How to Spoil a Vacation in Two Easy Steps!

 

This clip shows Lucy’s canine calm before her storm. Once she was released from her leash, my collie ran around in circles nearing the speed of light, jumping up every few feet in wild abandon!

 

How to Spoil a Vacation in Two Easy Steps!

1/ Hang out with your children (who each recently had garden variety colds) the week before taking off for your trip. 

2/ Pick up an icky germ en route to your destination, perhaps when you stopped in that dodgy gas station restroom. The nasty germ will make you sneeze from your nether regions. Ewwwww!

(Yes, according to one of my favorite bloggers Blahpolar Blue, Interrupted I’m the Queen of T.M.I. and I concur with her.)

 

Now that I’m feeling much better, my trip isn’t spoiled anymore. (I just like to be a sensationalist drama queen in my post titles.)

I wasn’t that sick, but I was miserable. It wasn’t fun for my family to be stuck with me in our small cabin as a foot of snow poured down on Monday. They wisely kept their distance as best as they could. 

Now we’re having a mellow time. The girls are playing in the snow every few hours building snow penguins. They’ve been watching scintillating episodes of My Little Pony, Craig has been playing his guitar, and I’ve been Netflix-binging on Scandal and Game of Thrones. (I have no shame!) 

I also learned something fascinating, albeit freaky, about this area’s history. Craig, an engineering geologist, researched that Lake Tahoe was home to a seiche, or lake-bound tsunami, 40,000 years ago.

I have a deep-seated fear of tsunamis (You can read about it in Earthquakes & Tsunamis of the Soul and How to Move On.)  Craig found a physics-based computer simulation of a Lake Tahoe mega-tsunami (seiche is the correct term, but the video uses “tsunami”) that’s amazing. The simulation’s description says, “The tsunami parented from a massive landslide on the Lake’s west side”.

Guess where we are? Yep – the west side!

This clip is only a couple minutes long, and I think you’ll find it interesting too:

 

Tomorrow we visit magnificent Squaw Valley to do some last-minute holiday shopping. It’s always a hoot to go there. Great beauty attracts money, and almost everyone but us oozes big bucks.They walk around in fancy ski ensembles; many of them have dogs by their side whose ski ensembles are far nicer than mine!

We’re most likely much happier than they are, right? 😉 Money can’t buy you everything!

Squaw Valley itself is stunning. It was the site for the 1960 Winter Olympics, and apart from its history, there’s something in the air here which I love that’s ineffable.

I have fond memories of Squaw reaching back to 2005 when Avonlea was a baby. I walked around The Village at Squaw Valley with cooing Avi strapped to my chest in her baby wrap. This unforgettable time was back in my pre-bipolar diagnosis days, and I strolled around the shops and paths having no idea what lay in store for our family. 

Now I feel, in a sense, that when I return to Squaw Valley I’ve come full circle. Up here among the lake and snow-covered mountains I remind myself that bipolar disorder wasn’t able to destroy me. It wasn’t able to keep me away from enjoying this beauty.

Take that, bipolar!

For those of you who love all things Disney, Walt Disney himself designed the opening and closing ceremonies for the 1960 Squaw Valley Winter Olympics. Disney also used the rock formations from Squaw as his inspiration for the Big Thunder Mountain Railroad. Very cool!

evening-at-squaw

Me & the girls on an old chairlift at The Village at Squaw Valley, 2013

So that’s all the news that’s fit to blog. Now that I’m over my creeping crud, please stay tuned for some Tahoe adventures – if nothing happens, I promise to make something up!

Have a great Wednesday, and remember to breathe during this stressful time.

love, Dyane

 

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Walker Karraa (author of Transformed by Postpartum Depression: Women’s Stories of Trauma and Growth) will be published by Post Hill Press in 2017.

Unknown

 

 

23 thoughts on “How to Spoil a Vacation in Two Easy Steps!

    1. I *still* have the freaking cough, Nina! 😦 But it’s much better thank goodness. Happy belated birthday – I hope you had a wonderful day!!!!! take care & happy New year, Dyane

    1. Ha ha ha, Vic!

      Okay, I’ll check back with you about your new mission, which I support wholeheartedly & wholenetherly – perhaps you could blog about it. You could make it into a challenge for your fellow bloggers to artfully weave the phrase into a conversation, LOL!

      “The Netherland Challenge” 😱

  1. Butt sneezes!!!! BWAHAHAHA! But did your husband wipe your arse? Aaaaaaahahahahaha!!!

    I love you so much Fry-Fry ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️💩💩💩💩💩

    1. I’m so happy you liked that video too!!! I wish you could have heard Craig’s comments about it – he really added a lot of info. that I wish they included. Anyway, thanks again, honey. Love love love you!

  2. Dyane,
    If you have to get ill at least you have the good taste to do it in a winter wonderland. Stay well now and enjoy the glorious beauty of Tahoe.
    Watch Lucy!
    Merry Christmas to my great son in/ law and grandchildren.
    Love your writing! Granny Phia🎵

    1. A belated thanks and I hope you’re having an incredible time abroad this very minute, Samina!!! By the way, we went skating at Northstar yesterday and there were lots of people on the rink, but we were the only ones (aside from one kid) who wore helmets!!!! I couldn’t believe it!!!! I spoke with a really nice staff member and he said last week someone fell and got a concussion and they had to clear the ice rink (I guess for emergency services?) but he agreed with me that we were wise to protect our heads. I saw some nasty spills there and Marilla and I fell a few times and she had one semi-close call in terms of her head being too near that ice for my comfort. :0000000 Thanks for inspiring me to be careful, honey!

      1. Yaaay that you all wire helmets. And so glad no injuries. I’m having a wonderful full time in Pakistan. Problems with posting though, so I’ll just have to post when I get back. You take care of yourself and your two precious girls. Xxxooo

      1. I’m going to patent it! 😉 XOXOX Thanks for the comment – I’m stoked you enjoyed it. Will catch up on your blog post this week – I retweeted it!!!

I'd love to hear from you!

