trail but hiking off trail looks like way more fun. So beautiful. Take care of yourself my lovely Dy! XOXOXO

    1. Thanks, Jess – although I LOVE watching gory British televsion series such as “Midsomer Murders” and “Scott and Bailey” I could NOT handle an up close ‘n personal view of someone who shed off the old mortal coil. (I have a hard enough time with roadkill! 😱)

      Thanks for your sweet comment and support! ❤️❤️❤️

I'd love to hear from you!

