I Love Having My Writing Rejected…

images-1

Trigger Warning: Potty talk and scary photo

Not! 😉

I don’t like having my writing rejected!

My skin is getting a little bit thicker; it is, I swear. The encouragement I received after publishing my last rejection-themed post really helped give me an attitude adjustment. However, I still have room for improvement.

Case in point: Rejection #1

Yesterday I had a ridiculous hissy fit and it wasn’t pretty!

Two months ago I submitted a poem to our conservative mountain town’s annual poetry contest/public reading. This event is sponsored by the Friends of the Library.  I used to work for another Friends of the Library organization, and I was also library clerk, so libraries hold a special place in my heart.  

Ellen Bass, one of our local big shot bestselling authors (The Courage to Heal), judged the entries. This year’s theme was “What Have You Lost?” My “Out in the Milkweed” entry delineates what I’ve lost due to bipolar disorder.  My poem reveals that I’m in recovery, so it’s optimistic. “Out in the Milkweed” doesn’t contain anything inappropriate (i.e. detailed accounts of suicide or cutting) for a public reading. It’s vanilla.

When I discovered last night that I was a big, ‘ol loser, I morphed into this:

linsda

 

I spewed vitriol right, left and upside down as Craig watched me with raised eyebrows.

I made sure our kids were out of range as I ranted, “Ellen Bass is a fucking bitch! A snob!  I bet this rejection is about stigma towards those with mental illness!!!  A lot of people liked my poem! She could’ve accepted it, even as a “mercy yes” if she thought it was shitty! This small-minded, closeted community needs mental illness discussed in public and I could’ve done that!  I bet no one else contributed a poem about bipolar! I’ve lost all respect for Ellen Bass and the Friends of the Library! Assholes”

Then I sat in front of my laptop and wrote a bitter email to the contest sponsor and cc’d it to Ellen Bass.  I reproached them for their obvious stigma towards bipolar. After I wrote a couple paragraphs, ten-year-old Avi walked in the room and asked me what I was doing. I gave her a quick summary, and that awesome kid said matter-of-factly,

“Mom, c’mon, don’t send it!”

That’s all I needed to hear to shake off my rage, and I immediately deleted the email.  I knew if I sent it, my message about stigma wouldn’t be heard; they’d see it as a sour grapes/sore loser syndrome and lest I forget to add: a “crazy bipolar freak-out”. I’ve burned enough bridges around this town as it is so it’s good Avi was a sweet voice of reason.  

After I calmed down I looked at “Out in the Milkweed” again. Right after I wrote it months ago, I thought the piece was truly good. Upon reviewing it yesterday I knew it wasn’t my best work.   I actually felt embarrassed, since it was waaaaaaay too long and waaaaaay too wordy.  It would have been hard to read “Out in the Milkweed” to an audience based on its clunky sentence structures alone.  

What was the lesson I learned here? (Did I learn anything?) 

That it’s okay to be upset upon learning one’s writing is rejected, but I must limit the sulking time, I can’t fire off any emails written in fury, and I need to move on.  

 Rejection #2

I am proud to say I didn’t flip out upon receiving this rejection last Monday, but I was still really disappointed since it was for the Huffington Post.  Okay, so it’s not the New York Times. However, I don’t mean to sound obnoxious, but if my submission had been published, I know the information would help some readers as the Huffington Post has a large readership.  

Before I pitched them, I received awesome editing help and feedback from a seasoned HuffPo blogger/mentor. After receiving her notes, I spent a considerable amount of time improving the piece. I trust her with all my heart, and she wrote that my piece was good and worthy of publication.  She’s not one to offer praise unless it’s warranted, so when I sent the final pitch and the article, I was feelin’ pretty damn spicy.  I thought I had a chance.

Then I heard nada.

