Dammit, Begone “Sally Field Syndrome”!!!

imgres

 Sally Field in one of my favorite movies “Mrs. Doubtfire” with my hero Robin Williams

 

I saw the Oscar-winning actress Sally Field in the flesh once.  The sighting took place when I was a teenager, during a time when I didn’t idolize older, gifted female celebrities the way I eventually would.

Sally Field appeared to me not on an exotic movie set, but in the mundane doorway of my 11th grade Chemistry class.

Her son, who I didn’t know except by face, was in my class.  For some reason his mom needed to see him and that was that.  This was the same class that my friend S. arrived at one day to tell our teacher she couldn’t take the exam as she just saw someone jump to her death from Ocean Avenue on to the Pacific Coast Highway.  I remember feeling deeply, deeply shocked at her news, and I almost couldn’t take the test myself.  S. was excused, but it turned out that S. lied about the suicide just to get out of the test.  (Our friendship melted away soon after that happened.)

That was a looong digression!  Please forgive me!  Sometimes I include kooky, off-topic anecdotes that I suddenly remember from my teen years, in part, because I get so excited that my ECT didn’t erase these memories.  I feel really good knowing that certain brain cells are alive and kicking.  Who cares about the fact that I recall S.’s crazy lie and not the lines to a Shakespeare sonnet I learned in college.  It just doesn’t matter!

While the Sally Field Incident is one of my “neither-here-nor-there” facts about my life, I always found Field intriguing for uttering a famous Academy Award acceptance speech that moved me.  Here’s a seven-second-long peek:

I checked out Sally Field’s Wikipedia entry, and I was surprised that while many recall her saying “You like me, you really like me!” she actually said “You like me, right now, you like me!”, and this speech was inspired by dialogue in the film Norma Rae.  Here’s what Wiki states,

“Then came a second Oscar for (Sally Field’s) starring role in the 1984 drama Places in the Heart. Field’s gushing acceptance speech is well remembered and has since been both admired as earnest and parodied as excessive. She said, “I haven’t had an orthodox career, and I’ve wanted more than anything to have your respect. The first time I didn’t feel it, but this time I feel it—and I can’t deny the fact that you like me, right now, you like me!”Field was actually making a humorous reference to dialogue from her role in Norma Rae, but many people missed the connection. Field even parodied herself when she delivered the line (often misquoted as “You like me, you really like me!” in a Charles Schwab commercial.”

So where am I going with all this?

In my last post I wrote that I was thrilled to be nominated by the writing dynamo Wendy K. Williamson for a WEGO Health Award for “Best in Show” blog.  This is me:

https://awards.wegohealth.com/nominees/4811

I let my nomination completely go to my head and instead of enjoying the fleeting moment, I started obsessing about getting endorsements, which are needed in order to win the award.  I became a smarmy politician, so to speak, asking for endorsements wherever I could.

Wendy is going to kill me when she reads this, as she’s my writing mentor, but I spent more hours than I care to admit caught up in getting endorsements and learning about WEGO Health when I should have been writing as I had originally planned to do.  Even cleaning my house would have been a better way to spend my time than my WEGO-ing.

As I read many of the other nominees’ very moving profiles that detailed amazing accomlplishments despite their having chronic illness of all kinds, I thought to myself,

“I haven’t got a prayer to become a finalist.  Why the hell am I wasting my time and getting so obsessive???”

I made it into a popularity contest that I wanted to win.  My irrational thinking went along the lines of, ” If I get enough endorsements I’ll prove to the WORLD that….wait for it….

“YOU LIKE ME!  RIGHT NOW, YOU LIKE ME!”

OR

“YOU LIKE ME, YOU REALLY LIKE ME!”

Let me state for the record that I get really freaky and competitive when it comes to trying to win contests of all kinds. When I was fifteen I came across a contest in which ten Izusu Impulse cars were being given away, and that a postcard had to be filled out and sent for each entry.  I filled out and sent a whopping 500 postcards to win this car, paying for the considerable amount of postage with babysitting and office assistant money I had earned, and no, I didn’t win.

Within twenty-four hours after being nominated for the WEGO, I realized I had to stop asking for endorsements here, there, and everywhere.

I accepted the fact that I won’t win.  I can’t compete with the other nominees’ enormous followings and/or their incredible accomplishments.

AND that’s really, truly okay.   I need to be happy with my nomination and let it go, let it go….

That is all.  I’m forgiving myself for letting this nomination go to my head because I don’t get nominated for awards, you see.  It’s a novel event in my life.

