Rodney-Dangerfield-no-respect

 

Happy Thursday, my friends!

In the wake of the recent Marianne Williamson “just pray and meditate and love postpartum depression away” sh*tstorm, I’d like to share this post with you again. When I published it seven months ago, I tagged it incorrectly and it didn’t reach many people.

I want this information out there…more now than ever before. Yesterday I was rebuffed by a Very Important Bipolar Advocate who doesn’t think my (arguably) least-known form of bipolar disorder and least-known perinatal mood and anxiety disorder matters.

It matters. 

If you reblog this, you’ll get paid! (in good karma! 😉

————–

Since 2013 I’ve abstained from writing this post because I worried it wouldn’t apply or appeal to most of you, even if you have bipolar disorder.

I finally decided to spill the beans.

Why?

Because it feels good, it’s free, and most importantly, there’s the chance this information may be relevant to a reader, maybe even you!

Postpartum bipolar disorder is often ignored or misunderstood by the postpartum and bipolar communities. It helps to know what postpartum bipolar disorder is, exactly, as different definitions are floating around the world.

So here goes – PPBD 101, if you will! 😉

My mood disorder postpartum bipolar disorder (PPBD) is also sometimes referred to as bipolar, peripartum onset in the DSM-5. (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association and widely used by psychiatrists to classify mental disorders.) While I’m currently seeking a more recent statistic, in 2008 it was found in the United States that 29 out of 1000 women were affected by postpartum bipolar disorder.*

Here’s what PPBD is not:

PPBD is NOT postpartum depression (PPD or PND) or antenatal (during pregnancy) depression.

PPBD is NOT postpartum obsessive compulsive disorder. 

PPBD is NOT postpartum anxiety, postpartum panic, or postpartum post-traumatic stress disorder/PTSD. 

PPBD is NOT postpartum psychosis (PPP).  

It’s important to note that postpartum psychosis and postpartum bipolar disorder often manifest together, but postpartum bipolar disorder is NOT always accompanied by postpartum psychosis. 

To reiterate, the two severe mental illnesses PPP and PPBD are NOT always one and the same!

 

Unfortunately medical professionals, websites, and articles are misinforming the public about the correct definitions of PPP and PPBD.  

Most of the time PPBD is omitted from lists of perinatal mood and anxiety disorders (PMAD’s).

This bums me out, especially when these omissions occur on high-traffic websites, which I’ll discuss in Part Two as there’s a twist involved.

Here’s an example of the kinds of errors I encounter:

In order for me to be notified of the latest perinatal mental health research, I created a Google alert for the phrase “postpartum bipolar”. Once in a blue moon I’m alerted about women with PPBD who are profiled in the media, such as this article that popped up last month about an awesome mom named Sarah Hutchison. 

Sarah Hutchinson is someone who fits the PPBD diagnosis bill, and it turns out I know her from my Facebook days.

As cool as journalist Karen Longwell’s “Sarah Hutchison Finds a New Path” article is, the piece contains subtle-yet-erroneous information. Sarah was diagnosed with postpartum bipolar disorder in 2008. Longwell states, “On Mother’s Day, 2010, she was hospitalized and doctors determined she had bipolar disorder, but it was no longer a postpartum illness.”  

Gong!  

Longwell was off the mark. Once a mother is diagnosed with postpartum bipolar disorder, she has bipolar disorder. The “postpartum” qualifier simply explains when the bipolar disorder was triggered.  

A 2013 CTVNews article that got PPBD right was titled “Baby Pinks? Postpartum Euphoria Can Be As Dangerous as Baby Blues“. It contains an interview with a Toronto-based psychotherapist specializing in postpartum mental health named Maya Hammer.

Regarding postpartum hypomania and mania Hammer remarked, “In many women, the condition eventually clears up. But for others, it’s the beginning of a long battle with postpartum bipolar disorder.” 

“Long battle” is an excellent way to put it. 

I’ve suffered with PPBD since 2007 and until there’s a cure, my battle shall continue. I was so glad to find this article, and I wish there were more mainstream articles published with such accurate information.

I was faced with a more significant error a few weeks ago.

I spoke with a local psychiatrist who told me that he considered postpartum bipolar disorder and postpartum psychosis to be the same.  While postpartum psychosis often presents with manic symptoms, which is what makes this all confusing, it’s not always associated with postpartum bipolar.