Last October I was profiled in the Huffington Post.  Greg Archer, a regular contributor, included me as an “Inspiring Agent of Change”.*  Archer gave me a ginormous compliment  in noting that my writing had a “smooth creative style…by sharing her vulnerabilities and truths on living with bipolar disorder, she captures attention and wonderfully lures readers into wanting to know more about the illness…this is one to watch.”  As cool an honor as that is, the Huff editors just weren’t into my pitch/article.

Boo hooooooooo!  They are meeeeanannnn monsters!

At least I didn’t become Linda Blair, or eat all the chocolate gelato in the freezer.  I knew that the HuffPo editors probably thought my topic wasn’t broad enough and/or they thought my writing wasn’t that great.  Who knows?  

I remind myself that Madeleine L’Engle recceived 26 rejections for A Wrinkle In Time. While I’m sure as hell not Madeleine L’Engle-caliber, I know I have some worthwhile writing to share. Gotta just carry on and keep the f-bombs to a low roar.  Maybe next time I shoot for the stars and pitch The New York Times.  

I have nothing to lose except my temper.

 

images

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/greg-archer/agents-of-change-5-inspir_b_5992870.html#es_share_endedHAAwards

47 thoughts on “I Love Having My Writing Rejected…

  1. I’ve been hibernating in my first draft writing cave (a.k.a., the local bagel shop) for a while, so this was the first time I’ve seen this post. As someone who’s helped judge a short story contest, I can tell you about my experience. I helped pick the semi-finalists, so I read all the submissions (150+) and picked my top 20. (Other readers read the same ones, picked their top 20, and the ones that got the most votes headed were the semi-finalists; then another group picked their top ten from the semi-finalists to get the 10 finalists; yet another person read the finalists and selected 1st, 2nd, 3rd place. So I was the low person on the totem pole.) There were many, many submissions that were horrible. Then there were the submissions that were excellent; I was wowed by all the ones that won prizes; they blew me away. But the majority were good. Just good. Not great, not prize-worthy.

    Here’s the thing that feels unfair: it didn’t matter how competent the writing was. There were so many GOOD submissions and some that were GREAT submissions; these were well-written, obviously edited and labored over, and well-executed stories. They were competent writers; hopefully some of the rejects will be published at some point. But I rejected them because A) I only had 20 picks, and B) I had to pick the BEST 20 stories. And that was hard. I had to look, not just at the writing, but at something more intangible: voice. I had to ask, is this compelling? Is it unique? Are the characters deep and believable, does this story tell me something new about the world? Does it deserve to win?

    All that to say, don’t feel bad about rejection. Sometimes, it doesn’t mean that your writing isn’t good or that the judge didn’t like your entry. 🙂

    1. This is hilarious! I was just on YOUR blog the very moment you must have been writing here! I wrote a short comment on your blog, and then I read the article you reblogged. I couldn’t resist commenting there, & mentioned how awesome your blog is, which she obviously knows as she follows your blog. In that terrible run-on sentence I’m trying to point out we’re on the same wavelength! :)))

    2. Laura, please, please forgive me for taking far too long to reply to your comment! I’m proud of you for hibernating for a worthy reason! I hope that the local bagel shop staff are extra-nice to you. 😉

      It was very helpful to read about your experience. I keep hearing from other writers-in-the-know that when one’s writing is rejected, it doesn’t necessarily mean that person is a terrible writer. It sounds so rational, doesn’t it. Until you get your beloved story/proposal rejected. Then rationality goes out the door!

      Like with any other rejection, my angry, insecure feelings have melted over time. I know longer bare my teeth when I spot a book published by New Harbinger.

      Thank you for sharing about being on the other side of the coin when it comes to selecting submissions. I hope the writing is continuing to go well, and I also hope to see a blog update when you get the time. Ha, right?

      1. The bagel shop employees have been very interested in my work, actually! They kept seeing me sitting at a table, working for hours, so they got nosy and asked. Then, when another regular customer asked the same question and then asked what the book was about, the employees were stunned (or so one of them said). “We didn’t know you were writing such deep stuff! But we’re glad you’re tackling hard issues.” One guy shared his experience of being an Army brat and how he’d hear stories from soldiers about sex trafficking,etc., overseas, and how it made him sick and angry. So he said he’s glad I’ve written about it.

