Two Bipolar Chicks

I’m writing this on a dreary Sunday morning as the sounds of Nickelodeon’s “The Fairly OddParents” blare in the background.  (At least it’s not SpongeBob. I must be grateful.)  When you have young children, and there’s the opportunity for the family to sleep late on a weekend, you can bet the kids will wake up WAY earlier than they ever do on a school day.  6:00 A.m.?  Sure, why not! Call it Murphy’s law!

This will be a short but sweet post to spread the word about a new blog written by Wendy K. Williamson and Honora Rose titled “Two Bipolar Chicks” on Blogger.  The blog is associated with their recently published book “Two Bipolar Chicks Guide to Survival: Tips for Living With Bipolar Bipolar”.  

Unfortunately I’m even more unfamiliar with the workings of Blogger than I am with WordPress.  As Blogger won’t allow me to reblog over to WordPress, here’s the direct link:

http://twobipolarchicks.blogspot.com/2014/09/greetings-from-two-bipolar-chicks.html?spref=fb

 

BipolarChicksCover 200x300 cropped

 

This book is cool for many reasons, but especially because it’s up-to-date, hip, funny.  The authors, who both have bipolar, offer varied suggestions for self-care including bright light therapy, & a short section on essential oils.  (Please see my last post for more misc. info. about using essential oils for anxiety & bipolar *in addition* to meds:  https://proudlybipolar.wordpress.com/2014/09/19/the-bipolar-blogger-network-why-i-smell-like-salsa/)

I also loved Wendy’s first memoir, the bestselling “I’m Not Crazy Just Bipolar”.

 

Wendy has been one of my key writing mentors.  She has given me such useful advice that I suggested she should turn it into her next book.  She runs a successful writer’s group where she constantly learns from other writers of all levels.  Nice!

The Two Bipolar Chicks make good use of Twitter, tweeting about different topics relevant to those of us affected by b.p., as well as tweeting about garden variety topics that often make me laugh.

Here’s the Twitter address:  @2BipolarChicks

So that’s it…short but sweet as promised!

And speaking of sweet, be well, my sweet friends, & see you Friday!

Dyane 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Two Bipolar Chicks

  1. Ha-ha, my son always wakes up at 6 a.m. on the weekend, and guess what his favorite show is? SpongeBob. On Demand is the devil. Thanks for posting these books and blogs. I will look into them.

    1. Hi Timiarah, and thanks for the follow! I checked out your blog and couldn’t resist the lure of following it, despite my attempts to follow less blogs, ha ha! Anyway, I don’t know what it is about SpongeBob. (I’ve been known to call it other things like SpongeSatan and even worse, no offense to anyone!) We don’t have On Demand but Nick seems to always have that show on. I hope you have a wonderful day and I look forward to getting to know you – your name is very beautiful, by the way!

  2. Awesome ! feel like I need to buy this book and soon. I am reading a lot these days and writing none. Now m scared to write. seems like if i write i will write crap.

    1. Zeph sweetie – so glad to see that you posted a new blog entry and I’ll read it today! I know how you feel about not writing stuff, only reading, and being scared to write crappily, but just try to do a little bit of your writing anyway. I guarantee it will be better than you think. (Maybe you wrote your comment before you wrote your new post and went ahead to write despite feeling scared…in any case, I believe in you!)

      I’m in the same boat this week as far as writing blocks, fear of writing garbage, etc.. Let’s just write anyway – even a few lines can make a big difference.

      XOOXOX LOVE YOU!

      p.s. the “Two Bipolar Chicks” book is less than $7 on Kindle, and it’s a quick, motivating, easy read….

      1. True Dyane, when I started writing it all started coming back to me, I wrote the comment before I wrote the blog. Thank you so much for being so supportive always. It has always been great to know you are there for me. Stay blessed !
        Love ya
        xoxoxox

    1. Thanks, Kitt – it’s going in fits and starts, so not exactly well, but at least I haven’t dropped it altogether! I’m hoping to be more consistent with writing this fall.

      Thinking of you & your family!!!