I don’t need a bunch of votes to prove that I’m a good person, that I’m talented, that I’m likable, and so on.

I need to believe in myself first and foremost and realize that:

I’VE ALREADY WON!

I’ve made it through times of acute suicidal lows.

I’ve made it through many med side effects.

I’ve made it through both unilateral and bilateral ECT.

I’ve made it through chronic bipolar depression.

I’ve made it through the hospitalizations.

I’ve made it through my Dad’s death.

I don’t need to have an organization declare me a winner.

I’ve always loved what Saturday Night Live self-help guru Stuart Smalley (played by Senator Al Franken) said,

“I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and gosh darn it, people like me!”

search

I’m going to let the illustrious Stuart Smalley’s words of wisdom be my motto for 2015, and I’ll look within instead of to accolades.

Of course if there’s any kind of contest to win a lifetime supply of chocolate, all of this goes to the wayside!

 

 

49 thoughts on “Dammit, Begone “Sally Field Syndrome”!!!

    1. Hee hee! You made me chuckle with that one! I decree you my new “lithium sister” – it’s so refreshing to find someone who appreciates her medication like I do! Again, I’m so glad that you feel better after raising the Seroquel only 50 mg!! Woo hoo! I plan on reading some of your older posts over the next few days & look forward to getting to know you. Take care & keep in touch! Good luck in the lab! :)) p.s. you are stunning!

      1. Thank you so much for sharing!! Would be honored if you could friend me on Facebook… I’m at Dyane Harwood!! 🙂

  1. Just want you to know, cabrogal, I finally took the time to closely read your comments, which always, always deserve my full attention! When I’m online usually Lucy puppy is jumping on me and/or my two daughters are fighting over something utterly ridiculous.

    Re: The Swingers – I honestly can’t remember listening to anything of theirs (a sin, I know!) but I did have Schnell Fenster’s “The Sound of Trees” which I kinda sorta liked. “Whisper” was a good tune. I am quite sorry to say that I’ve never heard of “The Gun Club”. I think my brother was born at a Huntington Beach hospital (not too close to the town where I grew up) and that’s pretty much all I know about that area!

    I hope that you’ve caught up on your sleep by now. You are a very devoted rabbit dad, and I’m glad that the bipolar upswing helped you keep your rabbit alive. I had a rabbit a long time ago named “Drizzle” who liked to pee a lot (I let Drizzle run about the room so it wasn’t his fault.) He liked to hump volleyballs! He did not like to be coddled and would scratch anyone who tried to pet him!

    1. The Swingers were so called because they fused swing with new wave/pop. They had a top five (maybe #1, I can’t recall) hit here with “Counting the Beat”. Lyrically it was flippant in the style of early Split Enz and while it was close to Split Enz in genre it was very clearly not a Finn song.

      The Gun Club. What can I say?

      Southern style country blues-rock that makes death metalheads look like a bunch of choirboys.
      There’s nothing else like it but if you can imagine the love child of The Cramps and Lynyrd Skynyrd, up tempo, add a slide guitar, with ironic humour and something else a whole lot darker you might get close. Songs about racism, ritual murder, drug abuse, perverted love … One Gun Club song, “Jack on Fire”, has gotta be the most sociopathic song of any genre I have ever heard.

      The singer/songwriter, Jeffrey Lee Pierce, was by all accounts a lovely guy but as tortured as anyone who ever picked up a guitar. Dead in his 30s of a stroke with a body ruined by substance abuse, HIV, hepatitis C and a whole load of other disastrous lifestyle choices he was apparently incapable of doing just about anything except music. But boy he could sure do music. He was head of the LA Blondie fan club when he started The Gun Club and apparently carried a letter from Debbie Harry in a pouch over his heart for much of his life.

      If you want to have a listen, the most accessible and close to PG rated of their songs is probably Sex Beat.
      If that sounded OK, you could try For the Love of Ivy or Fire Spirit.
      Only check out Jack on Fire if there’s no kids within earshot.

      I only saw them live once, at the Sydney Trade Union club circa 1982. I’ve seen stage acts that are more shocking (the 1970s/80s Australian band Jimmy and the Boys wins hands down there) but when it comes to songs of insanity, psychopathy and utter bleakness the Gun Club walk away with it.

      Southern Gothic incarnated as sound.

      1. Oh yes, NOW I remember “Counting the Beat” – I kind of liked that song – it was catchy – what can I say? I’m so plebeian!

