Two Concussions in One Day

Yesterday was weird.

Let me back up.

I live up in the Santa Cruz Mountains where the wild banana slugs roam, and every day is a little bit weird.

Unknown

 

But yesterday was weirder than usual.

After taking the kids to school (and only having one road rage-ish tizzy fit -a personal best!), I returned home to read the latest post by my friend Samina Raza of the award-winning Bipolar1Blog. 

Samina wrote about her first time ice skating. Her post was accompanied by a pictorial, which started out showing happy, beautiful scenes of Samina on the ice, and a video, but then it turned into something very different.  

Interestingly enough, Samina’s adventure wasn’t all gloom ‘n doom. While she took a spill and suffered a concussion, something else happened that day that was good – you need to read her post “went Ice Skating” to believe it!

I never would’ve guessed what happened to Samina in a zillion years. I want what she got, but I wouldn’t want to do what she did to get it!

(Say that 10 times fast!)

 

imgres

 

A couple hours later I waited at the elementary school to pick up my girls. Craig called me to let me know that a good friend of ours had fallen that morning. He cracked some bones in his neck and was at the hospital; those were the only details Craig knew so far.

The news of my friends’ concussions gave me pause. 

Sabina mentioned that she wasn’t wearing a helmet, but promised she’d  definitely put one on the next time she goes to the rink. I’m so proud of her wanting to go skating again!

My other friend got his concussion from simply skipping a step on the staircase – we all do that sometimes, don’t we? His accident could happen to any of us.

These two incidents tie into my last post Always Waiting for the Other Shoe to Drop. For much of yesterday, I felt like a Payless Shoesource store could drop on me, but today the paranoid feeling is subsidingI’m slowing down a bit, driving extra-carefully, and de-hunching whenever I catch myself with my shoulders almost hitting my ears. Oh, and I’m trying my damndest not to hold my breath, a nasty, longtime habit of mine…

imgres

 

My eight-year-old has third grade “mental math” homework in which she has to figure out the problems in her little noggin. Instead of mental math I’ve begun to do a little bit of “mental gratitude” list in my head. Yes, I’m lazy. I was always too lazy to do a gratitude list – don’t tell Oprah! But thinking about it certainly counts. 

Yesterday served as a wake-up call to appreciate what I have right now.

I can’t end this post without making a reference to one of my all-time favorite bands Crowded House. Their hit song Four Seasons in One Day contains lyrics that beautifully express how we never know what will happen, even in this age of psychic superstars and satellite weather systems.

Below is a link to a gorgeous video of Four Seasons in One Day. This was the first Crowded House video to be made in New Zealand. Auckland director Kerry Brown and film producer Bruce Sheridan wanted to emphasise the surreal, fantasy elements of the song, using distinctly NZ imagery. Locations included beaches and dense bush of the South Island’s West Coast, the plains of Central Otago and the Victorian architecture of Oamaru. Scenes of an Anzac Day ceremony and marching girls also highlight the homeland setting. Kerry Brown took inspiration from Salvador Dali paintings for the psychedelic effects added in post-production.

Check it out!

And please…stay safe, my friends. 

Love, Dyane

It doesn’t pay to make predictions
Sleeping on an unmade bed
Finding out wherever there is comfort there is pain
Only one step away
Like four seasons in one day

http://www.nzonscreen.com/title/four-seasons-in-one-day-1992

 

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Walker Karraa (author of Transformed by Postpartum Depression: Women’s Stories of Trauma and Growth) will be published by Post Hill Press in 2017.

Unknown

 

17 thoughts on “Two Concussions in One Day

    1. Hey lovely Lady T! Thanks for stopping by & saying hi — welcome back!!! 🙂 I’m going offline for 2 weeks just as you come back (staying at a remote place without internet or anyone else’s signal to tap into) but I’ll be around more in the New Year. sending you hugs!

    1. Thanks so much, Anne – I’ve heard very positive things about the Black Dog Institute & I will check out the link. In the meantime, I’m sending you and your daughter my very best, Dyane

  1. I’m so glad you’re processing these events using gratitude. Being intentional about being thankful is so healthy for you mentally and can help you stay focused on existing positivity rather than possible negativity.

    1. Thanks, Kitt – I swear, for one moment I was jealous of her fall for the anxiety-reason alone, but only for a split-second. I wonder what exactly caused the anxiety to skedaddle, and I hope it’s still gone! I’m going to touch base with Samina soon! Sending you love, thinking of you…..our friend I wrote about here not only suffered the concussion, but a stroke as well (which very well may have caused his fall) – he’s a wonderful, very active (i.e. frequent dancing, golfing, schleppiing & caring for his 2 grandchildren around almost daily as a second parent) older man, and I’m praying he makes it through still able to function.

    1. Thanks again, sweetie & you’re so welcome!! I almost asked you for your permission to reblog, but then I figured you’d be okay with it! 😉 You’ve always been so generous and I think your post will convince others to wear helmets when they go ice skating and not be complacent!!!! love you too!

I'd love to hear from you!

