I Could’ve Been A Clapper! (The Tao of Boston)

 

Okay, that title isn’t about what you might be thinking.

I’m not referring to someone with the dreadful disease known as “The Clap” nor to someone with an unsavory job…

I’m letting you all know, officially and with a chunk of chutzpah, that I can clap really well. I clap very clearly and loudly when it’s necessary to do so, i.e. in a noisy room. 

Because of this skill, I’ve believed I would’ve been a great member of the rock band Boston. If you’re a 70’s music lover, you may know that this super group featured loud claps in some of their songs – I’m talkin’ about real claps, not the fake-sounding, techie ones. You can hear these claps particularly well in Boston’s hit songs Peace of Mind and More Than A Feeling.

Remember those tunes, you ancient ones?

(I’m one of those ancient ones, by the way – I turn 46 in a month.) 

I’m insecure about so many things, but I know that when it comes to being a professional session clapper, I could do it. 

Here’s a weird thing. I write songs, both music and lyrics, I play some instruments (not well) and I usually remember my own lyrics. But I’m terrible at understanding what the lyrics are in 99% of the songs I listen to, even the ones I’ve listened to hundreds of times. I don’t have a hearing loss; I hear words, but they’re all kind of a blur. This is a bizarre habit that I wish I didn’t have. I envy those who can effortlessly memorize song lyrics.

You’ll understand why I’m grateful that today when I listened to Boston’s Peace of Mind, I heard — truly heard — the words to this song for the first time since I first listened to this song at age six.

Today Peace of Mind spoke to me. (A sidenote: I’m not manic. Ugh – that’s what sucks about having bipolar disorder…I feel like I have to be careful not to come across as too wacky in fear of others thinking oh, she’s manic – better 5150 her STAT!)

The truth is that I’ve been wacky for the 37 years that led up to my bipolar disorder diagnosis, so danger wackiness is my middle name.   

Back to Peace of Mind…I’m listening to Peace of Mind and I’m thinking,

Whoa, that’s profound stuff, even for a 70’s song. Peace of Mind – that’s what I want more than anything these days! 

My brain has been too “monkey mind” lately — it has been here, there and everywhere, with a tendency for me to loop on negative things such as the recent Facebook unfriending.

When I read the Boston song lyrics, I went over them slowly, word by word.

Peace of Mind 

lyrics by  Tom Scholz of Boston

Now if you’re feelin’ kinda low ’bout the dues you’ve been paying
Future’s coming much too slow
And you want to run but somehow you just keep on stayin’
Can’t decide on which way to go
Yeah, yeah, yeah  
Dyane says, “This sums up my life.”
I understand about indecision
But I don’t care if I get behind
People livin’ in competition
All I want is to have my peace of mind 
I’ve been ruminating about “getting behind” — i.e. my writing job. I’m weary of the competition in the writing world which seems to be growing fiercer every day. I know this field is not for the weak, but I could deal with it better if I could attain a little peace of mind. I need to stop caring so much about getting behind and perhaps emulate the philosophy of Ram Dass and Be Here Now.
Now you’re climbin’ to the top of the company ladder
Hope it doesn’t take too long
Can’tcha you see there’ll come a day when it won’t matter
Come a day when you’ll be gone
These words are very sobering – yes, I know there will come a day when the vicious competition and rat race won’t matter, Boston. I get it! All the more reason to seek more peace of mind while I’m above ground.
I understand about indecision
But I don’t care if I get behind
People livin’ in competition
All I want is to have my peace of mind
Take a look ahead, take a look ahead, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
 Now everybody’s got advice they just keep on givin’

Doesn’t mean too much to me
Lots of people out to make-believe they’re livin’
Can’t decide who they should be

I value advice from good sources. I think Boston got rich too fast and received unsolicited advice from many druggies wanting $ for their “wisdom”. As for the last two lines, I finally have an inkling about who I am, so I’m very happy about that!

I understand about indecision
But I don’t care if I get behind
People livin’ in competition
All I want is to have my peace of mind

Take a look ahead, take a look ahead.

Look ahead.”

Okay, Boston songwriter Tom Scholz, you’re right.

I’ve been looking back far too much lately…I’ll look ahead for now.

Have a great weekend, my friends!
Rock on,
Dyane
 
Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder will be published by Post Hill Press in Fall, 2017 unless she runs off to join a 70’s cover band.
Unknown

 

 

27 thoughts on “I Could’ve Been A Clapper! (The Tao of Boston)

    1. Great minds think (and clap) alike!! :))))
      I love “More Than a Feeling” – it’s expansive-sounding, kind of ethereal….
      and hearing it brings back my memories of a simpler (yet still wacko) time in the golden 70’s in L.A.