  2. Don’t let the rejections hold you back. I, personally, (for what it’s worth) love your writing. I’m carried from beginning to end with interest in every post. I am positive you will get more published than you do get rejected. Keep up the good work, and fight on to get stigma erased!

    1. Oh my goodness – you’ve made my day so great by writing this comment, Lisa. Thanks from the bottom of my heart! It’s worth A LOT to me that you enjoy what I write!!!!!!!! Sending you big hugs and high hopes for better days – you’ve been through so much, and it’s time for heaps of good stuff to come your way. XOXOXOOX

    1. Thanks for making me smile Jipsi!!!!! Yep, I’m a rager, but at least I admit it, and I’m working on it! I know ragers who totally deny their horrid behavior, and that’s freakier than the Linda Blair photo!!!!

      1. That photo made me laugh because back in the AOL days, (lol) an old roommate IM’d me that pic and said that THAT is what I looked and acted like before coffee. Honestly…I couldnt argue. Haha

  3. I feel the same when I get super offended or just riled up… I escalate quickly. I’ll be fine then it’ll start growing inside and my brain starts buzzing then next thing Im fuming. I only realize after the email was sent that my temper got the best of me. It’s hard for me to let go of things especially once I’m mad. Which doesn’t happen too often but boy when it does it’s not fun. Glad your daughter was there for you. Children are so intuitive.

    Back in middle school used I remember a kid used to say,”don’t pop a hormone.” To all the girls. Ha! He never had a girlfriend. But it still always made me laugh.

    1. “Don’t pop a hormone” made me laugh, Adina! Thanks so much for reading and commenting – I’m honored because I just read your blog and you’ve been SUPER-busy, girl – wow! I can’t believe how much you’ve been doing and the pressure you must be under, and I am super-proud of you for being honest with your boss and two co-workers. You’re simply amazing! Please take extra-good care of yourself; I’ve never juggled as much as you have since I’ve been a mom, so I hope you can lighten the load somehow. There are no easy answers, but hopefully you’ll get some helpful advice from others who have had to balance all the things you’ve been dealing with. Lots of love to you!! Dy

      1. I definitely am taking a break… School is going to have to slow down. We need income right now that’s the bottom line and the reality. I’m hoping I can find a good balance cause I love my home life. It’s a different pace for me but I do believe change is good. I’ve simply seen and lived the change too much lately to doubt it’s benefits. With that being said I bit off more than I can chew, (chewy I love you no pun intended). 🙂 I’m grateful for your constant support and simply caring for my world. It’s great to find some support especially when I feel like that world is caving in some days. –grateful to be able to write and for your comments.

  4. Kids can be great for speaking the truth to us. In some ways 10 year old kids can see ahead of time how other adults will emotionally respond to our emails ( or other communication ) because most adults are about at the 10 year old level emotionally.
    So I would have deleted the email also, if my 12 year old daughter had told me it was going to be taken offensively, or worse…used against me.
    One thing I have learned from having a 12 year old daughter, is that the tendency to back stab is very similar amongst female girls, as it is amongst female adults.
    If my daughter predicts female retaliation …from a certain type of commicommunication of mine, then she is often right.
    So, 10 and 12 year olds, especially girls, can warn us ahead of time that we are setting ourselves up for gossip, back stabbing or some social retaliation.
    So, good job listening to the young voice. They can be wise voices.
    Thank goodness for our little girls.
    Your writing is great. Don’t worru if it does not get chosen for everything. Editors are looking for something specific to represent them and to make them look good, or to meet a specific agenda. They do not choose based on liking us, but by what will make them look good and come off in a certain light to their readers.
    Much love,
    Annie

    1. Hello there sweet, sweet Annie.

      Thank you so much for your wonderful insights & support! Your 12-year-old is lucky to have such a loving mother and I’m sure she knows that.

