Dear Awesome Blogging Friends,

Even if you don’t have the time, interest, or patience to watch my entire vlog, please check out Lucy’s yawn at approximately the 4:20 mark – does she have a long tongue or what?

LucyYawn

“Didn’t you know that long tongues are a sign of high intelligence?”

Not my best shot; yes, I’m tired today! Sigh

The two books I mention here are:

The Other Side of Silence: A Psychiatrist’s Memoir of Depression  by Dr. Linda Gask $9.99 on Kindle

This is a great read so far; I’m about halfway through it. Dr. Gask has a spare, eloquent and revealing way of writing about her innermost feelings. (I give her extra credit because we know how rare it is for any psychiatrist to be forthcoming and vulnerable, either in writing or in person!) Born to a Scottish mother & English father, Dr. Gask was brought up on the east coast of England. Dr. Gask is now Emerita Professor of Primary Care Psychiatry at the University of Manchester and is semi-retired. I don’t know if she likes dogs, but if she does, I bet she’d love Lucy since she’s a Scottish collie!

Finding Sanity: John Cade, lithium and the taming of bipolar disorder by Greg De Moore and Ann Westmore, $20.99 (ouch!) on Kindle

From the description: “In 1948…an Australian doctor and recently returned prisoner of war, working alone in a disused kitchen, set about an experimential treatment for one of the scourges of mankind – manic depression, or bipolar disorder. That doctor was John Cade and in that small kitchen he stirred up a miracle.”

Damn! All I’ve stirred up in my small kitchen has been store-bought soups and containers of yogurt. Too bad I can’t channel some of Cade’s genius, since my writing office is actually part of my small kitchen too!

I downloaded the Finding Sanity sample on my Kindle, but I haven’t read it yet. However, I’ve never heard of a book like this being written before – have any of you? I’m really looking forward to reading it, and I’ll let you know what I think of it down the line.

By the way, Dyane’s Informercial in the vlog features:

I ❤️ Pet Head Oatmeal Paw Butter – it soothes and relieves dry, cracked paws – they have a whole lines of dog shampoos, conditioners and um, strawberry lemonade dog perfume. Yep. More on that next week.

Finally, the Lose It! saga continues…

In tandem with my blogging amigo Bradley, author of the excellent Insights of A Bipolar Bear, we’re still encouraging one other through Lose It!’s website, especially now that it’s harder for each of us to stick to our goals. (Bradley, maybe it’s the Mercury retrograde that’s going on!!??) If you’d like to join us, leave a message in the comment section or sign up for free at www.loseit.com. Search for the “Wondrous Writers group”.

Looking forward to seeing you next Friday-ish…

love, 

Dyane

p.s. Thanks for visiting this blog and for your support – honestly, the biggest gift that bipolar has given me isn’t how it affects my personality, or my creativity, or whatever…it’s that it has connected me with YOU GUYS.

I’m serious! Xo

Unknown-1

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder will be published by Post Hill Press in 2017.

46 thoughts on “Cool Depression/Bipolar Books, Writing Insecurity & Dog Tongues

  1. Wonderful post, well said! Insecurity.. It’s a little monster isn’t it… The poop part is refreshing though 😉

    I’m currently writing about 4 steps to get rid of that insecurity so it’s nice to get some inspiration from other blogs and I really enjoyed your vlog!

    Keep it up 🙂

    1. Please forgive my late reply, houseofrougue – shame on me!
      Your comment made me SO happy, and I meant to write you back straight away while I was filled with that joyful spirit. Alas, I was distracted by something silly. I don’t recall what, so it wasn’t too exciting!

      Anyway, I’m thrilled you enjoyed my vlog! Insecurity is such a “little monster,” 😱 as you put it so well. I think it’s wonderful you’re writing about concrete ways to banish insecurity (and 4 ways is just right – 10 ways would overwhelm me!) so I’ll go take a look at your blog right now before I get distracted yet again.

      Hope you have a wonderful Friday and a great weekend!
      thanks again,

      Dyane 😃

      1. Haha no worries at all Dyane! Thank you for your response and for showing some genuine interest in my writing as well 🙂 I truly hope it’s any helpful and if so, please spread the word!