In other words, I had postpartum mania, but I wasn’t psychotic. The stack of my hospital records delineating my diagnostic codes and symptoms and behaviors backs that up.

Make any sense? I know it’s confusing.

Despite my nine years of PPBD research, after my exchange with the physician, I grew paranoid about my knowledge, so I consulted a doctor and nurse who have studied perinatal mood and anxiety disorders in depth. I couldn’t believe my luck – within just an hour of my contacting these brilliant, busy women, they emailed me substantive, definitive research material supporting that PPP and PPBD can most definitely be two separate conditions.  

In the DSM-5 there is a peripartum onset specifier with bipolar disorder (pp. 152-153 DSM 5). I was emailed a scan of the DSM-5 pages so I could see it for myself. There is no mention of psychosis in the section which includes peripartum onset of bipolar disorder

After my friends came to my rescue, I felt confident enough to email the doctor. I haven’t received a reply yet.

The fact that even perinatal psychiatrists experts aren’t clear about what postpartum bipolar disorder entails is a major reason why I’m writing my book. Part Two of this blog post will further examine about why any of this really matters.

I’ll explain the Postpartum Progress conundrum and throw in an ode to my high school English teacher – it’s all connected. 

Part Two will be published next Thursday – thanks for reading!!

Have an awesome 4th of July!

take care,

Dyane

 

Thanks to my mentor Dr. Walker Karraa and the extraordinary mental health advocate/mom Ann Preston Roselle of Bipolar and Me  for medical research assistance. 

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Walker Karraa (author of  Transformed by Postpartum Depression: Women’s Stories of Trauma and Growthwill be published by Post Hill Press in Fall, 2016. 

*Vesga-López O, Blanco C, Keyes K, Olfson M, Grant BF, Hasin DS

62 thoughts on “My PMAD (Perinatal Mood & Anxiety Disorder) Gets No Respect! Part One

  1. I’ll keep this short…. Because the other comments kind of took over. Lol. Dyane, you’re a force to be reckoned with. Your tenacity is absolutly mesmerizing! The universe chose you for this mission and you’re doing a great job, even though sometimes it feels like you’re screaming at deaf ears.

    You’ve got this.

    And I appreciate being schooled on this.

    Yve

    Xoxoxoxoxox

    1. It’s TEACHER Dyane, my beautiful friend, who shall continue to school y’all!
      I love how you wrote that you appreciate being schooled about this issue!

      Your comments always, always lift my spirits. I will try harder to do the same for you. As I’ve been writing today on some of my fave blogs, please forgive me if I haven’t commented on all your posts over the last 6 or so weeks.

      I’ve been having some serious family issues that have to stay off my blog for now. :(((
      I wish I could write about them because people like you, my lovely Yve, have such a wealth of knowledge and “heart” to share here. I might change my mind at some point and spill the dang beans! We shall see…so yeah, I’ve been off the blogosphere radar for the most part, but I’m going to get back in the game.

      On the brightest of notes, I’m super-excited for YOU – to see you bloom and be happy again; you totally inspire me. Let’s continue to encourage each other. Even though you’re TEN THOUSAND THREE HUNDRED AND EIGHT-FIVE MILES away from me (I checked, ha ha!) you’re in my heart & soul.

      XOXOXOXOX
      Dyane

    1. You have been wonderful!!!!! Please, don’t ever worry *at all* about comments, the likes, RT’s etc. – I sometimes get overwhelmed (like I am now) and I can’t comment anywhere – I have to wait to do it. I do feel guilt,,but I just hope my blogosphere friends understand…I try to like posts just so they know I’m okay and “out here” thinking of them, even if I don’t have the capacity to comment. Hope that makes sense, and BIG BIG THANKS for retweeting – you know that makes me happy! Glad to see you back at your latest post, which I loved!!!! XOXOXOXOXO

    1. Girl, the only reason there are more likes/comments is that this post was edited and it was reblogged from an older post of mine, LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!The target audience remains elusive…. I’m not ready for much yet as far as that public speaking goes either….but hopefully someday! 😉 XOXOXOXO

  2. This was fascinating, Dyane. As you know (I think), I have bipolar 2. The symptoms were there throughout high school and college, but became much, much worse during my first pregnancy. I was finally diagnosed around week 29. Oddly, I did great after my first child was born but had depression/mood swings after the second child. (Thank God for the fabulous Baptist church daycare/preschool that took care of my older daughter full time during those months. It was so comforting to know that she was with stable, loving people during my worst time.)