      My kids, at 7 & 10, can both see right through me and it’s uncanny! It does help me to write when I’m angry as long as that deletion button is pushed. I’m usually pretty good about deleting anger-fueled missives on my own, but having Avi walk in the room at that moment was such a blessing.

      It helps to remember that virtually every author has faced rejection. I’m not alone with it! I wholeheartedly agreed with all of your comment, and this section in particular grabbed me:

      “Editors are looking for something specific to represent them and to make them look good, or to meet a specific agenda. They do not choose based on liking us, but by what will make them look good and come off in a certain light to their readers.”

      It’s true! Reviewing someone’s writing is totally subjective, as others have pointed out in some of these replies. So when I get the next rejection (ahhhhhhhhh!) I have to lick my wounds a little while without erupting, write some more, move on and get caught up with sending out more submissions. Sure, it means more rejection, but that opens up the door for a “yes”!

      Another thing I didn’t mention in the post is that I don’t even really like most poetry (!) and I have terrible social anxiety. If my piece had been selected, I would have had to stand up in a room filled with people and read to them, shaking all the while, about my having bipolar disorder. I would have been completely freaking out. So to be 100% truthful, there was a silver lining to the rejection.

      Thank you again for your kind reply! I really appreciated your taking the time to write so thoughtfully and with lots of lovely gentle kindness too! 🙂

      (((hugs)))
      Dyane

  5. The first publish Debbie Macomber (NY Times best seller) rejected her. She now sells a ton! I bet they are kicking themselves now. It will happen for you. You are a wonderful writer. 🙂

    1. Awwwww- thank you Susan!!! You made me feel good! Come to thnk of it, I can just attach headshots of Dr. Alsuwaidan & Bono to anything I submit, and I bet that article would get accepted! 😉 hee hee!!!! XOXOXO hope you have a great weekend and hit your “E” & walk! Keep in touch with the tweets!

  6. Lady, cute post indeed. Thanks to Avi for helping out lady her sweet momma. I call post cute because there is so much to learn and feel and even love in there. Now lady, all I wanna add is that you don’t wanna loose your temper that easily again ok? Please sweet, practice breathing and counting till …, cause you need some more energy to write for “us”. Here, there is no judgment and you hit publish just when you want 🙂

    1. Marie, I adore you! In just a few lines you totally soothed me, and you didn’t shame me for exposing my “warts and all” in the post.

      I promise you that I’ll practice the breathing & counting routine (I hold my breath when I’m freaked out so it will help 😉 and I’ll do my best cool down the next temper tantrum to a low temperature. I’m going to write about the experience too and let y’all know how it turns out! ;)I’ll dedicate that post to you, my lovely Fairy Godmother.

      Bear hugs are coming your way right now! XOXOXOOXOOX

  7. Ellen Bass was one of the main promoters of the ‘recovered memory’ fiasco that destroyed so many families and resulted in dozens of wrongful convictions for sexual abuse across the English speaking world, so I wouldn’t take her judgement to heart.

    1. HI cabrogal! Thanks for stopping by & for cheering me up in the process – I’ve never been drawn to Ellen Bass’ work; I didn’t have reason to read “A Courage to Heal” and to be totally honest here (although you may know this) I’m not a poetry fan. (The horror, the horror!) My main point is that I had NO idea about her involvement with the recovered memory concept & how that played out. That all sounds horrendous, to say the least.

      In any case, now that she soundly rejected my poem, I won’t be reading her work anytime soon, even if she writes about bipolar. There are too many other wonderful writers I prefer to follow.

      Please give my best to the bunnies!
      Xo
      Dyane

  8. Oh poo on them, I know you are awesome! 😉

    On a more serious note, I truly believe in the ideal that you are only a failure if you choose to do nothing about it. Let this be creative ammo for you to be a better writer. Honestly looking inward, we all can find areas that we could improve upon.

    Take care!

