Shot Down By HuffPost!–What Can Help A Mom with Bipolar During Setbacks

Mom &Rilla.jpg

 

Today’s blog post contains a quiz! 

It’s called “Guess Why The Huffington Post Rejected My Submission?”

I’ll tell you some possible answers in advance; I guess that’s cheating, but I’ll make an exception.

I thought the editor passed due to:

a) It should be divided into two posts

b) It rambles

c) The essential oils section

d) Shitty writing

Hell, I don’t know the exact reason why it was rejected. Bloggers aren’t told why their submissions don’t make the cut.

Yesterday when I received The Huffington Post notification email, silly me – I thought my post was published! My heart soared with anticipation, but when I double-clicked the email it read:

Dear Dyane Leshin-Harwood,

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your most recent post. Unfortunately, we are going to pass on it for publication at this time, and will look forward to your next submission.

Thank you very much

The Very Mean Huffington Post blog team

I felt anything but hunky dory.

After the high of my first post being published without a hitch, I was bummed. 😦 Rejection is never, never fun – unless you’re a masochist.

Unknown-1

I thought that my Setbacks post, at the very least, contained helpful information. Moreover, I was excited that I could take the opportunity to promote two of my fave bloggers: Blahpolar and Kitt O’Malley.

I’ll try again, guys!

But in the meantime….please, a little feedback from you, my friends. I can take it! And I know I need feedback! I’d like my next submission to be a “yes”!

————–

SubmissionWhat Can Help A Mom with Bipolar During Setbacks

After I finally found effective medications for bipolar disorder and became stable, I knew that my stability would eventually be challenged by an awful situation such as illness or the death of a loved one. I fervently hoped that fate would forget to throw a trial my way, but those hopes were in vain.

Last month I was hit with a dilemma that sent me reeling, jeopardizing my hard-won stability. I received the bad news when my girls stood by me. I held my emotions in with all my might so as not to alarm them.

At first I considered my ability to contain myself in front of my kids to be tremendous progress.

From the point I was diagnosed with postpartum bipolar disorder in 2007, whenever I became upset, my typical reaction was to express rage. I often got angry around my children instead of taking a time-out. I never laid a hand on my girls, but my behavior was reprehensible. I was a total rageaholic.

I’ll regret the times when I lost my temper in front of my little ones until the day I die.

Fast forward to last month.

After I received the news, my attempt to keep my rage under wraps was just a temporary solution to a deep-seated problem. My anger needed to be released, and when my daughters were gone for the day, I erupted. I didn’t hurt anyone, including myself, but I “went there” to a place I loathe with every fiber of my being.

I raged until I became a monster version of myself. It took me two days for my emotional hangover to dissipate. I was mortified about how I acted. I thought I was doing so much better! My psychiatrist had recently said how well he thought I was doing. My therapist made similar remarks during many of our sessions.

After my setback I felt like a phony imposter. I didn’t contact my psychiatrist because it wasn’t a crisis per se. I thought that meeting with my therapist would be most helpful. (I could’ve called her for an emergency phone session, but I waited for our appointment because I was certain that I wouldn’t “go there” again so soon.)

I knew my therapist would help me process what happened so that I’d react in a healthier way the next time rage descended upon me. We’ve only just begun to work on this issue, and I’ll give an update about what I learn in an upcoming post.

NOTE FROM DYANE – THIS IS WHERE I THINK I SHOULD’VE SPLIT THIS POST INTO PART ONE AND PART TWO. 

Aside from therapy, there are people, activities and tools that have helped me during this time. When you face your next challenge, I encourage you to utilize one or more of these options:

1) I connected with an understanding friend and our talk helped me a great deal.

2) I worked out on my elliptical each day for half an hour or I walked outside and got fresh air at the local high school track. Activating my endorphins may have prevented me from spiraling into depression after my setback. I follow the guidelines of the acclaimed psychiatrist Dr. Mohammad Alsuwaidan who has studied exercise for mood stability.

 

Photo Two

Me with my “furry antidepressant”

3) I hung out with my dog Lucy and I hugged her a lot. (She seems to like hugs!)

4) I read a few of my favorite blogs every day. These eloquent writers often mention their own setbacks and how they react to them. Even when the bloggers’ subject matter is disturbing, I’m inspired by courageous bloggers such as Blahpolar and Kitt O’Malley.