        Re: The sacred “The Gun Club”. Wow. I have to start with the fact that I LOVED Blondie as a child/pre-teen, I really did. So I can relate to Jeffrey Lee Pierce’s (R.I.P. sorry to hear what caused his demise – that all is tough stuff….) feelings somewhat. I feel moved reading that he kept her letter with him over his heart.

        As for “The Gun Club” sound you describe, I frankly cannot imagine it despite the fact that I’m fairly musical. You may have read here somewhere in this blog that my Dad was a professional violinist in the Los Angeles Philharmonic. (By the way, he HATED it when I played Split Enz in his Honda Accord’s cassette player and he called it “wild banshee music”! I thought that was so funny. He most likely would not have been a fan of “The Gun Club”.)

        I will check out the links you provided (thank you!) and I’m listening to “Jack on Fire” FIRST sans rug rats. If they didn’t live here, I’d play that song REALLY loud in the front yard because I dislike our rude neighbors who live like 10 feet away from me. Our chickens might freak out though, and that would be cruel to do that to them, I guess.

        I like Alice Cooper’s music, and I like Crowded House too. I even like The Bee Gees now, and I never thought that would happen. Who knows? Maybe I’ll become a TGC fan. I’m so glad you got the chance to see them live!!!!!! Did you *try* meeting any of them in Sydney? I know you didn’t meet them, but I wonder if you gave it a shot to go backstage.

        “Jimmy and the Boys” – I thought their music was family friendly! Methinks I’m mixing them up with another Aussie band, don’t you? The name “Jimmy Barnes” is popping up in my brain. I’ll have to do some internet surfing.

        I’ll let you know what I think of the tunes! I have a feeling I won’t be bored.

      2. Yeah, Jimmy Barnes and his old band Cold Chisel are pretty iconic around these parts. A big favourite on pub juke boxes.

        Jimmy and the Boys is something very different though. You might think you know gay rock from bands like The Village People, Queen or Pansy Division but these guys take it to a new level. The vocalist was Ignatious Jones, a ballet dancer, cabaret artist and contortionist (he would cross his legs behind his head and walk around stage on his butt cheeks). The transgendered keyboardist is Joylene Hairmouth (aka Bill O’Riordan). I only ever voted in one Australian election and she was standing for the senate. Even though I was a member of the Australian Democrats (well to the left of the US party) and had been campaigning for their senate candidate (who happened to be the father of my best friend at school), Joylene got my first preference vote.

        I almost invariably push my way to the front at concerts and mosh out right next to the stage and speakers but between the smoke bombs, flying bits of burning plastic (they torched a large doll and waved it around for “Baby’s on Fire”) and blood spitting I was just as likely to be pushing away from the stage at one of their gigs.

        It can be hard to find clips of their shows but here’s a two part one of a 1981 performance of “Butchy Boys” at Selina’s in Coogee. Again, it’s not one for the kiddies.

        And yeah, Alice Cooper was one of my first musical loves and I still play his albums pretty regularly, especially School’s Out and Love it to Death. When he brought the Welcome to my Nightmare tour downunder (with the sainted Vincent Price!) that was the first time I saw an international live act.

      3. BTW, I can’t read the name of your mentor without remembering another one of my favourite shock rockers, Wendy O Williams (bipolar, suicide by gunshot). She never brought her band, The Plasmatics, to Australia so I never saw her, just bought the albums. Their show was banned in several US cities.

        I doubt Jimmy and the Boys would have been able to play in any US cities, with the possible exception of New York.

      4. When I start flogging Aus rock it can be hard to stop. Lunacy was always a major theme of Australian music (I bet you’d love The Sunnyboys, with their schizophrenic singer/songwriter Jeremy Oxley). I think my early exposure to that sort of thing helped me to come to terms with my own insanity, though some friends and family would probably say it’s what caused it.

        For over four years I was obsessed with The Divinyls – or rather with their vocalist Chrissie Amphlett – despite their soft edge in comparison to most of my preferred bands. Here’s a clip of their depression masterpiece, Elsie. As you can see the US audience has a bit of trouble working out what to make of them. As you can also see, Chrissie was a witch.

        Since 2006 Shark Fin Blues by The Drones has been consistently voted the best Aussie song ever in polls of songwriters. It uses the sinking of a ship as a metaphor for the onset of psychotic depression. Grungy blues rock. Poignantly horrifying.