        Your blog is wonderful and I’m enjoying reading it. Don’t stop writing!

  2. Hi Dyane – as promised I’m coming over to take a look at your blog after you commenting on mine. First off, I suggest you change Lucy’s name to Lola as in lolling a lot of tongue. Ha ha, corny, I know, but my battery is as low as you were in this video. But, tired as you were, you still had enthusiasm and that’s marvelous. But what struck me is the quote, “I hate bipolar disorder.” No redeeming features. Yes! Someone telling the truth! I’ve lived with it yea these many many years, and the two redeeming features I have found about it are that (1) you’re given the opportunity to learn empathy and compassion, size large (lack of humility, appreciation for the disabled and impoverished, etc.) , and (2) if there is reincarnations we are burning off some major karma.

    1. Loved this comment, Summersday, and I laughed over your suggestion about changing Lucy’s name to Lola in light of her tongue-lolling! 👅 I got a kick out of “empathy and compassion, size large” – what a great phrase, as well as how we must be burning off massive karma. We better get heaps, ha ha! I know it’s good to remind ourselves of the redeeming features of bp; some days it’s much easier than others, but I like to think it has affected us in the ways you describe.

      Thanks for keeping your word and stopping by here at ye olde blog. Your comments rock and I’m going to hightail over to your blog to make sure I haven’t miss the latest….I’ve had my fatigued head in the clouds (and on the pillow) too much lately!

  3. Dyane–Sorry it took me so long to respond to this. I loved your vlog! You are so great. I am so sorry you are struggling with your book, but it doesn’t surprise me. I don’t know how you are doing it all…parenting two girls is hard enough! And, I don’t blame you for hating bipolar disorder. It sucks for sure. What has helped me more than anything in the process of book writing has been to reach out and get feedback from trusted people. It is not only helpful to get outside of the vacuum of my own head, but it is motivating when other people are involved. It has become, over time, a group project that several of my trusted friends and family are invested in enough that it helps energize me. My offer to read any draft of yours and give feedback still stands. No pressure. Rooting for you!!!!!

    1. Thanks a TRILLION for such a lovely comment and for your gracious offer to provide feedback. Rather than ask you to toil over my ms, I’d love 💗 your help with promotion when the book is out. (i.e. maybe sharing ARC’s with any friends/colleagues? I’ll keep you posted on this!)

      You **know*** I’ll spread great buzz about your book and review it on Amazon/Goodreads, etc.
      (((Big hugs)))) to you!
      💕
      Dy

      p.s. sorry to take a while to write back – you know I’m not sitting on the couch eating bon bons! 🍩
      That’s a donut pretending to be a bon bon, as the mean emoji designers have neglected to include
      bon bon’s – how can they sleep at night! 😱

      1. You make me laugh. Love the emoji’s! I’m hoping to get the final draft of our book sent out to Kirkus this weekend. Wish me luck! 🎉 (the emoji means I’ll be celebrating when I FINALLY get it sent). 😀

      2. I’m happy I made you laugh! Yes, emojis are lots of fun.

        GOOD LUCK with Kirkus!!!!!!! Keep us posted and I hope you got the draft sent out….or that you’re close to doing it! Then celebrate away! 🎊

        I’m working on an intimidating “metadata” form that could pass for a Halloween 👻 costume if I drape the Excel spreadsheet over me. Have you had to complete one of those? I never even heard that term “metadata” until my publisher and editor mentioned it last week! (Neither did Craig; he was never asked to complete a form, and his publisher is University of Oklahoma!) 👀

      3. You’re so hilarious – I get shy at the coffee shop counter ordering from a girl or young man who’s 1/3 of my age thanks to social anxiety.

        Meanwhile Craig LOVES giving book talks anywhere, to any size audience, and he has given 50 or 60 of them to date! People invite him, and he still reaches out to various organizations, even though the book came out a few years ago….he doesn’t get nervous, that stinker.