5) I read memoirs. I welcome getting lost in the minutiae of another person’s fascinating life. I’m currently reading Sweet Dreams Are Made of This: A Life in Music by Eurythmics co-founder Dave Stewart.

6) I eat some high quality, snobbylicious organic milk chocolate – I know dark is healthier, but so be it.

7) I use high quality essential oils. Lavender and orange essential oils are two of my favorites; they’re calming and mood elevating, respectively. I worked at the College of the Botanical Healing Arts, an essential oil practitioner college where I studied the efficacy of essential oils for mood. I was taught by one of the world’s essential oil experts, college founder Elizabeth Jones.

To learn how to use essential oils safely, the website altMD is a great resource. I recommend referring to altMD for what I call “The Big Three”: depression, anxiety and insomnia. To learn how to use essential oils safely for depression visit here, for anxiety visit here, and for insomnia visit here

8) Music. Any music that soothes you, play it…immerse yourself in it. I love listening to music in my car since my family doesn’t share my love for 1980’s rock; I’m sure you have your favorite spot.

images

80’s Music Forever!

9) Connecting with my girls and husband. Hanging out. Listening to them. Being present with them.

There’s no way to sugarcoat the fact that a setback feels like an emotional tsunami. But you will recover from unexpected stumbling blocks. Make sure you have emergency action plans established with the key professionals in your life such as a psychiatrist and/or therapist. Create your own list of activities that make you feel good, healthy and safe.

In her memoir An Unquiet Mind, Kay Redfield Jamison wrote,

We all build internal sea walls to keep at bay the sadness of life and the often overwhelming forces within our minds. In whatever way we do this – through love, work, family, faith, friends, denial, alcohol, drugs, or medication, we build these walls, stone by stone, over a lifetime.

To achieve mental stability with bipolar disorder is precious, so do all you can to protect it.

I wish you strength in building your internal sea wall, and resiliency for the times that sadness and overwhelming forces take hold.

——-

Perhaps if I wrote about something related to the subject of this scintillating article I would’ve had success, but no matter.

Now that I’m able to take risks again, I can’t let one “NO” stop me, especially after my The Huffington Post Rejection Saga! If you’re considering taking a risk, I invite you to comment – I’ll cheer you on, free of charge!

In any case, I think my skin has gotten a little bit thicker from this rejection, and that’s good, right?

Unknown

My new look!

See you next week, and please, take good care of yourselves!

 Love, Dyane

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder will be published by Post Hill Press in 2017.

Unknown

83 thoughts on “Shot Down By HuffPost!–What Can Help A Mom with Bipolar During Setbacks

  1. Rejection is part of the writing process. We’ve all been there. Here are tips on dealing with rejection: 1) Know that it’s not personal 2) Editors are overworked and receive so many submissions that their eyes glaze over by the day’s end 3) You can learn from rejection and polish your work to the point that you experience acceptance 4) Write because you have to and focus on the process instead of the outcome

    I hope these tips are helpful.

    Also it would be healthier not to label yourself as having a mental illness. When you do this you think everyone else’ is judging you, but it’s really you judging yourself. There has been new and innovative research on the brain and new healing modalities that could heal your condition, if you choose. Instead of focusing on the disability, do research on new healing modalities and learn about the functions of the brain. This could lead to discoveries and empowerment. Just my thoughts, which you can dismiss if you like.

    1. Thanks for your thoughts! Since I posted this piece I’ve had several exciting acceptances so I’m enjoying it to the fullest. I would be curious to know about the specific healing modalities for bipolar that you mentioned…thanks again for your comment, and I hope to hear from you.

  2. I agree about breaking it up into 2 great articles. As someone not yet familiar with your amazing story, I think you should start a paragraph about that fascinating struggle. You’re too modest about the incredibly difficult struggle you are battling and winning! Then the rest of the post works. Especially with a little inspiration at the end.
    The list of what helped is fantastic and yeah the essential oils I love n want to know more about.

    I’m digressing but have you considered starting with your story? It’s so rare n amazing! As someone who loves info (my H calls me his own personal Google lol), I had no idea you could even get post partum bipolar disorder! They should be giving u a column, not just a one off! My BA is in English and even the best writers have had to deal with tons of rejection. Just rework it and resubmit. It’ll happen!! Hugs xo.

