Enough

 

 

 

 

flyEnough

Enough of feeling obligated to you even though I don’t owe you anything

Enough of supporting you as much as I can, yet you never throw me a bone

Enough of worrying if others like me – that went out with the 70’s

Enough of comparing myself to Photoshopped fourteen-year-olds with professional makeup artists

Enough of comparing myself to others’ social media: likes, comments, pages, blogs & followers

Enough of trying endlessly to accomplish what our society deems respectable

Enough of bipolar depression kicking my ass

Enough of putting pressure on myself to be enough

Now I’m strong enough to say…

Enough

 

* The butterfly tank top Dyane is wearing was designed by Cristi Comes of
Motherhood Unadorned. 50% of proceeds from shirt sales benefit the
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention.  For more information please
visit:

http://www.motherhoodunadorned.com/fundraiser-butterfly-blogger-t-shirts/
17 thoughts on “Enough

    1. I am totally honored that Wendy K. Williamson, an incredible writer of the memoir “I’m Not Crazy Just Bipolar”, & co-author of the upcoming “The Two Bipolar Chicks Guide To Wellness: Tips for Living with Bipolar Disorder” reads my blog, let alones reblogs any of it! 😉 I mean that. Thanks for inspiring me t keep on writing, Wendy, and for your wonderful comments. I print them out and put them on my vision board!! Why not? They make me happy & fire me up!

    1. Kristin, your comment is awesome! You are absolutely right. It’s easy to believe depression’s lies sometimes, even now that I’m doing so much better, but I’ll remember your rockin’ comment. You give me strength to carry on & flip the Big D the bird!

  1. Amen, sister. All you can do is take care of yourself and screw what ppl think. I battle with this all the time…. and your blog is a-m-a-z-i-n-g. Don’t give this up. You have a lot of followers for a blog. I have under 10. Sounds like it’s time to get SELFISH when you’re feeling this way!!!!!!

    1. Hey there Wendy! First off a HUGE thank-you for your last awesome comment with the link etc. I will let you know how it goes. (I am a procrastination queen but if you vouch for the efficacy of something, I’ll believe you!) I am printing out this glorious, affirming comment of yours to help keep me going on the rougher days.

      I just pre-ordered your new book today, by the way. I was going to wait for the Kindle version (I requested it) but I can’t wait to read “Two Bipolar Chicks Guide to Survival: Tips for Living with Bipolar Disorder” — woo hoo and HUGE congrats to you and your co-author Honora!!!

      Thanks again for your wonderful comments – please keep ’em coming!

      p.s. I won’t give up writing! Even if I go back to old-fashioned journal writing with a pen and notebook – remember that? 😉

      1. You’re welcome for the comment. My day started off serene reading your blog, writing one of my own, feeding the kitties as per usual. Then I got a bit of bad news (nothing life or death, but enough to throw my serene day). Life throws curve balls. I’ll still try again tomorrow and am working on some packing and unwinding tonight. Nora is on fire with packing and moving. I on the other hand and trying to remain calm….
        So, thank you for supporting the book. And all your positivity. Your comments on my BPHope blog are so thoughtful and take time to read and post. I always feel like I’m blogging to space and when you take time, it’s encouraging. Thank you for being you.
        Never stop writing, even if it’s to yourself. I often write in the morning, long-hand, and it helps me. Even writing to yourself is valuable. Someday you might just write that book. In the meantime, all else is practice.
        Talk soon, take care, be well. 🙂 Wendy

I'd love to hear from you!