    2. Hint: If you ever get another rabbit, get it desexed. The males in particular behave a whole lot better, particularly with regard to litter training. Mostly rabbits don’t need to be litter trained, they’ll train themselves if you put the tray in a place acceptable to them – i.e. not too exposed, overhead cover (gotta be careful of eagles you know) and a good view of approaches. But males that haven’t been desexed like to mark their territory and will reserve some urine and feces for the purpose.

      1. Good information to know! I wish I knew this in the 1990’s when we had Drizzle, who lived a long life. When I moved and wasn’t allowed to keep him, I gave him to my Mom and she took very good care of him.

        I forgot what breed he was, but he had very short-hair. What do you think of lop ears?

      2. Ananda’s a dwarf lop and I love him to bits. Hyperactive with a very strong character. He’s definitely the boss in this house.

        But I hope there’s a circle of hell reserved for whoever bred lops. Domestic rabbits are already prone to teeth overgrowth and ear problems and lops get it worse than others. Their life expectancy is about two thirds that of other pet rabbits.

        What’s worse is that rabbits do a lot of their communicating with ear movements so lops have been rendered partially mute. When you realise how social rabbits are it’s hard to avoid thinking what a shame that is.

  2. I thought this was great, but I did not open the “let it go” song. (hehehehe!) Really it beat out U2’s song for Nelson Mandela…uh oh, now I’m digressing. 🙂 Really, great post. I’m thinking that maybe I should walk my dogs more. It would do me good to be outside.

    1. I am fine with your bringing up U2 in any comment, ha ha ha! Thank you SO much for what you wrote. It means a lot to me!!!

      It would be really good for you to walk the dogs especially now, given what you’re dealing with…. You’ll feel better after your walks, I guarantee it, and you also will love seeing your dogs happy too!!!

      I don’t know if you like to use an iPod or other music deviceI used to wear my iPod at our local track (this was whenI didn’t have a dog) & music made all the difference! It was perfectly safe to wear headphones there. But these days I don’t bring the iPod because I hike on trails and I need to be alert to any freaky sounds…people…mountain lions (yep) etc.I have pepper spray & I’ve practiced how to use it, making sure I didn’t accidentally spray myself in the face!

      If you decide to start walking, blog about it! I’d love to read about what it does for you. XO

      1. Whoa! That is freaky! Hey, maybe it’s a sign. I’ll meet the whole band on this tour? It’s good to be positive, right? 😀

  3. I know I am late but honey I honestly am super impressed with your honesty. You are amazing ! The ability to accept life the way it comes to you with it realities is what makes us a winner. And honey you are a winner. You do so much and you win a little every day with leads up to big WIN every other day.
    Love ya and love love love your blog
    xoxoxoxox

  4. Love your honesty and vulnerability, Dyane. So glad I came across your comment at Laura Droedge’s blog. And now, after watching the Sally Field clip, I like her more than I did before.

    1. Hi Adriana! Thanks so much for your comment & I’m sorry I’m late with my reply! I love Laura’a blog; in the short amount of time following it I’ve benefitted from it so much! I’m also glad you like Sally Field more! 😉 Take good care & I’ll stop by your blog to visit. Have a great day!

      Dyane

  5. Dyane, I think we all get a little flummoxed at attention, don’t we? No need to apologize for being human. And yes, the winning is in the journey, the overcoming, the day-to-day successes. Huzzah to you! YOU are a gifted role model. Keep it up.

  6. Dyane, I’d say you’ve made it in life and then some. I love the Sally Fields speech because in context it shows she’s not only just like the rest of us, but she can joke about insecurities (like being accepted) and outstanding accomplishments (like winning an Oscar) and come out smiling.

    1. Hi Tim! First off, thanks for your encouraging comment.

      I’ve always liked Sally Field’s speech because there definitely was vulnerability in the way she said the words. Some folks claim that she simply quoted dialogue and she didn’t mean anything she said, but I don’t think that’s the case. By the way, we’re up in Ben Lomond! Near Mt. Hermon! It’s so beautiful here. Take care, thanks again for stopping by my blog, and I wish you and your family the very best, i.e. a smooth train ride! 😉

  7. I understand this post from so many angles. (I almost misspelled that “angels.”) When I was on social media, I was obsessed with making sure people got my blog through their newsfeeds. I tried to draw attention to my writing as much as possible. My stats never boomed, but I still got some traffic from FB. Imagine, then, my dismay to talk to a real life acquaintance (and FB friend) who didn’t know that I write. Oh. I was irritated with him, but really, I wasn’t that important to him in real life, and he wasn’t the type of person I write for, so why did that particular person matter? I eventually ditched FB and Twitter after I realized that my mental health wasn’t stable and they made the instability worse.