      LOVE your beautiful rainbow manicure, by the way!

      Have a wonderful day and I’ll see you over at Twitter & at your rockin’ blog!
      XOXO Dyane

  1. Lady, a notification of a post from you in my inbox is starred so that I literary ” know no peace of mind” until I read, like and often do it justice with a comment.

    Ok, now Mm just make it clap and shoot on… Too much diplomacy already like am glad to be back in some ‘Now’ given some recent ‘ fuzzy frizzy’ times.

    I enjoy me your post. Am not an old one although I know and heard some ABBA, loving one of their hits DISCO…, an emm lady you ain’t either – 2 scores and 6 or not, period.

    Now to the lyrics, other prolific commenters like Merry, peaches, blahsweet, Kitty and even Ol Vic and co have touched, written and insinuated it all. Let me not fool around and write something to get your youthful new Brain beating itself.

    Simply, you are no rat, neither am I – so no need to join any rat race. Maybe just being our authentic selves is just perfect? Oh lady Just Make it Clap…

    Loads of love all the way by the rivers of… If no one plans on visiting me anymore, I hope your plans still remain… ( grumpy don’t know how to use emos… on this new one too) and just hope this supposed comment of mine doesn’t end up being the epilogue to your post 🙂

    1. I just found this comment of yours, my lovely friend!! Glad I did too!!!!! I’m honored you read my posts at all, I’m serious.

      Oh girl – I got a freaky message from ***X** yesterday. I should email you about this, but it would be a downer of an email. I pray that a miracle happens, but I have no idea what it could be.

      Sigh…..

      In any case, you and I are DEFINITELY not rats, no offense to them or rat fans; I love many animals, but I’m simply not a rat lover. A friend of mine had two of them as pets – we are all so different!!!!! I’ll let Lucy know that you sent her your love, and I send you a big hug!

      XOXOXOXOXO

  2. I was about to say, the present. I don’t know Boston (eeek) but can get it from the lyrics and your comments. I do love Crowded House though. I hate cycling through negatives, my brain gets stuck on those loops too. I hope that talking it out online helped in some way?

    1. If you’re going to listen to a Boston song, listen to “More Than A Feeling” (link is below). 🙂

      I’m a huge Crowded House & Split Enz fan (+ Finn Brothers & any musicians connected to these guys). My husband knew he was marrying a Finn freak when we got together, fortunately!!! I’m so glad you enjoy Crowded House too – you have spectacular taste!

      1. Oh yes, I know this song! They have such a rolling sound. Thanks for sending through the link! (I’m not as uncultured in music as I thought that I was!)

  3. Love me some Boston! I couldn’t help but making a comparison to the SNL skit “more cowbell” and picturing Christopher Walken coming into a studio, talking to you and saying, “I’ve got a fever and the prescription is more clapping!” Actually made me chuckle a bit!

    1. You’re welcome. They aren’t even one of my “Dyane Groupie” bands – wait until I write about a song by a band I’ve actually “stalked”! 😉

  4. I love it. Wisdom from Boston. I swear I mangle the lyrics all the time. Like, in More Than A Feeling, “I See Aunt Marion Walkin’ Awayyyy Aiiiiiieeeeeeeeee” <——— that can't really be what they're saying, right?

    Love the post, peaches. Have a great weekend!!

    1. Oh. My. God. I will never hear “More Than A Feeling” again without thinking about good, ‘ol Aunt Marion!!! That is truly hilarious! Have a good weekend, sweet peach, and know I adore you!

  5. Ah Dearest Honey Pot, perhaps you need look not behind to the past nor ahead to the future, but as your own wisdom glimmers through this post: Look into NOW. “Be here NOW.” What are your authentic feelings? You’ve recognized the brutally competitive nature of the writing world…and so much more. Reread this post. Bask in self-revelation!

    And you’re not ancient approaching 46. Bah! You haven’t even hit your stride yet. The world/culture/medical community have all been slamming you around. A lot. All that can make you feel old.

    If ever, whenever, you feel like exploring another view, start reading this brilliant young man, Charles Eisenstein. http://www.amazon.com/Beautiful-Hearts-Possible-Sacred-Activism/dp/1583947248/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1455907045&sr=1-1&keywords=the+more+beautiful+world+our+hearts+know+is+possible

    A lot of it you’ve known for a very long time.