    1. You wrote a a great, inspiring comment, dear Vic!
      It also made me giggle, which is hugely welcome ’round here.

      I’m feeling 100% better after reading these responses, I really am. While I know that I’ll always loathe rejections unless I turn into the Dalai Lama Jr., I’m going to try my best not to get so worked up with the next one.

      Staying busy helps, as if I have too much time to dwell on the rejections then it adds fuel to the insecurity fire.

      Thanks for always buoying up my spirits! You’re virtual (high-end) chocolate.
      🙂
      Dy

  9. Thanks for this post. It speaks to me as my son has been diagnosed with bipolar and your rantings are very similar to his. Ha. Everytime I read someones personal story of how bipolar affects them it give me hope in knowing my son doesn’t stand alone with his odd behaviour. I don’t think I would have gotten as much out of this post or yet, this post would probably not been written if you had gotten your submissions entered.

    1. HI dear Sammy, and thank you for your comment.

      Let e state for the record that your son is definitely not alone in the entire bipolar community with the rants! 😉

      While I’m sure that I’m much, much, much older than he is (I’m 45) I’ve always been kind of immature, (both in a good and not-so-great way) so please don’t lose heart about how he’ll fare when he’s older in terms of tantrums. I bet that his rants will not be as bad as he matures, plus you’re there to support him which is truly wonderful. I can tell you are compassionate & a loving father. Your son is so lucky to have you in his life.

      Thanks also for your last couple lines which do make the rejections not nearly as bitter in my heart, knowing that what I wrote helped you even a little bit! 🙂

      take care,
      Dyane

      1. Thanks Dyane I appreciate your comments. My son is 36 but was only diagnosed with bipolar a year ago. We (me and him) are learning together. Have a great day.

  10. Writing is so personal yes, but we cannot take rejection letters personally! Honestly, don’t give it a second thought. Other important things to consider are
    1. There are so many submissions (so many writers!) for everything these days, so you have to remember what you’re up against. MFA programs have increased at a staggering rate, churning out thousands of very crafty well-studied writers. You live in an area saturated with writers.
    2. Many times editors or judges already have someone in mind—a student or someone who appeals exactly to their tastes because the person writes exactly like they do.
    3. Submissions almost have be tailored to the precise need of the publication or contest. Crazy huh? Your niche is your market!

    Don’t stop sending stuff out! It’s all a learning experience. You are awesome!

    1. Coming from you, this is extra-valuable advice! It will help anyone else reading these comments as well, so you’re racking up a few “good karma” points.

      You are beyond awesome You’re even cooler than an Alpaca Dancing Cow, and that Mt. Everest-high praise. 😉

  11. Hi, Dy. Rejection sucks. It hurts. Deeply. What we write is personal. No matter what we write, it is personal, for it is our creation, our baby. That said, hurray for Avi. Lashing out in anger only solidifies preconceptions and enables people to dismiss us more easily. We must somehow contain our hissy fits to our writing (not a personal email, but journaling or thinly disguised creative writing) and to home (still not good, but better than public temper tantrums, for sure). Yes, I’ve been known to throw an adult temper tantrum, to flip over the kitchen table like a mini-She-Hulk, to slam my (old) iPad to the ground with such force that I warped it (screen did not break, back bowed). I have spewed curse words.

    See, but here’s the beauty of blogging: FUCK THEM. You ARE PUBLISHED. You are SELF PUBLISHED. You do NOT need their validation. Your writing does help people. Even if it helps just one, that’s enough. Even if that person is YOU, that’s enough.

    P.S. Had to cover up scary picture. Freaked me out.
    P.P.S. I adore Avi. She’s my hero.
    P.P.P.S. I love you even more than I love Avi, but less than I love my husband and son. I mean, there are limits.

    1. You are hilarious. I love it!

      When I read this comment of yours, I laughed out loud.

      I apologize for that freaky picture scaring you – can you believe it was the least scary out of the whole batch?

