No More Tapering – No More Falling: Let’s Start Over With Recovery

This Friday post presents a truly great resource. Writer Doreen Bench, a former teacher and current stay-at-home mom of three, has learned so much from her struggles with bipolar disorder.  She wants to help others through her writing and her faith.  I’ve felt inspired while reading her terrific blog “Always Recovery”, and perusing her Facebook page “Always Recovery: Anxiety, Depression, and Bipolar Disorder Awareness and Support”.

Doreen’s post “No More Tapering – No More Falling: Let’s Start Over in Recovery” resonates with me as it took me sooooo long to accept (for the most part) having bipolar and to truly accept the role medication plays to keep me functioning.  While she and I share different faiths, I can still learn so much from her in terms of spirituality.  Please take a couple moments to get familiar with this awesome blog.

See you Monday! 🙂

Dyane

p.s. the Facebook page is: https://www.facebook.com/anxietydepressionbipolar

2 thoughts on “No More Tapering – No More Falling: Let’s Start Over With Recovery

  1. Oh my goodness, I’m so very sorry. I ***totally*** understand how you feel as I’ve been there many, MANY times & I put my family through hell, but you know what? They forgave me and understood and I’m sure that yours will too.

    Is there any way you can see a psychiatrist right away to try something that could help you? That’s what I did time and time again when my depressions grew worse – schedule emergency appointments with my former pdoc.

    What finally helped me in terms of meds was a) switching doctors to someone who was a better fit for me and b) – this was the biggie: trying the MAOI Parnate (MAOI’s or monoamine oxidase inhibitors is the class of “old-school” meds, given to those with “medication-resistant bipolar depression”; I’ve heard them called the medication of the last resort) along with my lithium & Seroquel.

    I’m not here to tell you what to do, especially as I’m not a doctor, but I wish someone had told me about a medication that helped them when nothing else seemed to work. ECT (electroshock treatments) also helped me on an emergency (i.e. when I was suicidal) basis and the ECT helped me function again.

    You need and deserve support right now other than your family – professional help. I pray that you will find it & feel joy again, my dear. You’re in my thoughts – please let me know how it goes! (((hugs))) sweet kdbug12

  2. I don’t even know where to start. I’ve been paranoid about posting for several reasons. This part of my life is just not something we talk about, it’s hidden. Which probably makes it all that much worse. It’s been a little over a year since I have had an episode. My doctor had started me on some new meds at that time that completely turned my life around. I have felt better in the last yr. Than I have in probably over 8 to 10 years. Because of that this is all that much harder. I’ve fallen back into a depressive episode. There were a few things that happened that I think triggered it, and I have progressively gotten worse over the past few weeks. Now I am at the point in my cycle where I can’t feel any joy, I just cry. All I want to do is sleep, I have no appeitite, I just have that uneasy feeling that I can’t make any decisions for myself and I don’t want to be around anyone. I am so scared. I’m scared the joy and happiness I have felt for the past year us gone. And I just feel so bad for my family that they have to put up with this. They deserve so much more. I hope someone can relate, or at least tell me how they pull themselves out of that nasty black hole. I want to feel joy agian.

I'd love to hear from you!

