collagelimebraincrop-e1426963798815

Hi my friends, & happy Friday!

I’m reblogging Still in the Closet About Depression because Plucky You is an awesome blog containing OUTSTANDING posts! The blogger, a professional writer/editor, is incredibly talented. This plucky one’s articles have been published in some absolutely amazing places that I’d like to share, but I need to get permission first! 😉

Please tell your friends to follow Plucky You and take a look at the Plucky Books section; it’s one of my favorite mood disorder-related compilations. 

I have no idea what I’ll be blogging about next week except for the fact it won’t be about postpartum bipolar disorder and it will be short, i.e. under 600 words. I promise. (Famous last words!)

No, really, between the PPBD posts and my book, I need a little break from bipolarland. (We all do!)

Have a fantabulous weekend & I’ll e-see you next Thursday.
Xo,
Dyane

PLUCKY YOU

Here’s an interesting question. How many people do you know—include yourself in this—who are out about their mental illness with friends, family, and coworkers? I’m just guessing that the majority of people can check either the first and/or the second on that list, but very rarely the third. It’s hard to imagine freely offering this information to your boss or manager at work, unless of course you work for yourself, as I do. But we all have different comfort levels with our personal information.

I admire people who can just be up front about their mental health, like fellow writer Dyanne Harwood whose blog Birth of A New Brain covers the day-to-day struggles of life as a mom with a perinatal mood disorder closely related to bipolar depression. She is doing herself, and everyone who lives with a mental health diagnosis, a favor by standing up to the big scary monster of shame that threatens us with revenge…

View original post 390 more words

2 thoughts on “Still in the Closet About Depression? by Plucky You

I'd love to hear from you!