    When I get my WIP more under control, I may need to pick your brain on the protagonist’s portrayal of her mentally ill (and absentee) mother. The mom has been deemed mentally incompetent by a court of law (though the teenage protagonist doesn’t know that) and is taken care of by a relative. The book is a “letter” from the hurting teen girl to her mom. I want to make certain that the portrayal isn’t too over-the-top or incorrect, though the teen girl is rather unkind in how she addresses her absent mom, as she blames her for her eating disorder. Just don’t want to be incorrect, you know?

    1. I’m FINALLY replying, Laura, can you believe it?

      But before I begin, I wanted to ask you to please forgive me for not commenting on all of your posts over the last couple months. I’ve been having some serious family mental health issues that I *wish* I could blog about, but I can’t because one of my family members reads my blog. Dealing with that situation has drained me and so I stopped reading & commenting on the posts in my WordPress Reader. I know you took a blogging break, and you understand this kind of thing, but I wanted to mention it nonetheless.

      I knew you had bipolar but I forgot if it was 1 or 2. I’m glad you reminded me.That is strange that you were okay after your first child was born but then you had depression & mood swings after your second child. Our systems are so mercurial…In any case, I’m glad that the Baptist daycare was so helpful in a time when you needed that the most!

      I was very honored you took time to read this post and write an insightful comment. You are more than welcome to pick my brain anytime. Your WIP sounds like it will be powerful, appealing to a broad audience, and since it’s YOU writing it, I know it’ll be excellent!!!! (rah rah rah!) 🙂

      My email: dyane@baymoon.com

      keep in touch & I’m going to go do a bit of Laura Droege Blog catch-up!
      take care….Dy

    1. I didn’t have psychosis- that’s the big difference between PPBD and PPP.
      If you have psychosis then you don’t fit into the bipolar, peripartum onset category.

      That was a very good question!!
      Still working on getting the latest BP magazine to you! I promise it WILL happen! XoXo

      1. If you spoke with Lucy (telepathically) she would have a very different opinion of what my mood disorder is. She looks at me quite concerned sometimes when I’m singing wildly out of tune to her, professing my love for her sweet, adorable canine self. I wouldn’t want any psychiatrist to see me like that….. (no offense to anyone reading this – you can’t be 100% serious about this stuff ALL the time!)

      2. So although you can have psychosis with bipolar, you can’t have it with peripartum bipolar. Riiiiight…. That makes…. Well no sense at all.

      3. That’s right! I have a PDF file from the DSM-5 that explains bipolar, peripartum onset which I’ll email you. It simply means that one’s bipolar was triggered by the birth of devil’s spawn, I mean my kids. It’s no more complicated than that. I think.

  3. I cant tell you how relieved I am to read your information and blog. It fits me to a T. I was put on antidepressants first and then other meds. I also had to take meds during my final pregnancy with twins. I have four kids and with each birth I just kept gettig worse. After about 10 years and seeing a great psychiatrist I got the BP diagnosis. It all started with my first child. Its so great to know women are out there educating drs. Etc… when I tell people it was the birth of my children that started it all, they look at me like I have another head. I am so glad I am not alone!!! Keepup the great work.

    1. Thank you so much for writing, Suzanne!!! Your comment made me feel so great!

      You are certainly not alone!

      I’m so glad you found a great psychiatrist – so many people don’t have that, and I know you appreciate it! If people look at you funny when you tell them it started with the birth of your children, then they are fools!!! How rude! :((((( I’m sorry you have to deal with their ignorance on top of their cluelessness.

      I can’t end on that low note – take care, keep in touch, and I send you lots of ((((hugs))))
      XOXOX
      Dyane

  4. Amazing thank you!

    I love learning new things and this was a new thing to learn 🙂

    And this does all line up nicely with my posts and feelings because it is another example of not “fitting” into the DSM until they realize they need to add something for you.

    Another example of you knowing your Bipolar better than the docs.

