Singin’ My Song “More Than Bipolar”

 

“More Than Bipolar” by Dyane Leshin-Harwood

I don’t know – why should I care? 

About all the times that life was unfair

It’s so different now, I need to let it all go

Or else I’m gonna blow

So don’t call me bipolar ’cause it’s not my name

Can’t you see I’m a person –  there is no shame

And we have stigma that’s to blame…

I’m more than bipolar 

I’m more than bipolar

It hurts sometimes

And I feel all alone

What can I do?

Don’t want to pick up the phone

Time to break a sweat, cause this mood’s not over yet

And all you need to know…

Don’t call me bipolar ’cause it’s not my name

Can’t you see I’m a person, there is no shame

And we have stigma that’s to blame

I’m more than bipolar

I’m more than bipolar

 

Dyane’s memoir Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder with a foreword by Dr. Walker Karraa (Transformed by Postpartum Depression: Women’s Stories of Trauma and Growth) will be, fingers & toes crossed, published by Post Hill Press in Fall, 2016.

32 thoughts on “Singin’ My Song “More Than Bipolar”

    1. Thanks so much – perhaps I’ll pen a song called “Rodential” next! God knows I have plenty to sing about when it comes to those fiends – they continue to haunt my sleep with their squeaks and rustlings & mega-nasty droppings.

      Remember how much I despise spiders? There’s a great Alice Cooper song called “Black Widow” I’ve heard a zillion times. I wonder if you’ve ever listened to it. It’s educational and it even comes with a soliloquy by Vincent Price.The entire “Welcome to My Nightmare” album is pretty amazing. Check this out:

    1. Lucy said she’ll call you after she has her asscial.

      Asscials are the newest thing on the west coast of California. They’re the rage at all the finest doggie day care spas.

      In a complete asscial, the dog’s rear is bathed in soothing, aromatic essences, massaged with mellow, anti-separation anxiety music flowing in the background, and the fur is trimmed into the latest canine style.

      Re: Singing

      Someday I very well may surprise you and sing that revised Tina Turner tune. If I still drank I’d belt it out tonight for you, but alas, I’l never touch a drop of Satan’s Rectum Juice as long as I’m taking my beloved MAOI.

      love ya!
      FRYANE

  1. Dyane, can I link to your video (or post your video) on my blog? I’ve written a blog post that corresponds with your message, about how we shouldn’t define ourselves by what society tells us (though we often do).

      1. Great! I’m scheduling it for this coming Monday; it’ll publish around 8 am Central time. I’m trying to get a head start on blog posts because school is starting on Wednesday and I’m starting work on Draft #2. 🙂

      2. I think you have enough on your plate! 😉 I look forward to reading (and of course promoting) the post next Monday & once again many thanks! Good luck with Draft #2!!!

    1. Thank you SO much for this awesome comment – sorry to be so late in replying! If there was a (much) cooler sounding word for bipolar, I wouldn’t get so defensive! 😉 I actually prefer “manic depression” but as you know it’s archaic despite it being Dr. Kay Redfield Jamison’s favored term as well!

    1. A belated thank you to my lovely friend Samina! I still can’t get over how beautiful, adorable & amazing those photos of you & the baby tiger are!!!!!! My daughter Avonlea raved over them too. XOXO

  2. Love it! I particularly appreciate the message. Bipolar doesn’t define me, either! Isn’t it interesting how many times we allow something like a mental illness (or disability, or whatever) to define us? So many people need to hear your message. Keep singing, Dyane!

      1. You have a beautiful voice, Dy! AND you can play guitar (among many other wonderful things). You truly are bursting at the seams with talent. I love it!

        Thank you so much for your kind words. Yay! I like that, “Ode to the Toad,” haahaha! I’m so glad you enjoyed my buddy! Thanks for telling me so. Hugs and warm thoughts sent your way, my friend! ❤

I'd love to hear from you!

