Why my Kindle Fire is my third child

ImageI never thought that I would get addicted to a small black touchscreen object.  If you told me twenty years ago that I’d be carrying around hundreds of books in my purse, plus access to something called the “internet”, I would have scoffed at you.  I’m sure I would have also asked you “What the hell is the internet?”

Enter the Kindle Fire.

I didn’t know how much I loved my Fire until three days ago, when it stopped charging.  I completely panicked, and yes, I admit that was irrational behavior.   My Fire contained several new books that I was enjoying, plus many sample downloads as well, and my “oldies but goodies”.  I had become so dependent on my Fire that I even stopped checking books out of the library or purchasing hard copies.

I always grabbed my Fire on the way to pick up my girls at school so I could read it in the car during the precious, quiet moments before the bell rang.   I brought my Fire to our local coffee shop, Coffee 9, to check my email and keep up with Facebook.  If I had my Kindle with me, I didn’t feel so alone in my (usually anxious) thoughts.  The Fire had become my ultimate security blanket. Moreover, I wasn’t the only one in our house to enjoy using the Fire.  My kids had discovered how to download game apps and they had a blast playing them.

My husband had given me my Kindle Fire two years ago as a gift, and he had not purchased the extended warranty.  (We aren’t warranty-purchasing type of folk, but I sure wish we had bought one for my Fire.)  Once I realized that my third child was truly broken, I worried that I wouldn’t be able to afford a pricey replacement.

I called Amazon customer service and was fortunate to get a really bright, helpful representative named Kevin.  He explained to me that I most likely needed a different charger than the one I was using.   It turns out I was using a cell phone charger – duh!  (I had apparently lost the right one.)  He sent out thirty dollars worth of charger and cord to me for free, and told me he’d check back with me after I received the shipment.   He added that if for some reason the problem was more complicated than the charger issue, I could purchase another model at a discounted price, since I didn’t have a warranty.

I waited for my Amazon packet with baited breath.  Lo and behold, after I followed Kevin’s instructions to the letter, my baby turned on and all was well!   I love it when things go right in life, from the little things  (and technically the Kindle Fire problem is very little, isn’t it?) to the big ones, and you all know what they are.

Today, I am super-thankful that my Fire is alive and well.  I know that at some point it won’t always be thriving, but in the meantime, I’m going to enjoy it to the fullest and tell it that I love it every day! 😉

9 thoughts on “Why my Kindle Fire is my third child

  1. Em where was I when you published this my captain? I guess it was around the time my brother died. Whatever, my kindle is my lifeline… I don’t even wanna think what I’ll do if… Fill in the dots… The world is really a big global village 🙂

  2. Just thinking about your post again…I actually have had mild panic attacks upon getting to an appt., finding out there will be a wait, and then having a mild panic attack when I realize I don’t have my Kindle with me!

    1. I’ve had (and this is embarrassing to admit) big panic attaches about the exact same thing, ksporzynski@gmail.com! I carry the thing with me in my purse at all times like it’s insulin. However, a few of those times I felt so smug about having it with me, I realized it barely had a charge, so I freaked. I am more careful now about charging it faithfully! I also try to bring an actual, bona fide book or newspaper with me too!

    1. I appreciate your comment and your empathy! I guess I’d rather be addicted to the Kindle than…ahem…other substances! 😉 Thanks for reading my blog and for your support!

  3. Thanks so much for your comment – it made me feel better to know it’s not just me who feels that way. I guess if I *really* wanted to I could bring the charger cord with me as a lot of places have outlets, but I’m not there yet! 🙂

  4. Oh my gosh, I can relate to that–I’m completely panicky if I get somewhere and have to wait and have forgotten to bring my Kindle with me. So far it hasn’t conked out on me, knock on wood.

I'd love to hear from you!