    We all want to have our dx recognized…we just also want to feel like it is the right one. 🙂
    I am so glad that women with the condition are getting the recognition and respect they deserve …or ya know…closeish

    I am impressed by your level of commitment to your health, and knowledge and other women.

    You rock

    1. I’ve been horrible at replying to comments lately – please forgive my sin!
      Thanks for another wonderful comment – they all lift me up. Woo hoo!
      I just want to find my tribe as well as be part of the larger tribe, if that makes sense.
      I’m so glad we’ve found one another and I look forward to more of your writing & networking/discoveries like Rachel the Actress/Comedienne!

    1. Thank you SO much – you’ve been so kind to me! I apologize profusely for not reading/replying to your comments mentioning your father’s funeral yet, but I will – you’re in my thoughts! Xo

  5. Hey lovely. Great article. You know it has me thinking big time about my own illness. Although I know I had ups and downs through-out my twenties, it was when I had my first child in 2005 that I suffered with Post Natal (as we call it here) and things started changing. I had my second child in 2007 (same as you!) and that’s when my bipolar really took off. I am fascinated by your research. Well done. Look forward to reading more. xxx

    1. Wow, Liza! That’s very interesting to me – I too had ups and downs in my 20’s but nothing compared to later on in my late 30’s as you know. One of the world’s experts (if not THE top expert) on postpartum bipolar disorder, psychiatrist Dr. Varinder Sharma co-authored a paper in 2014 called “, “A prospective Study of Diagnostic Conversion of Major Depressive Disorder to Bipolar Disorder in Pregnancy and Postpartum”. In an interview he said ““If you look at women who get hospitalized for psychiatric reasons within the first couple of weeks after childbirth, a large number of them have bipolar disorder.
      We know childbirth is perhaps the most important and most potent trigger of bipolar disorder. We need to understand why that is the case, what is so unique about childbirth that it’s associated with such high risk,” he continued.
      It’s possible genetic factors, a family history of bipolar disorder, hormonal changes and sleep loss following pregnancy, contribute to the high risk. Sharma and his team will continue to examine these factors, in hopes of better understanding the underlying cause of the increased diagnostic conversion of depression to bipolar disorder in postpartum women. For us to understand bipolar disorder in women, we have really neglected the role of hormonal changes.”

      I’m thrilled that Dr. Sharma and I connected and he’s willing for me to interview him when I’m ready to do so! I’ll keep you posted about what I find out.

      In the meantime, keep me (and everyone else) posted about your book & workbook. I’d love to do a Q&A with you for this blog and feature them here. :)) Keep in touch….sending you hugs from abroad!
      love Dy

  6. Great post and lots of excellent info IMHO, kudos. I think – and that it is a very legitimate concern and apprehension by some who are concerned about the ‘bipolar diagnosis rage’ going on – the issue about labeling (not talking about you – you were clearly diagnosed correctly and have a family history of BP-1) any woman who has an episode of ‘mental incompetence’ post delivery whether it include actual psychosis or just elevated uncontrollable mood state that is diagnosed as a manic state as bipolar is a very serious issue.

    And it is legitimate to think it may be tempory due to a drug reaction (huge issue you are not considering), temporary systemic issue from childbirth or (zillion factors we could add here) other possible cause. To NOT diagnose immediately and automatically a woman post childbirth who has an episode of elevated mood, etc. with a lifelong sentence of bipolar disorder is valid I think. Valid and excellent.

    Bipolar illness takes time to diagnose. Some will get better and their lives ‘go back to normal’ after a short stint of out of control hormones/chemicals in the brain; whatever prompted the unsual experience. You have to start researching medications and their side effects – you may be unpleasantly surprised to discover many have anxiety, hypomania, etc. as a SIDE EFFECT. The condition is iatrogenic, not hereditary and permanent. It may remit on its own, and the person should not be subjected to thinking they have a permanent condition, have to take tons of meds to treat it, etc.

    My thoughts, you know I am a hard-arse about this stuff and think much of what is going on needs to be changed (same as many others) but this is excellent for you to follow-up on, just PLEASE keep an open mind that all the ‘medical’ ‘psychiatric’ info out there may not be as clear cut as it seems, and those who may seem to be going against what you think should be set in stone are actually bringing to light science that is misleading and without merit. It’s complicated stuff.