        I write all this because I still don’t think fame is in the cards, but if I’m wrong, I’ll tell everyone that you predicted it! 😛 (and of course I’ll also tell them to buy your book and rate it 5-stars on Amazon! 📖)

    1. Anne, you are incredibly kind!

      At first, I was going to re-do the video to try to improve it. Then I thought why not just bare it all, in terms of mistakes, that is, and talking so much, and looking tired (as I was informed by one follower; Lord knows that I already know I look tired, LOL!!! ) etc. 🙂

      Anyway, your compliment totally lifted my spirits at the perfect time, and it scared away my insecurities today.

      Thank you SO much for your support! I’ll share your comment with Lucy – she’ll be grateful to you too! ❤️

  4. Oh Dyane I’m concerned about what you said in your vlog. I hope everything is OK. I know you’re off the addictive internet but Tweet me if you ever want to vent. I’m always here to listen. And, like everyone was saying, don’t ever doubt your writing. I’m not the kind of person to follow back unless I really enjoy a blog and you’re one of the very few blogs I keep up on. Don’t lose faith and keep fighting bipolar. I know I say sometimes it’s a gift, (I don’t have kids and you made excellent EXCELLENT points about why it’s awful) I’m just on the fence about it still. Lately I’ve been hating it a lot. Been really manic and not talking about it . I’ll write a post soon to talk about it but other than that I’m OK for now.

    Anyways, I’m rambling and you got your book to finish. Thanks for the vlog. I loved seeing your smiling face and Lucy’s long tongue! She is such a cutie. I want to meet you guys one of these days .

    Lots of love XOXOXO

    1. ***Thank you***, Jess, for being there for me with your gracious offer to get in touch! I still don’t feel drawn back to Twitter or Facebook, which amazes me based on how into Twitter I was, but it is good, LOL!

      I’m doing okay, just stressed out! (It could be much, much, worse, and I never forget that…)

      I’m VERY honored that my blog is among your favored few! 😉 👍 I’m always going to doubt my writing, that’s how I’m wired, but I can keep that insecurity at a low boil or a loud roar, you know what I mean? I guess I want to accept my current writing level …even if others think it’s bad, I’m still a good, groovy person. (Right?) Just kidding! I know I am a good person…..well, most of the time. The dark side comes out when others tailgate me!!! 😈

      I’m very sorry you’ve been going through a rough time with mania, and I hope you write about it when you’re up for doing it. (But no pressure to do that, either – I hate “have to’s”!!!!)

      We’d love to meet you a— until that happens, please know I’m thinking of you, and sending you a big chunk of our love your way! 💚💜❤️ Dy

  5. I loved your video. Such a pleasure to see you and hear you and enjoy Lucy. You can take all the time you want as far as I’m concerned. And sometimes I just get tired of reading and just want to visit with you via your video blog. Gene says: Let’s hear it for poop. Go poop!

    1. Aww, thanks so much, Star! 🌟 I only do the vlogs once in a while, but I have fun with them! I love having Lucy as my co-host! I want to get her in the frame more! 🐶 Gene’s comment “Let’s hear it for poop” made me laugh! I dedicate this adorable emoji to Gene: 💩 Sending you both 💗 always! ⭐️🌠 Thanks again for stopping by! 👍

  6. For not writing a post, you wrote a lot and wrote it quite well. Loved the video. Identify with you. I’m in bed, under the weather, still recovering from consecutive weekends of BlogHer and NAMI In Our Own Voice (IOOV) training. I’ve typed up my IOOV speech parts, plan to print the text onto 4×6 cards, then record myself reading them, and finally post. Got step one done. Bought blank 4×6 cards I can load into my printer. Now for the next step… Loading… Buffering…

    1. FYI, last Friday Matthew had eye surgery and has been bleeding all week. Bummer. Took him back to opthalmologist Tuesday. Nick’s taking him today. Has interfered with both my and Matthew’s sleep. Lots of midnight and early AM bleeding. Just bought him a few green juices, a crap-load of baby spinach, and strawberries to boost his Vitamin K (which promotes blood clotting) intake. Turns out anti-seizure meds and Vitamin K interact. Not sure of the particulars, but eat your greens, folk.