    1. Please forgive me for this long overdue reply!

      First of all, thank you so much! for taking time to read this post and comment. I took your excellent advice and I broke it up into two articles! Like most Huffington Post bloggers, I have an ongoing arrangement with in which I can submit any article I want to submit, so we’ll see if the editor/s give a green light to part one.

      My very first Huffington Post article was about postpartum bipolar in a nutshell! I gave a few glimpses of my story, but the extended version is in my memoir, which will be out next year with Post Hill Press.

      I love how your husband calls you his personal Google! That’s so cute!

      Thanks again for your kind comment and for your encouragement – I hope you’re having a great day!!!!!!

      take care,
      Dyane

  3. The publishing game is fickle. As I do with alcoholics (lol) don’t take it personally. I agree with A. McKenna Brankin’s response that its a newsroom/copy/logistics thing. Possibly too many submissions, or someone on leave can’t cope with the workload so a bunch of rejections go out. Or a temp standing in doesn’t know what they’re supposed to do…… the list could go on. It’s not a reflection on your writing. Being a publication they would edit your work anyway. Rest assured, it’s them not you. And as Opinionated Man said, they need YOU more than you need them ❤ Keep at it!

    1. Thanks, darling – I agree with you 100% 😉 (And with Andrea, who has a kickin’ blog like yours by the way -you both rock!)

      I hope you get a chance to read the post I just published. I try to post just once a week, but I couldn’t help but write again so soon – I think you’ll see why…..XOXOXOXO sending you hugs, hope you are doing better today! Dy

  4. Thanks SO MUCH (ginormously!) for including the link to my column. I’m hardly prolific, but that was nice of you. In fact, it’s clear that I’m in a quiet phase—little need for self-expression. It’s restful peace for me.

    I’m so proud of all your efforts, Dyane, and your resilience. You have my continued applause!

    1. You saw the Facebook pictures I posted today of the girls grinning next to Malena the chicken,
      and the other shot of them with Lucy our collie on the trampoline, right? (They aren’t allowed to have the chickens or our dog on the $300 new trampoline, by the way. One reason: chicken poop!)

      Can I come join you in the quiet phase???

      XOXOXO
      Your Sassy Honey Pot!

      p.s. I’m more than happy to include the link to your awesome Sassy Sandpiper column anytime!!!

      Here’s a link for good mesasure – you never know who reads these comments:

      TAMPA BAY REPORTER:

      The Sassy Sandpiper: UN-Spaghetti and Meatballs

      http://www.tbreporter.com/columns/sassy-sandpiper-un-spaghetti-meatballs/

    1. Thanks so much, Jason – I totally look forward to reading your thoughts today. You helped me so much this week, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend with your family. take care, Dy

      1. You’re ***absolutely**** right – take a quick peek at what I just replied to our friend Vic – I think you’ll agree……plus I don’t want to sound like a toad, ribbit (do toads say that?) but I have a book deal with a legit publisher, and that is FAR more meaningful to me than any HuffPost gig! 😉

    2. What a super-awesome post, Jason. I just wrote a long response over there after I spotted Allison’s comment – I hope you don’t mind! I got carried away, I know it was off-topic, but after I wrote all that, I re-read your post and it grounded me. :))) I’m so glad you told me about it!!!!!! Thank you!

  5. I like the way you write, but hey…what the hell do I know?!

    Perhaps they are looking for more short & sweet nuggets of wisdom? Perhaps they have no f**king clue what a good post would look like even if you slapped them across the face with your laptop?!

    😉

    Who knows…keep writing, be relentless and most importantly – write for you, not for them!

    1. Obviously, Vic, you know a LOT! 😉
      And you have fine taste in writing, if I may say so, hee hee.

      I think making the post shorter was definitely the way to go. If you scan their misc. HP posts most of them are short, and the HP guidelines suggest 500-1000 words.

      As you wisely suggest, I’ll definitely keep writing for myself…and also for my blogging friends (especially those who relate to bipolar/postpartum issues) – that needs to be my primary motivation. That’s what drives me the most, anyway.

      I love the freedom of personal blogging – I don’t have to have “perfect” posts, I can write about all kinds of things & not feel like I need to write for a particular HP audience, and that’s really cool. My experience with the HP rejection reminded me how precious it is to have our own blogs.

