Catamaran Saturday Part One – Wish You Were Here!


IMG952015081595084612654

Evidently Lucy had a puppy named “Joey” at Lake Tahoe while I’ve been down here at the glorious Catamaran Writers Conference.

I continued having fun, feeling excited, exhausted, anxious, scared, embarrassed and exhilarated yesterday at the Catamaran Writers Conference in Pebble Beach.

At least I woke up Saturday morning having slept much better than the previous night. That was a total miracle – 25 mg of Seroquel had something to do with it (a PRN) and I’m glad I had it with me. 

Upon waking up there was no lollygagging. At 7:00 a.m. I made my pilgrimage to the dining hall – that’s when they started serving Peet’s coffee. I didn’t put on a stitch of makeup, my hair looked like a bird’s nest, and I smelled like one who has sweated a great deal and really needs a shower. Keep in mind that at this conference I’m mingling with bestselling authors. But no matter – I let my vanity fall to the wayside and put on my favorite T-shirt perfect for this conference + jeans & flip flops:

Unknown-2

I plunked myself down at a table with two mugs of brew with a dash of almond milk. All for me. (The mugs here are pathetically lilliputian.) Another attendee joined me named Emily, a poet. She was one of the first people I chatted with on Day One at breakfast so she was a familiar face. After we ate, I noticed she was knitting a scarf with pretty, autumn-hued, multicolored scraps. When I commented on how cool it was and I inquired who she was making it for, she said, “I’ll make it for you!” I was floored. Here it is – sorry for the blurry photo: 

Photo on 8-15-15 at 7.23 AM

Meanwhile, my girls and their best friends were at Lake Tahoe and along with a bunch of joke texts about poo, they texted me a photo of what they call The Lip. They use The Lip when begging me and Craig for candy and toys. It actually doesn’t pull at my heartstrings at all – I’m tough to manipulate…unless they threaten to do a public temper tantrum, but The Lip makes me laugh:

IMG_20150815_092537820 

I need to go shower now, so I’ll be writing Part Two (which will describe the reading I gave last night at the Stevenson School’s Big Theater in front of conference attendees and instructors/authors) later on, but I’ll close with a couple things:

One of my most spectacular cases of diarrhea mouth/sycophantism took place with my new favorite author,  Jane Vandenburgh. Check out her Wiki bio. When I looked at it I was a little impressed. Maybe you don’t know who she is either, but one of her closest friends (who she affectionately refers to as Annie) is Anne Lamott, author of Bird by Bird etc. For those of you who don’t know “Annie” – well, she’s ginormously famous in the book world and Bird by Bird is one of the most renowned writing books ever. She wrote the introduction to Jane’s new book Architecture of the Novel – A Writer’s Handbook.

51UsDALCEOL._SX353_BO1,204,203,200_

So yes, while I haven’t read Jane’s books yet (despite her being my new favorite author) take a look at the cover of her book The Wrong Dog Dream – a true romance. She had me at the cover. I bought it at the book faire.51L8kGRDNVL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Stay tuned on how I behaved in front of her when she signed this book for me. I’m glad it’s not on YouTube.

I can’t wait to tell you more about the day, but a shower/Peet’s coffee is more important right now. Excuse my typos – I’m not going to re-read this but just post it with all the boo boo’s intact. Forgive me.

Please know that I miss you & your reecnt posts, my beloved blogger pals. I still haven’t read any blogs you’ve written lately, very few tweets (right, V.?) and hardly any emails while here. This is shocking.

Your comments over the past few days have made me feel so good. A number of Catamaran attendees don’t blog, although in the p.r./marketing seminars the teachers are saying “You must have a platform for your book! You MUST blog! Blog, dammit, blog!”

I’ve shared with other attendees about how wonderful it is to have this blog because of YOU – your posts, your encouragement, the camaraderie between us all in the blogosphere. So thanks for reading, and I’ll “see” you soon. 

Wish you were here with me, maybe next year?

XOXO Dyane

Someone is having fun in Tahoe….

IMG952015081495191021377

17 thoughts on “Catamaran Saturday Part One – Wish You Were Here!

    1. Hey there!!!! You’re back! I’ve missed you! Thanks so much for catching up on my blog and for the lovely, lovely comment. I wasn’t brave at all – I was a total wimp, but that’s okay. I wish you to have a similar experience because you’d love it. You’d rock it too.

      1. I’m glad that you’re glad that I’m back 😉

        And yes you are brave. That’s my story and I’m stickin’ with it!! I WILL FIGHT YOU, DYANE! Ok just a little drama to make up for lost time 🙂

    1. When I read your comment I started singing “The Time of My Life” from Dirty Dancing…couldn’t help it. I hope we get the chance to go to a BlogHer together or some other cool conference! If I had nothing to do, and you had nothing to do (ha!) I’d ask you to produce one with me. Xo

    1. Oh mental mommy, to think I was totally regretting signing up for it the morning I had to drive there. Life is so weird. (At least in this case it was great-weird!) Thanks so much for your awesome support.

      (((hugs))) from Dyane

      1. You are most welcome! I love hearing how you are breaking the limits that bipolar tries to set on us. You are inspiring to me. Plus, I am secretly living vicariously through your experiences with the writing conference!!! And I told my husband about your idea for a Mental Mommies blogger conference!

      2. I’m so honored!!! You made this gal’s day! I’m also thrilled you spoke with your husband about the blogger conference idea! I spoke with BlogHer yesterday and they don’t have another one for a year from now (well, they have a foodie one coming up but I’m not interested) – maybe you could plan one? ;))))))))

  1. Knitting at a writer’s conference!!! This is when you know you’re in Hell! They trick you with a bunch of famous writers, then…BAM!! Someone threatens you with knitting!!

    1. This cracked me up, V. I’m still feeling quite lost without Twitter but I’ll get back into the swing of things. It’s always healthy to take a break…..and I appreciate it more when I return. I told everyone at that conference how cool Twitter is – it still is not as popular as Freakbook.

I'd love to hear from you!