      1. POOR Matthew – eye surgery? UGH! Bleeding? How awful…….I hope that the ophthalmologist appointment went well and that it truly helped him start recovering. Poor guy.

        Of course that would mess up your sleep as well as Nick’s sleep, which is the last thing either of you need, especially since you’ve been under the weather. You’re a great mom to buy Matthew all those green juices, baby spinach & Vitamin K……I didn’t know that Vitamin K promotes blood clotting, so that’s really good to know! I been eating Organic Girl “Supergreens” for a while now, and love them, and after reading your comment, I’m doubly glad that I buy that kind! Here’s to Matthew feeling 100% better this weekend, and to you and Nick getting good-quality sleep! 💓

      2. He hates the green juices, so we got him pistachios from Costco. They are high in vitamin K, and her actually likes them. Nick and Matt said that the opthalmologist laughed when he saw the green juice. He just considered it a complication of surgery. We’ll just keep seeing him until it heals. Thursday night the on-call opthalmologist had us ice it and apply intermittent pressure which helped.

    2. It’s funny because I planned to only post the vlog, and then I got carried away with writing, which you know I tend to do….especially when it comes to books I’m enjoying, etc.

      I sure hope with all my 💙 that you’re feeling MUCH, much MUCH better today! I’m glad you’ve been resting in bed because I know that’s hard to do. I’m glad you got through the conference and training without catching a serious bug! This is that time of year when it usually happens, at least for me.

      I’m looking forward to reading/viewing (?) the IOOV speech, and I’m proud of you for putting all that work into a) commiting to it and b) creating it!!!

      I’m sending you lots of healing energy from hippy/hippie land! 😘🌈

  7. I LOVED watching this, and it brought the biggest smile to my face! You AND Lucy!!! Soul food for sure!

    I’m sorry you’re feeling insecure about your writing. I commend you for putting your story out there. I can only begin to imagine how challenging it is to write a memoir while honoring research on a condition that hasn’t been studied as broadly as general bipolar (forgive me as I am CERTAIN I’m botching up the language here — I’m referring to your postpartum onset vs. regular (?) bipolar onset that I’d guess is a bit more on the general public’s radar. OMG, am I making any sense? still working on cup of coffee numero uno this morning.)

    I find writing about mental health/illness extremely challenging because while there ARE some generals, there are millions of individual experiences. As soon as I write about MY experience, I end up fielding mud-slinging from someone who, on one hand, has a point because my experience is so different from his/hers. But on the other hand, I find myself getting defensive because I feel like their questions/criticisms serve to discredit or devalue MY experiences. I certainly never set out to invalidate anyone, but in terms of writing about mental illness, I often walk away feeling as though I have. Does that make any sense? Hello, apparently that’s the question of the day…

    I’ve yet to finish and publish a book, so on that note, I’ll just segue on into this: You are one of my biggest cheerleaders at least in my semi-annoynymous online world, in terms of my writing. And I am always appreciative of your encouragement. However, I find putting my work out there paralyzingly difficult…as in, I have turned down too many opportunities because of freaking FEAR. Fear of being criticized, fear of my mom’s circle of English teacher friends pointing out that I should have used a semi-colon instead of a comma, fear that I will bring more hurtful attention to my family who has already suffered endlessly because of the flipping stigma of mental illness that runs generations deep. The list goes on and on and on.

    I must say again, I commend you. Not only for tackling such a personal and overwhelmingly difficult topic but doing so in your first book. That is bold, and I mean that in the best way. While I do my best to live by the mantra ‘Life is hard; do it anyway’ and sub any hard task in where I wrote ‘Life,” but when it comes to writing I’ve had to approach publishing my work at a slower pace because I need breathing space. What I mean by that is I write write write…and then I break. Rest is necessary because the work is so emotionally taxing (in my opinion and experience anyway.) For you, that’s not always possible because you are actively editing a book that’s slated to drop in the very near future. OMG, as I’m reading back over this comment, I’m seeing that it might stress you out further. So sorry!! I’m attempting to convey that your feelings and emotions are valid. You’re DOING a very hard thing. I think it’s natural to feel the way you’re feeling throughout the process, and the bipolar certainly makes is more difficult. I also recognize that I’m likely not hitting on anything you’re actually dealing with so…just try to go with me here. 😉