    Love and hugs,

    Merry

    1. I feel spoiled in getting such wonderful, thoughtful comments from you, Merry, but that’s fine – I can live with it! 😉 I’ll definitely check out the link you so kindly provided! I’m up for exploring another view – and with my third child (a.k.a. my Kindle Fire) I can do that so easily.

      As a double Pisces, I’ve been told many revealing, spot-on insights by my favorite astrologer Risa D’Angeles. I’ve followed her since 1989 or so. I think you might like her style. You can read your astrological info. at her website:

      http://nightlightnews.org

      specifically:

      http://nightlightnews.org/weekly-column-horoscope-feb-18-24-2016/

      I definitely need to be more in the present & I think it would help to journal about my authentic feelings. I got a brand-new beautiful ***journal for just $7 (it’s blue, with a golden moon and stars on the cover – I love it!) but I’m scared to write in it. I used to write in a journal, often daily, for *years*. So that tells me something right there, and the F word (fear) is a big part of that. :00000

      ***** My Celestial Journal
      http://www.peterpauper.com/product_info.php?products_id=5244

      Once again, I want to thank you for going above and beyond in the comments. Even if you were the only person to comment, writing my blog would not be in vain!

      XOXOXOXOXO
      Honey Pot

      1. Risa D’Angeles’ writing complements Eisenstein beautifully…She’s part of the “tribe” to create *the more beautiful world our hearts know is possible.* What lovely web sites…Thank you!

        Your journal is beautiful! Let this be your new definition of ‘FEAR” – Feeling Excited and Ready. I garnered that from a sage in one of the recent documentaries we’ve watched, “Awake in the Dream.”

        http://www.amazon.com/Awake-Dream-Arjuna-Ardagh/dp/B00YOU732A/ref=sr_1_1?s=instant-video&ie=UTF8&qid=1456069539&sr=1-1&keywords=awake+in+the+dream

        As I’ve said many a time, journal writing has been my best life counselor. Perhaps it would help to dedicate or consecrate your new journal to a specific desire/endeavor.

        Much love, many blessings, and deep peace this Sunday and always,

        Merry

    1. Thanks, lovely Super Mommy! I know how much you appreciate good music, and of course I know that you have great taste… (Crowded House, “Don’t Dream It’s Over” etc.) Sending you a big hug!

    1. Queen of the Emojis, thanks! I love your absolutely perfect choices today….thanks, my dear! I’m using my new phone to reply, and I don’t know where the emojis are yet. Yikes! The horror, the horror! 😉 I will find them, I promise! xoxoxo

  6. As someone from New England and 43 years old with an older brother we had Boston playing often in our house. I love that someone else understands the looping of negative thoughts or memories. This is something I go through often. I also take much of my happiness from music. If I’m feeling good and driving I listen to Aerosmith. Specifically “Chip Away The Stone” because it makes me feel confident until I look over next to me at the person sitting at the same red light. They are usually laughing from my seat dancing and belting out the lyrics trying to mimic Steven Tyler’s voice. Hard to do when your speaking voice is often compared to a child’s or a cartoon character! lol Glad to see you are handling everything in a positive way.

    1. Okay, I’ve been thinking of you and meaning to write back much sooner. Like with Merry (previous commenter) I got quite a juicy & lovely comment from you. I can’t tell you how much it means to me that you not only read my post, but took the time to reply.

      One of my closest friends calls that obsessive thinking “looping” and it’s a fitting term. It gets soooooo old, doesn’t it? Let me know if you find any techniques that help you. I know there are all kinds of suggestions but I haven’t figured out anything yet.

      That’s very cool you had Boston on a lot in your house! Nothing wrong with that….

      I got a huge kick out of your Aerosmith driving habit! I wish I could drive alongside you for that performance! 😉 I’m sure Steven Tyler and his bandmates would enjoy your shameless rendition as well. The fact that your speaking voice is often compared to a child/cartoon character’s voice is icing on the cake. I’ve never heard “Chip Away the Stone”, but I’ll give it a listen! Off to find it on YouTube now. Take care & thanks again for writing. :))))))

      1. Steven Tyler is probably the only celebrity I’ve ever truly wanted to meet. He’s written the soundtrack to most of my life. Good and bad. As far as “looping” goes I used to make jewelry until my eyesight started to act up. Now I do the adult coloring books. lol

I'd love to hear from you!

