An Angel With Fur & An Unexpected Miracle!

tumblr_n4wh6hVKCe1tze22jo2_1280

 

Happy Monday Everyone!

I’ve only reblogged a handful of times. I have a point of pride (some may call it stubbornness, neuroticism, controlling or all three!) where I wish to be the primary author of my blog posts all the time. But today I’m going to have my hands full because we are on the cusp of adding a very, very, VERY-much wanted little Sheltie mix pup into our home.  So reblog Monday it is!

Honestly, I feel a little bit like the way I felt before having my two babies! I’m taking this puppy business very seriously. In my early twenties I adopted two glorious puppies who I loved for fifteen years. One of these dogs, my Sheltie/wolf mix Tara, was in our wedding as our flower “beast”.  She looked resplendent with a gorgeous calla lily corsage and loved all the attention.  My other dog Shera, an fluffy white American Eskimo, also attended our wedding. She “danced” with some of us after the ceremony. (Her breed is known for producing show dogs and they used to perform in circuses. “Eskies” are energetic, bouncy balls of joy and they truly love the attention of a crowd.)

My dogs, who Craig adopted and loved as much as I did, accompanied us on our honeymoon in Mammoth. We considered them to be family members – perhaps the most functional out of all of us, and they didn’t even need therapy!  And don’t even get me started on how I held each of them in my arms when they died…I’ve written about that topic before, and I can’t dwell on it for more than a moment without feeling my heart crack a little. We were lucky to have both dogs live until age fifteen, which was at the very top of their projected life spans.

It has been a few years since we had a dog in our home, and I know I’m going to have my hands full this morning with getting ready to care for our new, spunky little life.  In light of this exciting, momentous change, I thought today might be a good time to reblog, especially (and this is the most important reason to reblog) because the post is worthy of reblogging – I read yesterday and it really inspired and moved me.  It’s a beautiful story about a true miracle.

I hope Mariska’s post will inspire and move you as well!

images

bipolar mums

Less than a week ago, I underwent eye surgery to remove a cataract I’d had since birth in my right eye.

In the lead up to the surgery, I was completely focused on the risks associated with the surgery: that I’d end up with no sight at all in my right eye or – even worse – that my ‘good’ left eye would be damaged.

Despite there only being a 1% chance of being left blind, this was enough to have me freaked out.  What if I never saw my children or husband again?  What if I had to give up a job I loved to stay at home – blind? What if I had to live in a bleak, dark world for the rest of my life?

I got so caught up worrying about the surgery, that I completely forgot to hope – or pray – for a miracle.  When friends…

View original post 314 more words

2 thoughts on “An Angel With Fur & An Unexpected Miracle!

  1. It took years to get to this point, Doreen! You definitely understand the magnitude of the commitment. It is a lot of work and I won’t get paid for it unfortunately! 😉 But never say never. I never thought I’d be able to have another dog again or *want* another dog again. I’ll be writing about the shock of it all in the weeks to come! 🙂 The good and the tough moments!

    Thanks for stopping by – I always love getting a comment from you!

  2. My family wants a puppy so bad but we are renting right now and we’re not allowed to in our contract. I myself am scared of all the work. It’s like another baby and I feel like I’m done with that phase – maybe I’ll get there when it’s time.

I'd love to hear from you!