    Helpful suggestions: My GO-TO when I’m doubting myself or feeling unworthy is queen Brene Brown’s work. Specifically her book The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are. I have the actual book, the kindle book & the Audible version. I shut down the world and let Brene play in my ear. I basically crawl inside this book, and I’m reminded that critics don’t determine my worth. There will always be people who don’t “get” me or my work…and that is okay. I am not less than because of it. It almost feels cliche because she is now all over the place now, and her work has become very mainstream. BUT…it’s because she’s that good. Her research and delivery tap into that human-ness that we are all looking for. I discovered her work before she became mainstream when I was studying sociology/social work way back in the day, and it resonated with me more than anything I had ever read before. It has been a wonderful companion to more specific books on mental health/illness because of its simplicity and practicality. I like all of her books but this is the one that works when I’m struggling. I need to do a blog post on this.

    The other thing I do is get outside and shut down all social media. I’ve taken tips from Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way and dive deep into other art forms — music, drawing, painting (I’m not a natural at drawing/painting AT ALL, so mostly I play around with my kids’ art supplies.) I listen to a lot of music. I read memoirs of successful people who candidly share their struggles. I basically get outside of MY work and do whatever it takes to not think about it — headphones with music & audiobook memoirs are what I find helpful.)

    I’m sorry this is so long. I got very wordy and don’t have time to prune. You are beautiful and talented and bold and uniquely YOU. Never forget it! You’ll get through this, I am certain!

    Lots of love,
    ~ Viv aka Grief Happens https://griefhappens.wordpress.com

    1. I LOVE all of your suggestions, Viv!!!!!!! 💓 What an awesome, forthright and extremely helpful comment.

      Thank you, thank you!!!!!!!

      And of course I love your compliments – you can never go wrong with them, ha ha ha! Lucy says hello, by the way, in Scottish collie-ese! 🐶

      You made complete sense throughout your comment – no worries there, either! Nor did you stress me out! Far from it – I can feel your support and empathy all the way out here.

      I’ll be sure check out Brene’s “The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are”. (I’d love to read anything you write about that @ your blog!) Yesterday I started listened to a podcast with Dr. Burns (the author of “Feeling Good” which sold over 5 million copies in the U.S.) while walking Lucy around the high school.

      It was my very first time listening to a podcast during one of her walks – I didn’t have ear phones on because I needed to be able to hear if any dogs were close by us, so I listened to it on my phone’s speaker. We’ve gotten charged by a few unleashed dogs, which really sucks.

      Anyway, what I’m rambling on about is that I could listen to the Audible version of Brene’s book!!! Yay!!!

      You didn’t botch up the postpartumese language at all. Postpartum bipolar or bipolar, peripartum onset works – for the British, postnatal bipolar….

      You are awesome, amazing, the list of superlatives I could plug in here are practically endless. And don’t get me started about the quality of your writing!

      Marilla just started screaming “Stop it!” in her sleep in the other room, so off I go to investigate……..
      there’s never a dull moment ’round *here*.