      I know in my heart that I don’t need Ellen Bass’ validation or the HuffPosters. Even so, it’s such a comfort to be able to blog about rejection. Truthfully, I had some misgivings publishing this post yesterday because I don’t want this blog to be a total whinefest, but I went ahead and did it anyway since it felt right!

      I could’ve written about something shiny and happy but I chose to address rejection because it really gets my goat….and my horse….and my hamsters and even the rats!I figured that some readers would relate to the rejection issue since we all write.

      As with many forms of pain, the hurt melts over time. I don’t feel so bad about the rejections now that a few days have passed. Hurrah!

      I love you in a one-of-a-kind fashion!
      xoxoxoxoxox
      Dy

      p.s. I’ll let Avi know about the lovely compliment you gave her – she’s going through a hard time with a clique @ school :((( – so your words will surely brighten up her day!

  12. Dyane, I too love your writing style. I remember when I tried to get into the journalism program at Ryerson University (then it was a College) in Toronto. I had to write an essay on why I wanted to enter the program. I spent hours, days, weeks on that essay. I wrote and rewrote, showed it to whoever was willing to read it and got it to the point it was perfect (in my world anyway). I sent it off with the required application, reference letters, transcripts, etc. I was worried that a couple of low marks in unrelated subjects might stop me. When the anticipated envelope came, it was a rejection letter. They said I met all the requirements but they didn’t feel my essay showed enough passion for a career in this field. I was devastated to say the least. They said to try again but I didn’t. Now, as I am working on a book, I keep questioning my passion and it almost stops me before I am even ready to send it out for possible rejection. Keep on trying. You are an inspiration and encouragement to me. And you definitely deserve to be published. (Oh, Mark Twain and even Shakespeare suffered rejection!)

    1. Hi, awesomely named Lydia! 😉

      Your comment totally made my day. As Demonicdivas wrote below, one’s taste for a piece of writing is so subjective! Who knows who reviewed your journalism program application @ Ryerson, right? He/she could have had a bad day, bad taste (that’s my guess!), etc. That letter would have absolutely crushed me, and I’m SO sorry you went through that experience. Your writing flows beautifully! The program lost out on a fabulous writer!

      Some days I feel passionate about what I write, other days I don’t. Most writers are like that, although I read an Anne Rice interview in Costco magazine of all things in which she makes her writing process sound like one continuous orgasm. (Sorry to be crude!) I encourage you with all my heart to keep going. It’s totally normal to question your passion for your book, especially after what happened with the school.

      A cruel (yes, I think it was cruel) remark about one’s passion for writing can linger in your brain, but I know you have passion! I feel it! So tell that little voice that questions it to please go elsewhere.

      So many truly magnificent authors’ manuscripts were rejected. If they could keep on going (and they didn’t even have laptops), then you and I can do it!

      Sometimes I want to give up on the book, but I know that if I do, I’ll always regret it. So I let those feelings wash over me and I move on the best way I can. I take a chocolate break. Put away laundry…BOR-ing! I play with the furball Lucy. All the while I hope that the next day that my commitment and passion (yes) returns. I wish you the same.

      Anyone who has Lydia as part of her name is definitely cool in my book!!!!! 😉

      Lots of hugs to you, my dear.

      Dyane Lydia Leshin-Harwood

      1. Wow, Dyane (spelled so awesomely!),
        If you were trying to give my ego a boost, you succeeded in spades!

        I did get over the Ryerson rejection, but as it turns out my bipolar was in high gear in those years (my early 20’s though not diagnosed until mid 30’s) and I had a very low esteem. My mother was actually happy that the journalism dream was finally dead and I could get a real job. I ended up following in her footsteps as a secretary which was not my forte at all, but led me to computers and a whole new world! I did some work as a technical writer for the government and freelanced – I met my current husband 10 years prior by writing a manual for his computer accounting program. But I digress.
        I think the reason I question my passion now is because I am writing about a lot of those old bad memories. But I have to keep in mind who I am NOW and that my reason for writing it is to help others not fall into the same traps.