    I’ve also played that comparison with other writers (like you compared yourself to the other nominees). Whenever we compare ourselves to other people, we’ll lose. Even if the other person is a loser, and we’re comparing our levels of lousiness, we still usually lose. (There’s always someone with a worse story, a worse disease, a worse whatever, and it’s not like goodness/badness/whatever-ness can be quantitatively measured anyway.)

    Shameless plug for my own blog, but I’ve got my friend Tim Fall guest blogging today. The title: Being disqualified isn’t the end of the world. I know you’ll get the post (’cause you follow me; you like me, you really like me!!) but some of your followers might like it and be encouraged by it, too. http://lauradroege.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/being-disqualified-isnt-the-end-of-the-world-a-guest-post-from-tim-fall/

    Okay, now that you know we like you, you’d better find Lucy-the-muse and write. 🙂

      1. Hi supermommyoftwins! Here’s a “better late than never” reply to your comment. 🙂 I always feel great to see you’ve read one of my posts & I appreciate your take on the misc. subjects so much. Comparison *sucks* – it’s such a nasty habit of mine. I need to stop it this minute! Too bad there isn’t a “comparison patch” like there is for nicotine!

        Sending you hugs and prayers,
        xo Dyane

    1. Thanks sooooo much for this comment! Good for you for ditching social media that wasn’t healthy for you.

      Plug away anytime, my dear Laura, on this blog with links to anything you deem fit! I’ll definitely check out Tim’s post today – it sounds like it’s right up my alley.

      Months ago II wrote another post long about writer envy that has similar themes to this one. I discuss having a junior high school friend become a bestselling author, etc. etc. Check it out:

      https://proudlybipolar.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/the-nasty-bits-of-envy/

      Comparisons are odious indeed! Not to make light of *any* serious illness, but as soon as I read on WEGO that one nominee (who looked like a top model) was living without her entire large intestine *and* rectum & who was an incredible health advocate to boot, I knew it was over for me.

      Once again, thank you so much for your comment. It’s a blessing to feel truly understood & supported!

    1. Thank you, sweet Raeyn. I was going to email you this but I’ll just put it out here. I had a very vivid, disturbing nightmare that I was kicked out of BBN for poor writing!!! I don’t usually have full-on nightmares these days, but I beseech you to take this silliness as a compliment because it shows how much it means to me to be a part of the Bipolar Blogger Network. 😉 !!!!!

  8. Being under the influence of drugs or alcohol or not taking the appropriate medication for depression or bi/polar disorder can turn even the nicest people into unpleasant, rude , officious …you name it people. My encounter with the late departed Robin Williams was such an experience. RIP Mr. Williams. How sad you leave behind so many people who admired you professionally and personally!

    1. Very true.

      But thinking you know what other people should or should not be putting into their body can also turn nice people into unpleasant, rude, officious ones. Or something worse if they’re in a white coat or a blue uniform.

      1. Hey cabrogal – sorry to take forever to reply. You know I always appreciate it when you respond! I can’t even spend time pondering what others should put into their bodies these days except for yours truly, my dog and my children. Oh, and the three chickens Hazel, Malena and Emily. (currently it’s just water & organic chicken feed. I took them off lithium last week!) 😉

      2. I can’t even spend time pondering what others should put into their bodies these days except for yours truly, my dog and my children. Oh, and the three chickens Hazel, Malena and Emily. (currently it’s just water & organic chicken feed. I took them off lithium last week!) 😉

        No, don’t put your dog or your children into your body. The chickens sound fine though ;).

        Hang on a minute! You’ve got bipolar chickens?!!! I guess that trumps my manic rabbit.

    2. Suicide is a pretty shocking act and when it happens a lot of people feel compelled to ask why. That seems pretty healthy and natural to me. But some of them also seem to think they can answer that question even though the only person who can really do that is dead.

      If the deceased had used drugs, suffered a mental illness, gone through a recent trauma or lived under oppression the answer is obvious and simple, right?
      Wrong.

      People are complex, confusing things. Nothing any of us ever does is due to just one or two causes. Some of us even believe there’s something called ‘free will’ and that people can make decisions that aren’t entirely dependent upon prior causes at all.