      Thanks again for a spectacular, practical & inspiring comment! 🌠

      ❤️ x 1000,
      Dy

  8. LOL! I’m pretty tired, too. It’s been a struggle to write here the past few days, and yup–I’m struggling, too. Oddly, it hasn’t been so much about being a crappy writer (though THAT totally comes up,too), but the time. I just got a note from my school that I may have to classes instead of one next month–that’s 80 students! All my hopes of trying to write just…like a kid knocking a mug off the counter. I cried pretty hard last night about it.
    And the thing is–and this is something we have to remember about our writing, too–is that a lot of this fear and despair is unfounded. I’m still just on reserve. I might only get one group of students. Hell, I might get NO students next month. I seriously won’t know until they tell me, and they’ve got until September 18th to do so. Until then, I’m just going to be in this limbo, trying to make the most of the time I’ve got, and praying that when I’m told whatever is going on, that I can handle it. Bo’s trying to be supportive, but apart from me waking up even earlier than I already do, neither of us can think about how I can keep writing in my life with that big a school load.
    While I’m in the limbo, I’ve got to do what I can. And while you’re working on your book, YOU have to do what you can, too. Some days, we can dedicate a lot of time to our writing, and FEEL the steps moving forward. And then there are the days where we’ve only got the energy to just poke at it, change one period, and freak out because we can’t DO anything with this pile of poop.
    Hey, poop still leads to good things. It’s a sign of healthy kids, and it’s great fertilizer for the yard. Poop leads to good things.
    So yeah, we’re going to have our days of making poop. That was my yesterday, actually–getting one damn sentence done because the boys amped their bastard-meters to 11. But you and I are both getting through those poop-filled days, and still making good things. Not always growing as well as we’d like, and certainly get smelly, but we ARE growing.

    Totally mixed metaphor, dangit. Just know you’ve got my love and hugs from Wisconsin, and I know, I KNOW, you will make this book that is going to help sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo many people. Go kick some poop!

    Ass!
    …um…okay, I’m just going to, um, go this way. Yeah.
    🙂 xxxx

    1. TWO classes????? 80 – EIGHTY students????? 😱Ahhhhhhhhh! I hope you just get one class! I’m so sorry you cried hard about it, but I’m also glad you got it out – I only write that because the lithium does prevent me from crying sometimes and that feels so unhealthy, you know? I’m VERY glad that Bo is being there for you, which is huge, but still, only so much can be done during this waiting game!

      “Poop leads to good things!” Yes, it does, LOL!

      And you’re right, we’ll get through the poop-filled days.To that end (HA! HA! GET it????) END…POOP!!!) I bought a B-12 sublingual spray yesterday. I kept meaning to do it but of course I put it off, and it might have helped with improving my energy level, which is what it claims to do!

      Meanwhile, in other exciting supplement news, I’m out of my precious green tea. 🍵I need to get that special brand: the Yogi blueberry green tea – the regular green makes me queasy! I have to drive to the natural foods store to get it, which is about as fun as…..oh, cleaning a dirty toilet, or Lucy’s “bathroom” area. But I’ll do it soon.

      Anyway, I can’t tell you enough how much I appreciate your friendship & your belief that my book will help people! (Hint: it’s a lot of appreciation!!!!!)

      Please keep us posted on your class schedule, eh?

      And I send you lots of love 💝and heaps of productive writing juju ✏️
      before September 18th rolls around….and oh yes – I also send you good news about your class schedule! 👍

      💜🎼📝🙏😘
      Dy

      p.s. I beg thee, please forgive my typos…as usual! Thy friend has only imbibed 1/3 of her first cup of coffee.

      1. LOL! What’s a typo or 12 between friends? 😛
        Thanks for your encouragement. It’s…ugh. I don’t want to shirk the work, because it’s good for the household and all that jazz, but for me, it’s…ugh, it’s such a drain. Ugh ugh ugh. *And* I’m down to my last packet of tea. would you believe our walmart carries it of all places? for being in the hippie center of wisconsin, the closest natural food store is an hour away. Kinda ridiculous, I think!
        I wish you loads of love, too, and yes–your end poop joke got me laughing. 🙂 You’ll get your tea despite the journey’s yuckiness, and you’ll keep writing, and I’ll write, too (I got 650 words written of a scene–an honest to God scene of a story! Yowza, I haven’t done that in years!), and we’re going to keep doing this together no matter what poop we step in! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx J 🙂

    1. I think it’s offensive for anyone to call it a gift , you know what I’m sayin’, my friend?
      Yes, they may feel that way (and you know I know bloggers who do!) but I invite them to talk to my girls. Then they might see how much of a blessing Avi & Rilla think it was to have their mom in the nut house
      seven times during their most formative, vulnerable years when they needed their mom at home! (And the loony bins didn’t even offer f*cking animal therapy!)

