My 1st Huffington Post Postpartum Bipolar Article/Call for Support!

n-SINGLE-MOM-628x314

Greetings, and Happy Spring!!!

Thanks to those of you who read my last birthday post & for wishing me and Lucy a happy birthday! Your beautiful words made my day extra-special! Lucy was spoiled rotten…although what else is new?

On a separate note, some of you know I’m shameless when it comes to promoting postpartum bipolar disorder awareness.

I’d be SO GRATEFUL if you could take time to visit my debut Huffington Post article (this is the link) and “like” it, comment, & maybe share it with your  Facebook pals, oh my!

As far as comments are concerned, almost anything goes, i.e. – “I didn’t know about this form of bipolar – thanks for opening my eyes!” or whatever you like. I ask for your help because the more feedback I get, the better leverage I have with the editors to publish future posts about bipolar and postpartum-related issues. 

Sadly, you must have a Facebook account in order to comment & like, which is a big bummer, but if you use Facebook, you’d be putting it to noble use in the name of PPBD awareness! 😉 

Here’s the link and a BIG thanks to each & every one of you for your support! 

Love,

Dyane

 

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder will be published by Post Hill Press in Fall, 2017.

Unknown

29 thoughts on “My 1st Huffington Post Postpartum Bipolar Article/Call for Support!

  1. Dyane, what is MAOI? I was most interested in your description of hypographia postpartum. I had never heard of it. I wonder how it might relate to automatic writing. Have you gone back and reread what you had written to see if there was any insight or value in its the narrative? Keep up the good work, Dyane. People are looking for information on the web, more and more. V~

    1. Hi Virginia!

      Thanks so much for your comment and I apologize for my late reply.

      To learn more about MAOI’s you can visit the Mayo Clinic page; my family doctor trusts the Mayo Clinic’s information:
      http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/depression/in-depth/maois/art-20043992
      I also like using Wikipedia,and so does my psychiatrist, but Mayo is probably the best way to go!

      Hypergraphia is very different than automatic writing – in my (humble) opinion they are like apples and oranges, or chalk & cheese as the British say! 😉 I’ve gone back to some of my hypergraphic writing and a lot of it is frankly impossible to read as I used a pencil and my words look like scrawls. The other parts I’ve looked that are more clear are fairly straightforward; nothing too insightful – I wish there was more to it.

      To read more about hypergraphia I suggest checking out Dr. Alice W. Flaherty’s fascinating book “The Midnight Disease: The Drive to Write, Writer’s Block and the Creative Brain”.

      take care & all my best!
      Dyane

      Thanks again for writing and for your comment

  2. This article is very important. Our bodies change so much after pregnancy. I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease after my second child was born. It is so important to raise awareness about the permanent changes in our body’s postpartum chemistry. Well done and congratulations on your publication.

    1. Hello there, and thanks for your comment. I’m so sorry that you were dx’d with an autoimmune disease postpartum.

      I couldn’t agree with you more about how it’s worthwhile to raise awareness about what happens or what *can* happen to our bodies postpartum.

      If I knew that pregnancy and/or childbirth could activate my makeup/genetic vulnerability for bipolar disorder, at the very least, I could have been proactive about it.

      Thank you so much for your support – it’s wonderful! Have a great night!!!

  3. That article was perfect!!! Not even buttering you up!! I’ve never seen such a sweet, informative, and thorough article about PPBD. You really have opened my eyes to this condition and I’m so proud to call you my friend. I also didn’t comment because that would give away my real identity on Facebook but I’m here supporting you every step of the way!!! LOTS OF LOVE XOXOXOXOXO

    1. Thank you SOOO much, Jess! That is huge praise to me and I love it because I know you mean it!!!!!! I totally understand about the Facebook thing; I wish HP allowed readers to post anonymous!!!!! Love you and thanks again, sweet friend!!

  4. Reblogged this on Just Plain Ol' Vic and commented:
    Dyane worked hard to get his post on the Huffington Post. Since I don’t do any other social media, the least I can do it re-blog it – so please give it a look!

    1. Thank you for reading and I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND the Facebook issue! It’s SO SOS OS OSOSOSOOSOooooooooo lame they can’t open it up to Disqus, but you know there must be big bucks being exchanged by Mark Freakbook Billiionaireboy and Arianna Megabucksgreathair; I hate to say it, but I think that must be true! XOXOXO

  5. So proud of you for your efforts on this one, Dyane, and how wonderful it all turned out for you and the readers of Huff Post. Congrats. Enjoy the many responses and compliments there. 💕 💓 💗 💖 💘

  6. Congratulations again! Beautifully written article and so comprehensive in scope! You’re the bomb when it comes to peripartum/postpartum onset bipolar disorder!!! 💞💞💞

  7. Just read it and commented! As I said in that comment, one of the first other people with bipolar I met after being diagnosed had postpartum onset bipolar. She and I started a local support group 15 years ago, but we’ve lost touch with each other since then.

    1. Yay, Deborah, thank you SO much!!!!
      I’m truly grateful! You get good karma points coming your way this very moment! 😉
      have a wonderful day and thanks for making mine start out great!
      Dyane

      1. You are more than welcome. It was my pleasure. However, I will still accept good Karma points! Good luck. I hope this brings some attention to the important information you’re putting out there.

I'd love to hear from you!

