“Just The Way You Are”- Dyane Serenades Lucy the Collie

 

I can’t thank you enough for the comments regarding yesterday’s post “Just When Things Are Getting Better, Here Comes Death”. I’ll respond to them over the next couple days. 

This morning, unexpectedly alone in the house with Miss Lucy, I decided to record a tidbit to share with you. Annie at Gentle Kindness encouraged me to share anything Lucy-related; she understands how important our animal friends are. 

I felt a Billy Joel love song was fitting for my sweet furry beast. I was a Billy Joel fan at a young age, and listened to his Glass Houses album incessantly. I was thrilled that the producers of “Bosom Buddies”, one of my favorite TV shows, used Billy Joel’s “My Life” as its theme song.

My Mom loves the Billy Joel classic “Just The Way You Are” and I do too, even though it’s schmaltzy. When I was ten-years-old and learning how to play piano, I could only play the first few stanzas of “Just The Way You Are”. I played that bit over and over and over again, which annoyed the shit out of my L.A. Philharmonic violinist father, as you can imagine. 😉

Here I spare you that kind of annoyance; I only sing the first stanza, so this will be brief. I love how Lucy reacts with the longest dog tongue stretch I’ve ever seen (you’ll see) This sweet hound is so tolerant of my off-key attempt to serenade her, not to mention my nasty java breath.

I hope you like this video!

be extra-good to yourselves, and remember I love you just the way you are!

Dyane

——–

“Just The Way You Are” by Billy Joel

Don’t go changing, to try and please me
You never let me down before
Don’t imagine you’re too familiar
And I don’t see you anymore
I would not leave you in times of trouble
We never could have come this far
I took the good times, I’ll take the bad times
I’ll take you just the way you are
Don’t go trying some new fashion
Don’t change the color of your hair
You always have my unspoken passion
Although I might not seem to care
I don’t want clever conversation
I never want to work that hard
I just want someone that I can talk to
I want you just the way you are.
I need to know that you will always be
The same old someone that I knew
What will it take ‘till you believe in me
The way that I believe in you.
I said I love you and that’s forever
And this I promise from my heart
I couldn’t love you any better
I love you just the way you are.

 

Dyane’s book Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Walker Karraa (Transformed by Postpartum Depression: Women’s Stories of Trauma and Growth) will be published by Post Hill Press in 2017.

 

 

24 thoughts on ““Just The Way You Are”- Dyane Serenades Lucy the Collie

    1. Awww, Lydia, I’m so sorry you’ve been suffering and I hope it lifts ***today***!!!!! I’m happy that you got a little kick out of “Just the Way You Are”. I’m going to listen to “Glass Houses” on YouTube today (because I lost my record player & albums ha ha) and I’ll dedicate those songs to you! Much love, Dyane

      1. Thanks, Dyane, much appreciated! I loved Glass Houses – probably his best work. I lost all my albums in a flood. However, I got a 4 CD set that includes all of his songs plus some live university concerts where he talks about the origins of a few of his songs. I AM feeling better from the depression so the song must have helped 🙂

    1. Thanks – I know it’s ridiculous, but I had just found out before I taped that video I didn’t have to do something I was dreading, and I felt goofy with relief! I love Lucy – in the next song I sing to her (if I subject you to that!) you’ll see more of her lovely face! And less of my puffy one!

    1. XOXO Thank you!!!!! I wish I could take her everywhere with me! Despite her, um, slight aggression challenges which have made me sometimes refer to her as “Cujo”!
      😦

  1. Zomg I almost peed myself laughing. No idea why, but the entire thing played at way, way less than normal speed. You sounded like a slightly confused and drunk man, stuck in a well with a bucket over his head. When the song began I snorted coffee from my nose. I’m going to try again in a bit, I’m too busy laughing at the version I just heard. Thanks Fry I really needed that.

    1. I would donate $20.00 to the charity of your choice if I could see a video of you snorting coffee from your nose!!!!! Loved your comment – hilarious – and I wonder why it played slower for you, but I’m glad it did!!!!!!

      1. I just read your comment out loud to Lucy & Avi – sorry I didn’t put a link to your blog in the post. I can if you like! Happy to do it, although you’re quite the superstar now – Stephen Fry might be willing to do a Blahpolar Diaries Q & A if you ask him very politely and perhaps send him a nice South African tea blend.

      2. What did Lucy say about it? And I have no idea what you mean about putting my link in your post. Stephen Fry has been here a few times, I think. Here being the country, not my house.

      3. Ok, stopping at these lady, em do you think I should give it a try? Not the snort but the listening 🙂
        And oh by the way, how much u think u can donate for a charity of my choice? em if I… 🙂

    2. Lucy didn’t have much to say – she has been very mellow today and indulged her wacky mistress. Re: your link – Oh, I just meant I’d mention your name in the post somehow (since I speak to you in the video) and link to your blog. Hope that makes sense.

      As far as Stephen Fry being in S.A., not in your house…he missed out meeting the one and only Blahpolar D. & S.!

      1. Ohhhh, I couldn’t hear anything properly when the dude with the bucket was doing the voice over. Bizarrely, it keeps happening when I play it here, but is perfectly normal over at youtube. ARE YOU SURE YOU’RE NOT HYPO? Hehehe, loved it. My first namecheck in a music video. You have a lovely voice and Lucy is so beautiful and affectionate. Very cool, Fry. And nah you definitely don’t need to add my link. It was an honour just being nominated. Your videos are a lot of fun.

I'd love to hear from you!