      Sighhhhhhh. I know you get it!
      XOXO Fry

      p.s. I’m sending you love, big hugs, and agnostic prayers galore – I know you’re going through hell. Lucy sends you dry, sandpapery kisses with that crazylong tongue of hers!

  9. I love your writing Dyane! You have such a great voice and a fearless honestly that is lacking in so many blogs!

    Sorry you had an uncomfortable experience but you have every right to be confident on your writing! 🙂

    I loved the Vlog too! I may have to check out the books you mentioned. I am attracted to the title “The Other Side of Silence.” That alone makes me want to read the book. And it doesn’t hurt that you had an adorable dog in your video!

    Can’t wait to read your next blog!!! XOXO

    1. Lisa, you seriously rock!!!!

      I thanked you in my book’s brief acknowledgements page (what name do you prefer for me to use? Lisa or L.E. – I’m betting on L.E. Henderson, but I may as well check with you since I’m thinking of it!) No offense to anyone who has a long list of thank-you’s in their book. (I envy those who think of witty ways to thank their supporters in that section.) I don’t have too many acknowledgements, and the ones I do have are short & sweet. Anyway, please let me know by October 1, LOL!

      I don’t know why the lithium book costs $20+ on Kindle- that’s ridiculous!!!!!! Well, I’ve noticed that lots of Aussie-published books cost more so there must be a reason for that, but still! C’mom OZ publishers! People who want to buy *that* book are likely to have bipolar and lots of them aren’t rich, you know what I mean? 😉 At last Dr. Gask’s book is very reasonable, and I do think you’d like it! The title is appealing yes.

      Definitely check out next week’s blog – I had such strange writer’s envy last week generated from a couple incidents, and I think you’ll get a kick out of it.

      Thanks for being there for me, always! I’m beyond grateful. I’m on the other side of grateful!!! (Terrible “pun” – I’m going to blame it on stress!)

      Lots of love,
      Dy

      1. Wow Dyane, thank you so much, I’m so honored that you would put me on your acknowledgements page!!! Either name would be fine but L.E. Henderson is my “official” author name, I suppose, so feel free to use that one. I know I’ve said it before but I can’t wait to read your book!

        And you’re welcome! Thanks for being there for me too! You rock!!! 🙂

  10. Damn! I thought my audio/visual was fixed, but now I still don’t have audio. I did get to see Lucy’s incredibly long tongue. LOL Thank you for the shout out. We’ll get through this.

    1. Darn darn darn, my friend. I hope the audio is working by now!!! At least you got to see Lucy’s super-heroine tongue, LOL! You’re welcome for the shout-out – I’ll keep doing it each week.

      We MUST get through this! I’m determined!!! I don’t want to gain 40 pounds back you know what I’m sayin’? Today is my official food back-on-track day, for I broke almost all my personal rules last night at Marilla’s mega-delectable Italian birthday dinner – but it was worth it!

      The biggest rule broken? Rich, amazing, dreamy chocolate cake that our server personally recommended – it was the first real chocolate I’ve had since April, but it was SO SO SO good! Xo

      1. Glad you allow yourself to indulge now and then. I think that’s important. Otherwise we get angry and resentful and we know where that leads.

  11. Hi Dyane. Bipolar sucks. There, I said it. Hang in there and don’t doubt your writing, you are good at this, and you are a voice that will help many. ❤️ 💛 💙 💜

    As for Lucy…always a rock star. 🐶 🎼 🎹 🎷 🎺 🎸 🐶

    1. Thanks a gazillion, my lovely, kind 🚐 – I think that when my writing insecurity strikes, I need to consider hiring someone like Matt Foley, Motivational Speaker and have a little chat, don’t you? 😻😜

      Seriously, thank you for your belief in me. I’m dedicating this version of a famous song to *you*!!! ❤️ (I searched around on YouTube to see what was there apart from the classic version, and I liked this one!)

      1. That’s so strange it didn’t open – if I figure it out, I’ll let you know. It was a rendition of “Wind Beneath My Wings” on America’s Got Talent, sung by a man in a wheelchair who did an amazing job…I preferred his version to Bette Midler’s! :0

I'd love to hear from you!

