Postpartum Bipolar Disorder Research Study

Hello, my friends! It’s an older-but-wiser Dyane here, and I’m grateful for the lovely birthday comments you’ve left over the past couple days! 🙂 Lucy and I had a mellow, mutual birthday, with one REALLY amazing thing happening to me (I’ll blog about that soon, I promise!) and balanced out by a couple of weird, minor-yet-slightly upsetting things which I’ll most likely blog about at some point. I think I was extra-sensitive because it was my birthday and I’m weird like that. I wasn’t given an inflatable Alpura Dancing Cow outfit as a gift, but I will get over my disappointment. I’m sure that thing cost at least $500! On a separate note. I’m pleased to report a recruitment for the first study that specifically addresses mothers, stigma and bipolar disorder in the postpartum period (0-12 months). It’s being conducted by my friend Dr. Walker Karraa, author of the acclaimed book “Transformed by Postpartum Depression: Women’s Stories of Trauma and Growth” (the #1 bestseller in the Amazon postpartum book category!!!) and founder of Stigmama. I’m honored that Dr. Karraa agreed to write the foreword to “Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder” – she’s my top pick in the entire world to do such a thing!

Our mutual friend, the writer/mental health advocate  Kitt O’Malley, blogged about Dr. Karraa’s study requirements, and I jumped at the chance to reblog it. If you could spread the word about this study, we’d all be grateful.

Thanks so much, and have a great weekend! love, Dyane 🙂

Kitt O'Malley

Walker Karraa, PhDWalker Karraa, PhD

My friend & colleague, Dr. Walker Karraa, is studying the stigma surrounding postpartum bipolar disorder. If you fit her research criteria and are interested in participating, please do so. Her book Transformed by Postpartum Depression: Women’s Stories of Trauma and Growth is groundbreaking and a powerful, moving read.


Research Study: The Stigma of Mental Illness for Mothers Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder 0-12 Months Postpartum

Greetings,

I am currently conducting a research study entitled The Stigma of Mental Illness for Mothers Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder 0-12 Months Postpartum. The purpose of this study is to describe and explain the nature of stigma related to the diagnosis of bipolar disorder during the first year following childbirth.

To participate in this study, participants must have: (a) received a diagnosis for bipolar disorder in the first year following the birth of a child; (b) be able to give informed consent; (c) speak English…

View original post 98 more words

16 thoughts on “Postpartum Bipolar Disorder Research Study

  1. Happy belated birthday Dyane! Sounds like a great study. I will reblog, Facebook and Twitter it, to help spread the word. Have a great day! 🙂

    1. Thanks SO much for birthday wishes and being willing to rebog -that’s super-awesome! Yes, the study will be fantastic. I’m a huge fan of Dr. Karraa! 🙂 She and I would be grateful if you could reblog it. Please let me know post-coffee if you’re still having difficulties.

      Speaking of coffee, I’m off to drink a vat. :000
      Take care and I hope you have a wonderful day!! ))))))

      1. Lol,,the coffee isn’t helping much. I still can’t figure out how to reblog. I tried to reblog from my phone this morning, and it said it couldn’t reblog. I am on my laptop now and there is no reblog button where I usually see one. Maybe I should just copy and paste?

      2. This is so weird – the post is no longer on Kitt’s blog, which is where I reblogged it, nor is it on Dr. Karraa’s blog, but I ***know*** the study is happening!!! I was in contact with Dr. Karraa on Saturday about participating myself. So yes, if you could copy and paste the info., despite it being a pain in the ass, I’d be most grateful!!!! :))) It means a LOT to me, as it’s personal! 😉 Thanks again for making my day.

        I’ll paste the study requirements below, just in case there’s another weird snafu. :0
        ———
        We are currently conducting a research study entitled “The Stigma of Mental Illness for Mothers Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder 0-12 Months Postpartum”. The problem to be addressed in this grounded theory study is the lack of knowledge regarding the nature of stigma of mental illness for mothers diagnosed with BD in the first year postpartum.

        Participant inclusion criteria includes: (a) having received a clinical diagnosis for bipolar disorder 0-12 months postpartum; (b) being able to give informed consent; (c) speaking English; (d) having access to phone and email; (e) and willingness to participate; (f) at least 18 years of age.

        Participants will participate in one 60-90 minute, audio taped, phone interview with the principal investigator. Participants will be asked to review transcribed interview and return to principal investigator. The total time commitment for participation is estimated at 4 hours spread over several weeks.

        If you know of potential participants, or colleagues who may be interested in sharing this recruitment letter, please share the attached recruitment letter, or contact me at walkerkarraa@email.phoenix.edu, or 818-489-8192.

        Thank you,
        Walker Karraa, PhD

    1. You are such a sweet thang! I’m actually a Pisces, but my husband (he has a March 24th bday) is an Aries. Both signs rule! ;))) (((hugs))) beautiful Adina! So great to hear from you and I hope studies etc. etc. are going well!

      1. Dyane! Things are busy as ever. We are tight on money being in school…so I went and found a job. Silly me. It’s going great so far and I’m happy with it. But it’s stressing me out too. I haven’t worked in forever so it’s been interesting. I will say I’m excited about it and that makes it worth all the stress and hectic lifestyle. I feel like it’s time to pay my dues. I just have to make it till the end of the semester and then things should be much easier to manage. I do need to slow things down before I get overwhelmed. That usually triggers me into stress and then depression. This time I’m quite determined not to let it get the best of me. With bipolar it’s a fine line to tread on.–But here I am doing it. I am damn proud of it too! I always love hearing from you. Thanks for keeping in touch.

    1. I know…..I do! :(((((((((((((((((((( Hope you feel much, much better soon, my sweet friend. Lucy & everyone else in this skanky house – even Zoe the hamster- seconds that.

I'd love to hear from you!