      Have a GREAT weekend!!!!!!!!

      1. I hope you have a truly epic weekend worthy of the sagas!

        😕

        Too deep?! Lol!

  6. I also have a journalism background and I’d say HP maybe had too many submissions that day or something. Whoever is screening may not be making the final decisions as well. Just keep submitting. It’s a numbers game. Keep calm and write on!

    1. Hey Andrea! I’m so sorry to be late in getting back to you. I wanted to thank you for stopping by this post.
      Your comment makes complete sense! That’s very cool that you have a journalism background!

      Apart from everyone’s wisdom, I learned something especially valuable from your fantastic blog post:

      https://bipolarphoenixandrea.wordpress.com/2016/03/31/full-moon-eclipse-hot-mess-or-cold-facts/

      And that is:

      Maybe I shouldn’t submit anything to anyone when there’s a a full-moon eclipse! 😉

      thanks again and I’ll see you over at BipolarPhoenixAndrea really soon!
      Xo
      Dyane

  7. Hi Dyane,
    Try not to take it personally. I’m a former journalist and there are many reasons why they didn’t publish this piece. Perhaps they already had enough content? Perhaps it’s because they just published your other piece? Or perhaps it’s like you said: it was too long etc etc. I’ve edited lots of work for others over the years and I think you’d be within your rights to ask for some feedback/pointers from Huff. Their generic rejection email doesn’t really cut it.

    1. Hi Keryn! Thanks so much for your insightful comment; it’s cool to hear from a journalist. I’ve read some blogs by women who had their work published by Huffington Post, like Erin’s Inside Job, which has lots of “how to’s” info on how to land a Huffington Post blogging position:
      http://erinsinsidejob.com/2015/09/what-to-expect-after-being-published-in-the-huffington-post/
      and Melanie Meditates, who writes about her HP experience as a mom with bipolar:

      http://melaniemeditates.com/category/mental-health

      One of the bloggers sent in a bunch of submissions and I *think* she had 3 or 4 posts published within a week!That might have been before Huffington Post really took off. It doesn’t matter, though. I’m going to send something occasionally. They do give writers guidelines (suggested length 500-1000 words) but they are general. I’ll ask them about the feedback idea & see what happens…I’m curious about their rationale. I’m fairly sure I’d be told it’s a matter of staff time, and $, but who knows. I’ll let you know if I find out anything interesting! 😉 Thanks again for writing and I hope you have a great weekend! Dyane

  8. Thank you again for the shout-outs. Great post. Have no idea why HuffPost wouldn’t publish. Perfect post for IBPF or bphope. Hate it when I rage. Know both the rage and the remorse.

    1. I realized that the post was too long *after* I sent it, but I thought it might have a chance…however, the feedback I got is excellent! I found myself agreeing with most of the points. The beautiful thing about this experience, other than feeling supported by the blogosphere, is that even if my post isn’t up to Huff’s criteria, I can share it here. It doesn’t have to be perfect! I could definitely send it to IBPF! I’m not sure about bphope, although they invited me to guest blog in 2013. I had to turn that down when I relapsed. I’ve blogged for IBPF for over a year, so I might send it their way…big thanks for the suggestion!

      1. I get it! If I didn’t have the book deal in the background to boost my spirits (okay, okay, my ego!), I don’t think I could put myself out there over & over again, Kitt…Post Hill Press is my Kryptonite!

  9. I had comments…oh, since Dec, when I first started with bipolar hope, once a month, I’ve had two stories rejected that I thought were good. As for IBPF, one video rejected, five including a ‘couples’ one, one she had asked me to write with Mike….for Valentines day, she blew off without a comment. It hurts. Shit flows downhill. I used to work with a former editor of “Women’s World” (listomania) and she said mag atmosphere is so abusive it makes monsters of those on the bottom rung, the gatekeeper and writers.

