So Many Amazing Blogs….

images-1

After two looooong weeks without reading your blogs, I suffered the malady known as SBWS, a.k.a. sudden blog withdrawal syndrome.  I returned to catching up with your lives this past week, and what a relief it was!  I cared about how each of you fared through the holidays, and for most of you it was rough – I wished I could have offered you some lovely “likes” and/or comments of support sooner than this week.  Better late than never, right?   In hindsight, to go from a daily routine of reading blogs to nothing overnight (due to no internet access at our remote spot) was way too extreme.  I certainly won’t let that happen again!      Upon my return home, I savored the unique sense of connection I felt after reading each post.  I was reminded of how lucky I’ve been to tap into a world where I’m understood, and where I don’t have to prove myself or attempt to act “normal”.  I also was once again blown away by all your writing talent featured in every single post.  Recently I read that a large percentage of professional writers have bipolar disorder, and I’m not surprised.  I didn’t make any hard and fast New Year’s resolutions, although I have a “soft” intention on my mind.  In my day-to-day life I seldom interact with anyone who’s a member of The Bipolar Club and I would like that to change this year.  

images

I know it’s up to me to do something about it.  Yesterday I daydreamed that I won the California SuperLotto Plus jackpot, and I flew everyone in my WordPress Reader here for a beach party extravaganza.  (Don’t snicker too much – someone won $50,000 at the spot where I buy my lotto tickets! 😉  I wish!  Then again, you never know.  I watched an inspiring episode of “Lottery Changed My Life” ( yes, I watch the vacuous TLC channel :0 ) and the winner was surprisingly philanthropic with his loot – sure, he bought a fancy $100,000 sports car, but he helped others as well.   Interestingly, I received  a flurry of phone calls about bipolar support groups in my area just before the New Year arrived.  I haven’t gotten any similar calls for many, many months.  My contact information from my defunct support groups still floats around on the ‘net, and these people found it.  Craving in-person support with others living with bipolar is in the air.  There are no support groups in the valley where I live, but I’m not quite ready to form a group again. Maybe in the spring…in the meantime, I called everyone and I referred them to the NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) chapter in my county, which offers a consumer support group.   You might wonder why I don’t attend that group.  Well, it has a Christian-focus (I’m a Jewish-born agnostic, and I’d prefer there to be no religion connected with a bipolar support group).  The meeting takes place at night, when my energy level is low.  Lastly, it’s a forty-minute drive each way and I want a group that meets closer.  Yes, I’m a bit picky, but hey – I want what I want! And now, back to YOU….what I REALLY want is to thank you all for continually baring your souls through your words, and for what each of you add to our virtual community.  You help me, along with countless others, more than you know.     Love, Dyane p.s. I encourage you to check out Broken Light: A Photography Collective and apply to them if it appeals to you. Their blog has almost 15,000 followers!  I contacted them last year, and I was excited to be selected.  Here’s the link to my profile and you can find their contact info. there too: http://brokenlightcollective.com/2015/01/04/pursuing-my-dream/    

11 thoughts on “So Many Amazing Blogs….

  1. It’s so lovely to return to your blog. I get it on needing some in-person support. It’s tough. I’ve been in support groups for various things — grief, eating disorder, survivors of suicide. They were extremely helpful, particularly the eating disorder one and I was sad that it disbanded. I’ve been trying to be more open about some of my issues recently with in-person friends, and while I AM finding that helpful, it’s not the same as a true support group. Friends who don’t live with mental illness don’t always get the magnitude of living the way we do. Yes. I have to exercise. Yes. I have to get sleep (which I’m failing miserably at this week). Yes. I have a lot of needs and I’m not great at coming right out with them because you’d probably make a mad dash in the other direction. I think you might have inspired me to find a group. Thank you! And I wish you luck as you search for your own.

    1. You ***always*** write the best comments, Grief Happens!

      I hope that your sleep is going better. Mine is sucking, despite my getting an entire hour of cardio every single late afternoon & despite the fact I take a nightly dose of Seroquel, although it’s not much! (25 mg – but it is a super-potent drug…even 25 mg during the day knocks me out. Some folks are on 600 or 800 mg a day, which baffles me!)

      I digress… I guess I need to bring the sleep issue up with my pdoc next week. I’m inspired that you’re being more open about your issues with your IRL friends. That is NOT easy to do, to say the least!!!! At least it’s helpful you are sharing with them so honestly, but I hear you about support groups being a special outlet where you encounter those who truly “get it”! If you find a group please let me know! 🙂

      I’ve mentioned that I belong to Meetup.com, and as a hobby I check out the newest support groups for bipolar anywhere in the world. (Only a couple appear each week) The variety of bipolar support group themes are impressive & often creative – what a surprise! 😉 I’ve noticed groups specifically for women that focus on friendship and fun & encouragement, and there are some fantastic groups like this but they’re on the other side of the country or world. 😦 Sigh.

      Maybe someone up here in the mountains will read my mind and create a group in my area. Or perhaps I could start a Meetup group, and then see if someone else would be a co-leader or even the main leader. I’ll let you know what happens….and thanks again for your insights – I learn so much from you and your fantastic blog! 🙂

      1. Thanks for the compliment. I’m honored and humbled. I miss support groups. I had the best results with a therapy group. It wasn’t free but it wasnt terribly expensive — pros and cons definitely. I liked the structure that the therapist provided, but we were able to do activities together outside the actual session. It worked well.

        For me, starting a group of this nature is hard because i struggle with organization and planning, and those tasks have to be done to a degree, with regularity. Some weeks i can handle those elements — others, not so much. Keep your eyes open. Hopefully something will turn up for you. I’m going to hop on my elliptical. I’ve done well exercising this month — thanks to you for the inspiration. 😊

    1. Thanks so much for your sweet words about Lucy….and welcome back to you too! I’ve missed your presence!!!! Hope things are going well and that you give us an update when you feel like it, but NO pressure! 😉

  2. Living in a somewhat isolated community is tough. When I lived in the Mojave Desert I was isolated from the many resources that surround me in suburban Orange County. I’m sure therapists abound where you live. Santa Cruz county is known for its thriving community of healers. Perhaps one of them could start providing group therapy. Not exactly the same as a free peer support group, but in group therapy the participants help each other, too. Let someone else organize the group. Someone who can grow their practice by organizing the group. Just an idea.

    1. You always have great ideas, Lady Kitt. There are gazillions of therapists in SC County – of all kinds as you can imagine! 😉 In Tahoe I read about a Tahoe City-based therapist running a “women with bipolar” group and I was envious! The cost wasn’t too bad, but I forget what it was. Anyhooo, I still crave a free peer support group. I’m on Meetup’s alert list in case someone else creates one around here. I also check Craigslist regularly too as well as our weekly’s event calendar listings, which announces groups of all kinds.

I'd love to hear from you!