        A pair like Dyane and Lydia can’t be kept down! We are both good writers with stories to get out there and we will find a way! Thank you for inspiring me and for your heartfelt writing style.

        By the way, I was going through some pictures the other day and I found my favourite one of me and my dear friend Dyane. You would have loved her! I still miss her after all these years.

        Hugs right back,
        Lydia

    1. You said it, my friend! Anyone who claims they don’t care is bluffing!

      Rejection is up there with getting tender spots waxed and enduring root canals, although I think I’d rather have a root canal than get rejected as long as lots of pain killer is used. 🙂

  13. The problem with writing is that it’s so subjective. There is a huge amount of truly terrible writing out there (grammatically incorrect and no spellcheck for starters!) that I wonder how the hell it made it from keyboard to shiny published article/book. I get quite irate about it until I think back to English Literature lessons and failing to understand how one could not fall passionately in love with Mr Darcy, whilst at the same time wanting to punch Heathcliff in the face and consign all Bronte books to the bin, they were so boring. My teacher, sadly, disagreed with me so it was Jayne Eyre for two solid, turgid years 😀

    Equally, one person’s rejection is another person’s JK Rowling 🙂 keep telling your story. It has been such a help to me and many others. One day you will get heard in your community.

    1. I loved your comment about the Bronte books. Thank you for indulging me in this whiny post. This is the second whinefest I’ve posted recently, so I need to cut it out for a while. I had reservations about sharing these two rejections, but it was the only topic I felt fired up to write about this week. It’s what is really going on in my silly brain! :0

      I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your encouragement, and yes, I’ll definitely keep telling my story.

      take care & have a wonderful weekend! I’ll “see” you @ your blog very soon!
      Dyane

  14. Ahhh rejection. I’m sorry you’ve got walloped with it, but it does get easier. Especially if you realize publishing is a business, and not necessarily a reflection on your work. Is there room for growth? Always. Are there personal opinions at play? Absolutely. But you’ll never be published if you don’t try to be published.

    1. That’s right (or write? 😉 dear Bee. You know what you’re talking about! I love the phrase “nothing ventured, nothing gained” because it’s the truth.

      I’m grateful for your feedback!

      Thinking of you and your new book’s release & wishing you lots of success!!!
      Dyane

      p.s. Forgive me for what I’m about to write, but I think your blog “Always Yours, Bee” is truly the bee’s knees! (I think my coffee was tampered with today.) Anyone reading this reply needs to go check out https://alwaysyoursbee.wordpress.com/
      STAT

      p.p.s. Can I mention your other blog URL here so people can buy your books?

      1. Thanks so much. Evil trolls!!!!! I definitely want to buy some of your books – I’ve been meaning to do that ever since I discovered your blog.

      2. This troll, in particular, insists bipolar disorder is made up to make excuses for poor behaviour. Sometimes, I want to give her the rope and let her hang herself instead of quietly sending her comments to spam.

  15. I love your honesty. I think you should be featured everywhere. You’ll get there. Big loves to Avi and oh, FYI. the only movie that has ever scared me was The Exorcist. That face is in my nightmares. Imagine popping on to one of my very favorite blogs and being scared to shit. 😉

    Dr Suess was rejected 27 times before being published 🙂

    Love Nic

    1. You’re a sweetie so I feel bad I freaked you out with that mega-scary photo of Linda Blair – OMG – you should have seen the OTHER choices! 😉 The one I chose was tame, ha ha ha!

      I didn’t know that about Dr. Suess – and there are so many other writers with the same rejection stories.

      It’s just hard to get the “no” from my own community, especially since it’s about bipolar-themed stuff. I’ll keep submitting every year until they accept me
      I feel better now just writing about my latest rejections. I won’t stop writing, that’s for sure.

      Thanks so much for your support – it’s like a big, warm hug and a yummy double mocha! 🙂

      XOXOX
      Dy

I'd love to hear from you!