    1. Hey Lady A! I’ve written three detailed blog posts about rejection! Ah, I know it well! And so do you! But as I shared with Merry, at least we are putting our writing out there. Look at the greats, i.e. Nora Ephron etc., they all got tons of rejections. (I can’t wait to see that documentary done by her son about her – it’s on my Netflix list but it’s “saved” since it’s not out yet.) Anyway, I didn’t know that the magazine atmosphere is awful!!!!!!!!!!! I’d love to know more. I used to dream of working for a magazine like “Shape”. This was when I was growing up in L.A. I even got featured in a “Shape” article when the late Barbara Harris was editor. I don’t think I queried them, but I did query “Fit”, a magazine I LOVED. It was so different than the other fitness magazines, although the title was dumb and rhymed with “Shit”. I put my heart and soul into querying the editor and got through to her. She gave me my first shot. I wrote two articles for her about women, depression & exercise and also exercise and essential oils. Then she made my dream come true for a few weeks. She asked me to be a contributing editor. (I was in my mid-20’s!) THEN THE MAGAZINE, WHICH WAS BASED IN NEW YORK, FOLDED. I was devastated….but I have no idea what their inner sanctum was like! It was probably just as cutthroat as the other mags. 😦 I’ve tried to find this editor to thank her for believing in me the way she did, because I never got the chance back then, but she disappeared off the map. I will email you about this mystery – maybe you can help me find her, Ace Ventura?

  10. I like it, but you may be right about splitting it into 2 parts. I think the essential oils part is an important part of the post and in itself is no reason to reject the post. But maybe they don’t like the reference to altMD for some reason?

    I’d submit some different pieces and when they’ve been published I’d redo this one a little and try it again. It’s definitely worthy of being published.

    It’s a shame they don’t give reasons for rejections, that would be valuable to you and other writers…

    1. Hi there mythoughts62! I’m stoked you like the essential oils part! After my work at a bona-fide essential oil practitioner college where they were taken very seriously, I believe in their use. 🙂 I did wonder if naming altMD was a bad idea…that could have played a part. Down the line when I’m more established there, I’m taking you up on your suggestion to revise & resubmit the post as two parts. I have nothing to lose! 🙂 (Well, a little pride, but I can live with that!) Thanks so much for your comment; it helped me!

      1. At one time I’d have not believed in essential oils, but I learned better from a psych tech at a hospital I’ve been to several times. They also do acupuncture there too, but for some reason Medicaid will pay for acupuncture for substance abuse patients, but not psych patients.Bummer.

      2. I have Medicare too and almost no pdoc in my county takes it. I have to pay $95 for 30 minutes – he’s worth it, but still…..

        Ridiculous that Medicare won’t pay for psych patients’ acupuncture but they will for substance abuse patients!!!!!!!!!
        Stigma much, Medicare?

        Sorry to go off – take care, mythoughts62. Have a good Friday! Xo
        Dy

    1. Can you believe all these awesome comments??? Maybe I should pull everyone together here and we could create our own publishing house or mental health e-magazine! 😉 And get John Cena to finance it with his millions??? 🚐💕💜👍🌈📝

      1. Cena stayed at the hotel where I worked…he had more fans than any celebrity we saw there. ☺ And yes…the comments were amazing. Huffington, Schmuffington…I like your idea better.

      2. Oh. My. Goodness. John Cena???? That’s hilarious that he had more fans than any other celeb!

        I must ask….did you interact with him? I want details, LOL, and so does Avonlea!!!

      3. I was not a wrestling fan, so I had to ask who he was ? We did speak, I offered him an escape from the crowd of autograph seekers. He didn’t want that…very loyal to his fans. He was soft spoken, kind, and much shorter than expected, but he sure filled out that shirt !! 💪 ☺ 💪

  11. The only thing I have to say has already pretty much been said. The first part feels kind of vague which isn’t really like you. The first part of this did not feel to me like I was reading YOUR post. Maybe you had edited too much?

    I’m absolutely in favor of revamping and resubmitting!

    1. Hi Leslie! 🌅

      Take a peek at what I replied to vanbytheriver….I think you’ll appreciate my idea!
      Yes, the first part was vague – you hit the nail on the head!