    Ok, I’m blabbling. Had to come check out your blog – just got bounced for writing a bipoar blog (won’t mention names) on a website so bummed out. Shit pay, but needed the exposure for my writers’ platform. Sigh. The person was rude as well, a well-known bipolar blogger with BP-2 so I am sure it was partly a not wanting competition and alternative thinking, as BP-2 is in many cases serious depression that has not been treated successfully – or a personality disorder, not actual bipolar illness. Hypomania from taking antidepressants is not bipolar illness, it is an iatrogenic condition due to the fact the depression was not successfully treated.

    Now rambling LOL!!! Ok, hope my venting helped a bit. hugs

    1. Oh Molly, you’re not babbling at all and you had an excellent point about the fact that a med could cause a new mom to become manic or depressed & not have bipolar per se. There could be other reasons as well.

      It’s a slippery slope as far as bipolar diagnosis is concerned. It was totally obvious what was going on with me within 24 hours of Rilla’s debut, but due to medical ignorance I slipped through the cracks. I had no meds in my system….so that was a non-issue.

      Anyhoo, there needs to be a definitive way to diagnose bp. If our society could send people to the %^%*^& moon, if only a tiny but of that kind of focus/$/etc. was spent on figuring how to definitively diagnose bipolar disorder, we have a test that works. Hell, we’d have a cure!!!! I know it sounds woo woo but I honestly believe that!

      I’m so, so sorry about what happened with the bipolar-2 blog. :(( That SUCKS the person was rude! No call for that! Keep trying with other websites – don’t let the meanies get you down. I’m processing something weird & disturbing that happened to me over the weekend on the internet. I won’t name names either because I think the person who freaked me out for no reason is extremely mentally ill, possibly psychotic. I told my husband about him so Craig knows who it is. It’s the downside of the internet.

      I send you good juju to get past it, and send me some back, will you?

      Thanks again for taking time to write a thoughtful and insightful comment, Mol.
      Sorry that I’m not addressing everything in your post – if I get a chance later I’l come back to it. And thanks for stopping by and for your kind words too!
      XO
      Dy

      1. Thank you amiga I needed some good juju and back at ya! Yes, Internet stuff is great yet strange at times, I’ve become more cautious too and I think that’s a good thing – so many awesome bloggers to connect with, and most of those folks like us are good people. hugs & get writing… your audience awaits… 🙂

        p.s. thank you for saying you’ll pass on a few books when I get it in paperback (only issue is really tight with cash, even $150 extra is a chunk at the moment I have to think carefully about) to your bp group – helps me be motivated to get it done!

  7. Thank you, Dyane, for bringing to light postpartum bipolar disorder, and the diagnostic quagmire and confusion that exists even among postpartum mental health experts. I was not diagnosed bipolar until over two years postpartum. I breastfed for 27 months until I was diagnosed bipolar and medicated for it. Before that point, I had been diagnosed as depressed (dysthymic). Hormones, extended hippyish breastfeeding (my son just loved it and I am a total pushover for that kid), and the stress of caring for a young child no doubt pushed me over the edge into definitive, diagnosable mania. Before motherhood (and even after becoming a mother), I was simply a workaholic who was sensitive to antidepressants.

    1. I love that word “quagmire” – I’d get a kick out of using it in Part 2. I’m so glad you used it!!!

      And that’s exactly what it is, Kitt. Because PPBD is my “field”, if you will (although I ain’t no doctor, that’s for sure) I keep finding stuff on the web that shows how our trusted psychiatrists, some of them female, are clueless about PPBD.I’ve been following one of them on Twitter for a while – she’s a very expensive, immaculately groomed, media saavy, gorgeous New York female psychiatrist, and out of curiosity I checked out her website. She has a postpartum mood disorder page and the word “bipolar” wasn’t on it, although psychosis was, at least.

      I don’t despise these doctors for their ignorance, hey – if I didn’t have PPBD I wouldn’t know about it either, but then again, I’m not a shrink.

