The Sweetest Birthday Yet…

Photo on 2014-03-18 at 06.38

“We want to welcome you to this world, and yes there will be days and nights, when  you’ll wonder is the world right?  We want to welcome you to this world, and yes, there will be days and nights when you’ll know the world is alright!”  Toni Childs, “Welcome to the World”

Photo on 2014-03-18 at 06.42

Chillin’ like a villan!

Ever since my Dad died in 2009, my birthdays have been bittersweet.  I wish he was here to call me and sing “Happy Birthday” the way he used to do.  A friend wrote on my Facebook wall this morning that he is always with me, and I know he is.   I’ll still have fun on my special day, and I know he’d want me to do just that – he’d also want me to treat myself to gourmet chocolate and that is definitely happening!

Apart from missing my father, I’m thinking a lot about the music I love that lifts my spirits.  Toni Childs is one of my favorite singers.  She’s also a humanitarian and fellow dolphin lover.  Any birthday or birth reminds me of Toni Childs’ powerful song “Welcome to the World”, which I’ve listened to literally hundreds of times.  I didn’t think there was an accompanying video since it wasn’t one of her big hits such as “Don’t Walk Away”, “Zimbabwe”, or her duet with Peter Gabriel “I Met A Man”.  Luckily I was wrong!  Yesterday, on impulse, I checked YouTube and I was so excited to find Toni’s video of “Welcome to the World”.  I watched it and found it to be very beautiful and moving. Here’s the link:

Right now, despite rough days and anxious moments, I’m finding the world “alright” as Toni sings in her song.  I’m especially grateful to hit 44 as a woman who has reached a hard-won recovery with bipolar disorder.

I know that inevitably hard rains are gonna fall down once again.

All I can do to deal better with deaths of loved ones, or serious illness of those I love (or God forbid, myself)  is to take my meds, exercise, eat (much) better, get enough sleep, see my pdoc & counselor, and stay productive.  Meditating would be nice, but I’m still not there yet! 😉

There’s more…there’s always more I can do, but that laundry list is a good foundation.

I already woke up this morning with the best birthday gifts.  I know it sounds corny, and I’m sure you’ve already guessed what these gifts are – my two daughters and my husband. It doesn’t get any better than that.

When it’s your next birthday, I hope your wildest dreams come true!

Dy twoDyane & Dad, the dynamic duo

2 thoughts on “The Sweetest Birthday Yet…

  1. Thank you, thank you mycelticheart. You always write so eloquently – you are a true inspiration!!! I loved your book “Waaay Beyond Lemonade” and I love you! I can accept not ever having a hard rain fall down again – a light mist, ok, but no hard rain!

    I fear the inevitable death of another close relative could send me backwards, but I can also affirm that I’ll get through it differently next time that happens, in a better, healthier way. It’s certainly possible! You give me hope that I can change the pattern. much love now & always, Honey Pot the 1st, my new nom de plume!

  2. Dyane, what a wonderful tribute to your Dad (that last photo brings tears to my eyes!), and a celebration of gratitude you feel for life and living! You’re an inspiration, Honey Pot! Blessed, beautiful, talented…and don’t believe for one more instant that a hard rain EVER has to fall down again! You’ve got this figured out. Don’t let go of the reins!

I'd love to hear from you!