      I wanted to go into detail (you know…provide TMI/gory details like I usually do) but I held back. For example, I wanted to reveal what triggered me, but I didn’t do that because it would upset my Mom. (She reads this blog and my other work!) I guess I could have made something up, but I didn’t think that was the way to go! 🙀

      I’ll definitely revamp & resubmit because I have nothing to lose and I feel empowered after reading all these awesome comments. Thanks so much for this feedback and for all your support, and have a great Friday & weekend!!! 💗🌈

  12. Hmmm. Considering the goal of the article is to share what a mother can do to get back onto solid emotional ground, the essential oils section seems perfectly reasonable to me. No, do NOT do two posts here. It’s a single arc here, and if you break it up, people who only read part 1 or 2 won’t fully appreciate what you’re trying to say. Now, one thing that COULD help is a touch of clarification as to what set you back in the first place. You mention illness or a loved one lost as examples, but you never actually say what *this* particular trigger was. Do you have to? Good God, no, but it will help a little if you mention that you can’t talk about the incident. I kept waiting for you to say what the “bad news” was, exactly, but you don’t. If you want readers to know what it was, please tell them,but if you don’t want them to know, you’ll have to tell them that, too (albeit nicely, of course). Otherwise, you’re going to sound like me, who often thinks very thoroughly, but often manages to skip complete sentences of detail in the typing process. 🙂
    Don’t you dare give up on this one–this is too important a topic to let fall to the wayside. Crack on!

    1. Excellent comment. I also told Dyane that when one refers to an incident that “sets them back” it is a good idea to elaborate on it.
      As Dyane’s mom I do not like to read something like that and be in the dark.

      1. I wanted to elaborate on what set me back. I know that if I was reading such an article, I’d want details! Unfortunately it was a personal family drama that I needed to keep mum about.:0

    2. Hi there Jean Lee!

      It’s funny….I thought of you today because I played hooky from writing and house work for 1/2 an hour during lunch, and I watched “Spectre” starring Daniel Craig. I haven’t seen a Bond movie in a long time.

      The first scene take place in Mexico City on Dia de Los Muertos & it’s truly spectacular, and even if you hate James Bond films, it’s worth watching. (It’s probably on YouTube.) The costumes and makeup are unlike anything I’ve ever seen – they’re absolutely spectacular! The way the filmmakers created the opening shot was extraordinary.

      ANYWAY…that’s a bit of a digression!

      I’m feeling confident about the essential oils staying put. I believe in their magic…I sound like I’m about to burst into a Karen Carpenter song!

      Although I think the majority of the comments recommend splitting up the piece into two parts, I have to admit I thrilled to your observation that the piece is a single arc.

      Other comments mentioned that I should give some info. about the trigger, and I wholeheartedly agree. That is what **I** would want from an article! I’d want some details, but the reason I didn’t spill the beans was because I didn’t want to freak out my Mom. So yes, I could have explained why I couldn’t explain! I won’t give up! I’m actually having fun with this. I’m also deeply grateful for the feedback I’m getting from you and the other bloggers – you’re all incredible.

      Check out what I replied to vandownbythe river. What do you think?

      1. LOL I’m glad you got to see SPECTRE. I think CASINO ROYALE is still my favorite Daniel Craig Bond, though. 🙂
        I’m glad you won’t give up. And yes–let’s capture John Cena for our noble cause! Yargh! 🙂

      2. I must see “Casino Royale” – I must! Vandownbytheriver commented that John Cena stayed at a hotel where she worked and he had more fans than any other celebrities! I didn’t even know who he was until 3 days ago!

  13. It’s long and the beginning rambles – taking the reader away from the point of your article. That allows the reader’s thoughts to drift and they’re not captivated to finish the piece. As another comment stated – you’ve got two articles here. You’ve got a personal story about setbacks (without the framing) and then a list of things to help with setbacks. It reads like a blog rather than an article. Plus the writing needs to be refined a bit further. Good information, just needs polishing and also to be more concise.

    1. Hi there postpartum world,

      Your feedback is excellent! Most of the comments copied yours! 😉

      When it comes to The Huffington Post, it seems that some posts are very “bloggy”while others are much more professional.

      In any case I want to follow your advice. I plan to split it up into two sections, polish each piece, & condense everything. It can be done! I have hope!

      Thanks for taking the time to share such helpful suggestions. I’m lucky to a high caliber of feedback. If you have a moment, take a look at my response to vandownbytheriver – you might get a kick out of my idea. 😉

      Take care & have a great weekend! 💐
      Dyane

  14. And where was my promo!?!? Jk. I honestly don’t care about fame. I had that same thing happen with my last article. The first one jumped through the ROOF. Then this one sort of bombed. Suicide doesn’t sell as well as sex (go figure :-P) but that didn’t discourage me. Leslie’s comment made my entire day and she needed to hear my message. Chappy or not that’s it going to stop me from writing and trying. I expect failure but I’m going to keep going anyways. You should read my next Bipolar Compass post. I’m going to address that.