      It’s pretty hard to imagine a more personal decision than whether or not to take your own life. Maybe sometimes it’s the only scope for free choice someone has left.

      Maybe Robin Williams knew why he decided to die. Maybe he didn’t. Maybe he had no control over the decision at all. But one thing I know for sure is that no-one else will ever really know why he did it.

      I’m against legalised euthanasia. But I absolutely support the right of people to decide whether or not to kill themselves. And I don’t think it makes a scrap of difference whether they have terminal cancer, unrelenting depression or no health problems whatsoever.

      We may have a duty to do our best to help those in distress while they live. But the dead should be allowed to rest in peace. I hope Mr Williams found some of that in his final moments.

      1. First off, I totally loved Robin Williams’ work. I don’t think I would have wanted to meet him in person – I couldn’t handle it. Especially if he was having a bad day, which he was perfectly entitled to have. Anyway, all I know is that a medication can make one want to hang herself because that happened to me and it was with just one pill of Elavil. If you told me that I would react that way, I would have replied “You’re full of it.” I never wanted to use that method before – that’s what amazes me, frankly – that a specific combo. of chemicals affected my brain in such as way that I looked at my bathrobe belt and thought, “I’m gonna use that.” I’m so glad I did not, and I’m here to write to you instead. I agree that people have the right to kill themselves as long as they don’t take others out, ya know? Like crash your car *alone*, not into another one. Ugh.

        On a separate note, I highly, highly recommend an incredible film he starred in (“What Dreams May Come” directed by the brilliant Kiwi Vincent Ward) in which Williams is fantastic. I believe in the afterlife & I hope R.W. is there & at peace – I really think he is okay now.

    3. Thanks for your comment. I’ve had some upsetting experiences with celebrities with mood disorders who I admire as well, and I write about them in this blog. (Spalding Gray: bipolar, Tim Finn: anxiety and possibly other stuff) I know I shouldn’t have put them on pedestals; I just wish I had caught both of them during better times in their lives when they were doing well with their mental struggles.

      1. Yeah, Tim Finn’s sure got some ‘other stuff’. Did you know he wrote “I hope I never” as an attack on a former (male) member of Split Enz?

        Brother Neil seems a lovely guy though.

      2. OMG – was the song about Phil Judd???????? You know I took Amy J. out to lunch in St. Kilda, right? 😉 I think Tim is a member of the bp club! Neil is lovely with fans but you know he has his demons too, via genetics and other stuff – I’d hate to see him flip out! 😉

      3. OMG – was the song about Phil Judd?

        Tim declined to name names in the radio interview he gave about it but he gave enough details to make it hard to imagine who else he could have meant.

        I reckon Judd was better in The Swingers than in Split Enz anyway. Crombie’s a great rhythmist but Judd’s songwriting is better served by something more simple and forceful IMHO.

        (BTW, when I listed my favourite LA bands in an earlier comment I left out my most favourite of all, The Gun Club. It’s just hard to imagine those guys on Huntington Beach rather than in a rotting shack outside some deeply gothic southern town).

  9. When I read the title I was wondering whether you had MPD (Sybil), were prone to lifting off in a stiff breeze (The Flying Nun) or just had an attack of the Gidgets.

    I’ve gotta admit a little disappointment that it turned out so mundane, but as for the sentiments from “I’VE ALREADY WON!” down – I like them, I really like them!

    BTW, if the prize is a life supply of black chocolate and I find out, you haven’t got a hope. (A little hypo right now Dyane. I know you’ll understand. I like bipolar, I really like it!).

    1. You are too funny! You’re fun when you’re a little hypo – I hope it doesn’t go too much higher, as we both know it can do, but in any case I hope that you’re doing well today. This comment was one of your finer ones and it made me laugh.

      Black chocolate? You can have it!!! I won’t fight you on that. 😉

      1. I hope it doesn’t go too much higher, as we both know it can do, but in any case I hope that you’re doing well today.

        I’m pretty much back to normal now – or at least I will be when I catch up on my sleep.

        Yet again it happened when it was most useful. One of my rabbits got sick and had to be force fed eight times a day (including midnight, 3am and 6am). I don’t know why my bipolar and, especially, my psychoses are so good to me (if you forgive them the nine and a half years of crippling suicidal depression that so nearly killed me). I sure wish the gods of craziness were as nice to everyone else.

        The Icarus Project calls bipolar ‘a dangerous gift’. I sure can’t argue against that from my experience.

I'd love to hear from you!