      Technically according the medical literature I’ve reviewed, there are different definitions about postpartum bipolar as to when it appears – in other words, if a mom has it appear anytime from childbirth up to to 12 months, that’s one range, but I’ve read of shorter ranges, i.e. the first 12 weeks postpartum. More confusion to the mix! Oh well. I’ll keep on keepin’ on. Isn’t that a Brady Bunch song? Thanks for commenting and much love to you! p.s. you were *amazing* to breastfeed for 27 months – just another example of how great a mom you’ve been to your son. Thanks for sharing your experience in a nutshell too. And oh, if you check out this link, it will bring bak memories if you also were a fan like yours truly….they were such dorks!

      1. Yep. I probably had bipolar all along, and the diagnostic criteria had to change. But I do believe that the stress of hormone changes, exhaustion, and extended breast-feeding added to the mix.

  8. You go Dyane! Sometimes the experts need our expert advice and opinions! After all, we are the ones with the most experience! I had postnatal depression which brought on bd, so I suppose you could say I had ppbd too! Really is a killer! Great read, lots of info… keep up that research and never been afraid to stand up for what you believe. We can change the world, one view at a time eh!!

    1. Aww, thank you so much!!! I now post once a week and will move forward with part two next Thursday and I won’t hold back! 😉 It’s wonderful to hear from you and I’m glad I spotted your comment at our friend Blahpolar’s today. I’ll be getting up to speed by checking out your recent posts, and most importantly I’m so very glad you’re writing again! :))) Thanks for the 4th of July good wishes as well. :))))

  9. Dyane I have never had children. But your post shows how the understanding of mental illness, even by those who are supposed to be the experts, is sorely lacking. Bravo for a well thought out explanation!

    1. Thank you, Leslie, for your comment! I don’t mean to “diss” the experts (well, maybe a little bit! 😉 but I can’t bury my head in the sand (oh, how funny – my autocorrect function just replaced the word “sand” with “sane”! Is that a Freudian slip? I’d like to bury my head in the sane too!!) about this either.

      Believe me, I’ve tried. Your kind words brightened up my morning. Thanks so much, and please come back next Thursday if you can, as I’ll present part 2 and try to make it shorter. Have a wonderful 4th of July!

    1. Thank you Sharon!! Who knows – perhaps there are even more obscure forms of bipolar, but this one is up there with them! I think what unnerved me the most was to have a perinatal psychiatrist unclear about the concept; perhaps she was misquoted by her assistant, or maybe she misunderstood my question. I don’t know, but I hope they respond to my latest email since they invited me to write them back! Thanks again for reading and for your lovely encouragement. That never gets old! 😉 Plus it’s always a treat to hear from you. Happy 4th of July to you and yours and hope you check back for Part 2, which I’ll attempt to make less wordy! (Famous last words!)

  10. There’s a lot of misinformation regarding Bipolar disorder in general (the different types) and then to get into the postpartum part of it, well, people who haven’t been there get confused. I had bipolar I before pregnancy but it was maintained fairly well until after the birth of my twins when mania kicked in and I became SuperMommy! jk I strongly suspect that had I NOT known I had bipolar before, I would have been diagnosed with Post Postpartum Psychosis (just because my mania has paranoid tendencies)

    But, yes, clarifications and classifications need to be established and understood better.

    1. Hello my Supermommyofadorableoneyearoldtwins!

      I *wish* I knew I had latent bipolar before I was pregnant…..oh well, can’t go back, right?

      And you’re absolutely correct about how much misinformation exists about bipolar disorder. Thank God you knew you had bipolar before you were pregnant! I hope that more information gets circulated amongst the postpartum and bipolar circles about PPBD because if I had been screened for mental health during my pregnancy, then perhaps (just maybe) I wouldn’t have been hospitalized 7 times and most significantly, my family wouldn’t have been traumatized so much…sigh….

      Anyway, thanks for reading, my dear. You understand this issue on so many levels, as well as having such empathy regarding how our fathers both suffered with bp.

      I hope you and your family have a wonderful 4th of July!!! XOXO

    1. Girl, after reading your latest post on The Lithium Chronicles, you are the BRAVEST gal I know! Wow! I know you saw that novella comment I wrote because I was totally impressed with you and your Mom. Much love to you!!!!! XOXOX

    1. Thanks Vic!!! I’m going to keep on sticking’ – check back next Thursday for my part 2, which won’t be as long.. I promise…well, maybe! 😉

I'd love to hear from you!