    And Bradley is right. They are two different articles. I’d go ahead and retry doing Part II only elaborate on that and talk about the benefits of that on bipolar women. Talk about the oils in general but don’t give specifics. And don’t mention anybody other than major websites (like bpHope!! *wink wink*). LOLZ. Take care my dear

    1. You are hilarious, my friend!

      I’ve now scrapped the whole “refer a blogger” idea for some good reasons! 😉 I hate leaving people out, and when I just mentioned blah & Kitt, I felt guilty but I ignored that little voice.

      Bradley wrote a super-helpful comment about how it’s best to not name names because of how it comes across – what feels right is that I’ll stay general.

      Yesterday I read an article on The Mighty about suicide that did REALLY well. I’d be curious about your take on it – here’s the link:

      http://themighty.com/2016/03/when-youre-suicidal-but-you-dont-want-to-die/

      I need to follow your lead and not worry about fame. I don’t need fame, I truly don’t, but I do like my work being “out there”. I know you get it!

      I’m STOKED that Leslie’s comment made you happy – she’s a wonderful person, gracious like you.

      Of COURSE I’ll read your next Bipolar Compass post.

      Re: your comments about Part II and discussing about the benefits of oils for women with bp – *that* I can do! 😉 And I would be general and not name other websites, not even bphope, alas, because it might not jibe with HP editors! You are a loyal BP Hope blogger indeed. They are LUCKY to have you!

      XOXOOXOXXOXOOXOXXO

      1. I’ll look at the article soon. I’ve been busy this week and I just got some ridiculously stupid prank from my dad today that made me tear up. Now I’m in bed with a glass of wine trying to forget how much I hate my life right now and everyone in it. I feel like a failure. God I just need a pat on the back. Sorry I’m in a bad place right now

      2. I read your the April Fools story on your blog. That was cruel of him, and you have every right to be angry and depressed. As valid as these feelings are, please don’t let them eat you too much for too long, he’s just a jerk for today and what he told you years ago.

        At our house, April Fools jokes are totally forbidden because of the chances of them going wrong.

      3. I feel bad because I wish I was around here at Chez Jess earlier.

        But girl, I was dealing with a hater this afternoon who got ahold of me via Freakbook – she was my second hater within 24 hours!!!!!!!!!

        At least she wasn’t hatin’ to my face like the “Kraken” I encountered last night with Avonlea and Lucy in front of a church, LOL.

        I’m gonna blog all about it! I think you’ll get a kick out of what I’ll write because Avonlea & I thought of 13 ways I could’ve reacted to the Kraken, and some of them, I must say, are hilarious!

        LOVE YOU!!!!!!

        p.s. I LOATHE PERIODS – I just got over mine and they suck shit! Hope yours goes away sooner than soon, sweetness!

  15. I don’t see this as a Part I and Part II. I see these as two entirely separate articles. And dare I say it??? Yes, I must. I think it may have been a mistake referring to blahpolar and Kitt. I love them both, but it felt like promotion to me rather than keeping the focus on you, which is what the article is about Keep submitting.

    1. You rock, Bradley. (I’ve told you that before, yes?) This is EXACTLY the kind of helpful feedback I want & need. Upon reflection (well, 1.5 minutes worth) I think you’re right – they are two separate articles. And my gut tells me you’re also right about how naming specific names of bloggers comes across as too PR-ish (yes, it’s a word) – they will still love me if I delete them! But if I kept in the part about how much I enjoy blogging without naming names…that is something that helps me so much, so it might encourage someone to give it a try if they have kept away from the blogosphere. Anyway, thanks for being honest. I didn’t freak and my head didn’t start rotating in circles! Thanks so much! I will definitely keep on submitting!

      1. OMG..I just re-read this sentence and it’s AWFUL, but you know exactly what I mean, right? 😉

        “But if I kept in the part about how much I enjoy blogging without naming names…
        that is something that helps me so much, so it might encourage someone to give it a try if they have kept away from the blogosphere. ”

        I’m going to grade my run-on sentence!