      1. You crack me up – in a good way. I can’t get anything past you, and I love it.

        At 4:00 p.m. it’s my playtime!!!! I’ve found that I’ve only been able to work on El Libro in the mornings when my energy level/focus/caffeine level are at their highest. 😉

  3. Dyane, you are the best! I woke up, after a horrible night of sleep. I cannot extend my left arm fully because I was at my desk for 12 hours yesterday. (I wish I could say I was working on the writing book the whole time…that was here and there.) Imagine my happy glow when I logged on to my email, half asleep, when I see this post link in my email. What would i do without you? You’re my number one cheerleader, my writing buddy and most of all, my newfound friend. Thank you for that reminder that I’m not alone in the quest for a career to spread what I know out in to the world adn that someone (at least my friend Dyane) is behind me. 🙂 I don’t think anyone is as enthusiastic about this book, including the writers in my group, Nora, agent, anyone; although my agent always says “write what you are passionate about”.
    I gave the writers in my group about 40 pages to show them how “bad” a rough draft is and you should see their reactions, no one talked about it. hahahahahha.
    Wait until they see how many drafts later it takes for a book, what the transformation is. That was the point, really. So even the writers in my group – my audience essentially, the people I am writing it for – are not as thrilled as you!

    Many, many thanks for always believing in me. You have no idea how this starts my day, keeps ME going when I’m weary, like today, and warms my heart. I hope you are coming along and have a “sore arm” day sometime soon; although I must say, it does suck. 🙂

    talk soon!
    wendy p.s. 6:00 am? are they drinking caffiene? wtf? even my cats know not to wake me up then! hehe 🙂

    1. I am totally messed up today from lack of sleep last night (just like you!!!) and I’m so out of it, that I wrote a long reply not once, but *twice* here, and I somehow erased it! :0
      YIKES!

      It basically said that I’m honored to be your friend as well as your fan, and I believe in ANYTHING you ( or you and Nora) write!!!

      I also suggested using arnica gel for that sore arm from your 12 hour writing jag! It’s cheap (under $9) and it works really well for my back and knee pain. (I had 2 knee surgeries and I love the stuff.)

      I also wrote that every great writer, including W.K.W, has told me that first drafts will be shitty. It’s practically a federal law. I’ve heard the same thing, although perhaps more eloquently, in person from Madeleine L’Engle, SARK, Anne Lamott. I’m sure that even Anthony Bourdain’s first drafts are hideous. 😉

      I wish I could have been a fly on the wall when you presented your 40 pages to your writing group. They will learn….oh yes, they will learn.

      I was thrilled that my blog post brought some good juju into your morning….it was my pleasure to write it. :))))

      wishing you many more hours of good writing, both rough and smooth-as-silk!
      xoxoxoxo
      Dy

      p.s. there are probably typos in this reply but I’m blaming it all on the lack of sleep/crappy quality sleep! Seroquel City, here I come!

    1. Hey there Pepper! Thanks for your comment & for the follow! I’ll definitely check out your blog closely this week. :)))

      I realized after I posted this I probably sound like a commercial, but I really believe in Wendy & Honora WAY more than other bp authors. (Esp. the ones who don’t even have bipolar, yet they claim to be experts on every aspect of the disorder!)

      If you have a Kindle (or the like) that’s the way to go as it’s only $5.99. Used paperbacks go for 11 & new a bit more. Here’s a link, and have a great day -take care!

      http://www.amazon.com/Two-Bipolar-Chicks-Guide-Survival-ebook/dp/B00JOW47O0/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1411393400&sr=1-1&keywords=two+bipolar+chicks+guide+to+survival+tips+for+living+with+bipolar+disorder

      1. Okay, you sold me. 😉 I think I’ll try out the e-book. That sounds like a good compromise. I’ll be reading their blog, as well. I’ve found that a lot of the bp books out there are sadly outdated, very dry, or for a younger target audience than myself. That’s why I’m so interested in this one. Your write-up just came at the right time for me. 🙂 Thanks for the link!

I'd love to hear from you!