        Sentence Message: A+
        Sentence Construction: Z-

      1. I thought about it in the shower (a place for brilliant ideas!) and I realized a personal blog is the best place for PR and God knows I’ve sung your praises & Blah’s, LOL! 😉 I also went against my own rule which I have shared with Vic at Just Plain ‘Ol Vic, and that is: I hate to leave out bloggers because feelings get hurt. I’d like to include all 60 bloggers I follow. (Hey Special K, at least I cut that down from 100+, right? Remember???) I’m really loving hearing from everyone today. It’s interesting to read different opinions and learn about the backgrounds of our glorious blogging colleagues!

      2. You just like to share your love. I’ve found that though I “follow” many blogs, I’m not reading many nowadays. Pretty overwhelmed with caretaking. When I read, tend not to read blogs.

    1. Very good points!
      And thanks, Robert, for sharing your insights, especially because I know you’re a seasoned writer.
      (Not age-wise, LOL!)

      I didn’t even know they publish 2 or 3-parters until yesterday, ironically.
      Had I known that, I would have tried that approach. I’ll just keep on going like the Energizer bunny.
      I really appreciate your comment and I hope you have a great day!!! :))
      all my best, Dyane

      1. I’m not really so seasoned…(shakes off the garlic powder) — It just occurred to me that as a political journal they might be focused on Trumpy and his gang.

        I wonder if you can work a political angle into this….?

      2. Ha ha ha!!!! Got a kick out of that “seasoned” business, Robert…at least the vampires aren’t circling around you very much!

        Speaking of vampires, I think Trump might be one!

  16. I think your mistake was that you did not refer to reading bipolaronfire.com. That would have gotten the post published. Other than that, I think that the whole post, not broken up, is pretty cohesive. There was a little bit of present/past tense swapping on your solutions list, but no biggie. Maybe HuffPost doesn’t really understand Bipolar enough to know how relevant your post was/is? If I were you I would retool this current post and resubmit it with a little note suggesting its relevance. ❤

    1. OMG you are hilarious! And you are also a mind reader…..because as soon as I saw your cute, little Gravatar image “liking” this post (and where are Blah and Kitt, ahem! Just kidding)
      I thought, “Oh NO – I should have included her!” Big whoops!

      Well, you have my word in a future post your Bipolar On Fire site WILL be mentioned. In a peachy-glowing way! Can you just make sure that HP will publish it?????????
      Can you track down the mystery editor???? 😉
      Can you calll him or her and play that John Cena Prank on my behalf??????
      (It got over 28 MILLION views, girl!!!!)
      Smooches!

    2. p.s. you are totally right about “There was a little bit of present/past tense swapping on your solutions list, but no biggie.” – this is a weakness of mine and I really wanted, I mean will want, oops, I mean wish I could have wanted, hang on!!!! I want to work on it! This, my darling, is an example of valuable feedback that doesn’t make me feel like Trump.

      1. Love you too and you’re right – I did it before, and I’m going to do it again. There’s got to be an anthem I can play to pump me up….hmmm, what about:

    3. One more thing….I love the suggestion to retool it (doing 2 parts) and submit it. I’m not sure if that will get anyone’s panties in a wad, but it’s a risk worth taking, eh? I could also try to find out who the mystery editors are and try to bribe them by sending them a case of those Hawaiian rolls!

      1. I think I’d do that, too, Dyane…Two parts; re-submit. A polish and a tweak here and there. If H-Post still declines it, to hell with ’em. Don’t send anything else for a couple of months. Spread your light elsewhere.

      2. The cool thing is that I have other posts in their hopper and I’m not anxious to send anything else right now. I have to laugh because for so many years I literally did not write. Now I’m working on a 300 page draft, my blog (which is fun and not work!), HP and some other avenues….it’s night and day. I’m beyond grateful….and to correspond with sassy sandpipers like YOU is the chocolate ganache icing on the cake! (You know that’s a ginormous compliment!) Speaking of which, I need to catch up on my Sassy Sandpiper columns, oh prolific one! So proud of you! Here’s what looks like the latest, if anyone else is reading this reply – check it out!!!

        http://www.tbreporter.com/special-interest/gardening/sassy-sandpiper-urban-farming/

I'd love to hear from you!

